We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for the Second Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf and Sand Lodge

Save Saved
You added Surf and Sand Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf and Sand Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1131 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay for the Second Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I do not know where to start... The view from our room is panoramic and unobstructed. We brought our puppy he just loved it! The bed is deliciously comfortable. The most outstanding kudos goes to housekeeping! The room is spotless and with special touches such as towel and tp art!!! Lol thank you all for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
First I want to say thank you for taking the time to write feedback on our property. Secondly, I shared your wonderful compliments with the entire staff and everyone was very excited. We look forward to being your vacation destination anytime you are in Fort Bragg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    50
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
61
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed spending our 9 year anniversary at The Surf and Sand in Fort Bragg! Initially tried to book at the Beachcomber, but no ocean view upstairs rooms were available... The helpful gentleman referred me to their sister property next door. He described the accomodations perfectly and we were not disappointed. The deep in room Jacuzzi tub was incredible and the view was spectacular! The room, although a bit dated in decor, was immaculate and comfortable and the bed was super comfy and cozy. I understand that the rooms will be updated in the near future and we will be back to enjoy them... For sure!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to give us much needed feedback about our property. We are glad you spent your 9th anniversary with us and we hope to see you for your 10th. We are very happy to announce that our property will be undergoing a renovation soon. Please come and stay once it's complete, looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is my second time staying at the Surf and Sand Lodge. This time I had gotten a spa suite. The spa tub in the room was very large and worked well. The fireplace was just an electric one, but still provided a very relaxing environment. Since it's right next to the ocean, the waves crashing down onto the beach creates a very calming effect, especially at night sitting in a chair on the balcony sipping a glass of wine. The staff is very nice, and do whatever they can to ensure you have a great experience at their hotel. I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in Fort Bragg.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and at least have a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We greatly appreciate your compliments! We strive for guest satisfaction and we are very happy you had such a wonderful experience with us! I shared your compliments with all of our staff, we look forward to having at our property for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We came in after 10:30pm on friday night and the night clerk waited for us to get there. I thought that was very nice of him to do. (He went above and beyong customer service.) The stay was very nice and our 2 large dogs enjoyed it as well. My daughter liked how the maid even folder her blankets and set them up with her stuffed animals in the chair. Thank you and we will be back for another stay.

Room Tip: NO extra charge for LARGE dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback about our property! We love hearing that you will only stay with us when visiting Fort Bragg! We strive to hear that from our guests and appreciate the compliment! Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

for a slightly better than standard issue motel. Town house like 5 unit buildings with an interior lobby. One building allows dogs in the units (the only building not right on the bluffs).
Our first time here; spent 4 nights; upper floor facing the ocean, fishing boats, folks climbing on the bluffs and walking or jogging on the ten mile plus fabulous walkway that extends north from Ft. Bragg and that passes literally under your balcony (thus terrific walking day and night).
Units are exceptionally clean; special requests like the best upstairs room in the house (in advance) and no horrible room freshener deodorant spray (after we got there) meticulously carried out. Large rooms; comfortable beds and seating (couch; table and chairs; plastic chairs outside on balcony).
It's not easy to keep a place that's right on the ocean as clean as this (fog, spray, bird poop, sand etc.), the place does an excellent job with it.
Front desk as well as housekeeping staff were really perfect.

Room Tip: See notes above. Usual motel caveats: upstairs vs. downstairs; dog friendly vs. other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback about our property! We are happy you had a pleasant visit and that we were able to meet your requests. I shared your kind comments about our cleanliness with all the staff. We hope to be your go to vacation destination anytime you are near Fort Bragg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Sound of waves tumbling over the sand and stones make this place a great value for the money. Room is a little dated but the short hike out to the ocean makes it all worth it. Downtown is a short drive or you could walk out your door and take the paved trail. The drive to see the avenue of the giants was about 1 1/2 hrs from Fort Bragg but the views make it worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our property! We are excited about our upcoming renovation to all the rooms at our property. We really hope you come back once it's all done to experience our new look! We hope to be your go to vacation destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTIOCH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in one of the rooms with no view, as was visiting friends during the day and just needed a place to sleep. I was pleasantly surprised and the room was great. I really like that you actually enter a building to get to your room, felt secure. The bed was comfortable, everything was spotless and it was quiet. I found the people that greated me when checking in were very helpful and friendly. Parking was a little tight in the lot, but I didn't get there until about 10pm, staff came out and just ok'd me to park in the check in area, so not a big deal. I will reserve a room at Surf and Sand Lodge again when I am back in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf and Sand Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We appreciate your comments greatly and look forward to having you back at our property in the near future! We thank you for the compliments and hope to be your go to vacation destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf and Sand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf and Sand Lodge

Address: 1131 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf and Sand Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Surf and Sand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Sand Fort Bragg
Hotel Surf And Sand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf and Sand Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.