We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf and Sand Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surf and Sand Lodge to your Saves list
Surf and Sand Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1131 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Dublin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here 2 days over the New Years holiday and it was just perfect. The room was roomy with 2 queen beds, an armoire, an arm chair for reading and a small table with 2 chairs we used to play cards in the evening. We booked the upstairs room with a balcony that gives you an awesome view of the ocean. The fridge and microwave were welcome amenties too, especially with a child. It's also very close to downtown Fort Bragg and only a couple of blocks to Glass Beach. I will miss waking up to that beautiful ocean view each morning! I have absolutley no complaints and will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Guest Relations Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you, Boogercat7718 for your glowing review! We are happy to hear that you appreciated all the features of your room since we strive to provide our guests with as many amenities and conveniences as possible. We will be very happy to welcome you back for your next stay!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    55
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
68
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the last 7 years and I liked the place better BEFORE the recent renovation and decorating. I usually stay for at least 4 nights. After the renovation the nightly rate has increased significantly and there is no longer a reasonable "winter rate". So you may as well just stay here in the summer now when the weather is milder. I would gladly give up the granite countertops, fancy moldings, and wall paper for the better value rates of before.

The best part of this property for my purposes is the location. There are 5 units to a building and the walls are rather thin so you can hear other guests if they are inconsiderate (e.g. stomping feet, loud conversations, TV volume turned up). Thankfully, there is no pool or outdoor hot tub to attract little blighters.

I found the WiFi Internet access to be unusable in the room but marginal if you sit in your car in the parking lot. The reason for this is the WiFi antennas are located on the parking lot side of the buildings for "aesthetic reasons" according to the technician when I complained about situation. So they are more concerned about how the buildings look from the outside rather than if you can actually use WiFi while in your room! There are a couple of foot wash stations outside so you can rinse sand off you shoes or feet before coming inside but they don't work and never have as long as I have stayed here. I have mentioned this to the front desk several times and it would be an easy and inexpensive fix to get them working. I guess they don't care about people tracking dirt and sand into the newly renovated carpeting either. Go figure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you Miki K, for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are always trying to improve our guests' experience and the concerns you raised are very helpful to us. We really do read and learn from guest reviews and try to improve based on their comments.
The wi-fi, I can assure you, has recently (as of late December) been re-done and the signal is strong in every room.
It is true that as you pointed out, our foot washing stations do not currently work. Our maintenance team has it on their list and we thank you for the reminder.
If you ever have a noisy neighbor you can always call the front desk and alert us and we will do our best to remedy the situation.
I'm sorry that you don't seem to like the renovations; our intention was to improve guest comfort but I'm sorry that they weren't to your satisfaction. We sincerely hope that you will come back to visit and give us and our renovations another chance.
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willows, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have been coming here for years (20) We have never been disappointed. .....The picture says it all ! We love the new rooms and their decor ! We can bike to town for shopping or a movie or walk the beach or do both on the "Old Haul Road" just out your door

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you Tommy H for your great review and years of patronage! When people like you take time out of their day to give us a great review we really appreciate it. We are so happy to hear that you like our hotel so much that you've been coming for two whole decades! We look forward to welcoming you back time and again for many more years to come.
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We decided to stay at this property after reading others' reviews. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the Whale Song building room 203. It was on the bottom floor with a small porch. We had the option of an upstairs room with a hot tub for more money but opted for quick access to the boardwalk from our porch. I had to remember that along with the lower room comes the people traffic outside our door. I always had to be aware of turning off the light in our room as to prevent being a spectacle to those passing by.

It seemed our building had been through a recent renovation and was quite nice. I am unsure if the rest of the buildings had been through the same update. The hotel is a comfortable distance from town which allows for a calm and peaceful experience. We would go back and stay in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I believe most of the rooms would be a great choice. However, I would stay away from rooms in the Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you halfmoon93 for taking the time to give us a great review! I'm glad you noticed are updates; we did indeed renovate all the buildings recently. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next stay!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The lodge consists of several buildings. The building we stayed in had six rooms, three on the first floor and three on the second floor. We stayed in the first floor oceanfront room in the third building from the left, when you're facing the lodge from the parking lot. The room has a deck and walkout to the path behind the lodge. It was cloudy, as it probably always is but it was an amazing view nonetheless. I enjoyed being able to sit on the deck and watch the view or stepping off the deck to go for a walk.

The two individuals at the front desk were really helpful. They allowed us to look at the rooms before we decided to stay. We looked at an oceanfront room and another room facing the parking lot. Initially, we weren't sure whether to stay or check a few other hotels before making a decision. The two individuals offered to lower the rate for us so we decided to stay at the Surf and Sand. We chose to go with the oceanfront room because it was a bit bigger and of course, we could not pass by the view.

The two rooms we looked at are updated with granite countertops. The rooms were really clean and the beds were comfortable. There is also a mini-fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV in the room. The sink area is separated from the bathroom area, which I like so that I could use the sink and mirror while my husband used the bathroom.

The only downside would be that there was a bit of traffic on the path right behind the lodge so being that we were on the first floor with our room accessible to the outside, we kept our curtain mostly closed for privacy and the sliding door locked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you hnubtshiab for your wonderfully comprehensive and detailed review! It's so good to get feedback on every aspect of a guest's stay with us. We did recently renovate all the rooms, hence the flat screen TVs, granite overlay, etc. I'm especially gratified to hear that you found the staff helpful and friendly; customer service is a top priority of ours. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely slice of the coast!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a delightful stay. Our room was clean with two welcoming queen size beds.We watched the sun set into the sea from our own porch. My grand daughter, who is 8, made us wonderful cups of tea from the provided supplies and made frequent trip to the front desk for snacks. The hotel is close to the main part of town,yet we felt away from it. Will stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Marjorie M, thank you so much for the wonderful review. I'm really glad you and your granddaughter enjoyed your stay with us. Rating our hotel 5 out of 5 in every category is such a wonderful compliment to us; thank you! We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Surf and Sand for two nights. Our goal was to find a hotel with ocean views that was also pet friendly. The Surf and Sand is both. Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the ocean and with beach and boardwalk access just steps outside our room. The room itself had a refrigerator and microwave along with the typical other hotel amenities. There were 5 rooms in our building (thus giving us privacy as well as quiet) which you gained access by a building key...then a key to your own room. We had an additional exit by a sliding glass door to the outside also giving us a great view of the ocean. The hotel is on the northern side of town and you need a car to get into the town but it is just minutes away from restaurants, shops and stores. We would recommend the Surf and Sand and should we return to Fort Bragg, it will be the hotel of our choice. One last thing, if you are looking for a hotel with a pool, you won't find one here.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an ocean view. We stayed in the Dolphin Building and it was situated with a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you Bumihills, for your awesome review! As you mentioned, we do welcome pets because our furry family members deserve vacation too! We hope that that you will indeed return to Fort Bragg to stay with us and we would be very happy to welcome you back!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf and Sand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf and Sand Lodge

Address: 1131 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf and Sand Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surf and Sand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Sand Fort Bragg
Hotel Surf And Sand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf and Sand Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.