We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-opened and just as it was.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf and Sand Lodge

Save Saved
You added Surf and Sand Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf and Sand Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1131 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
Northern California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Re-opened and just as it was.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Surf and Sand is now open again under the ownership of Bob Hunt, who also owns the Beachcomber south of it. It is much as it was, clean and on the beach. The beds and linens are no longer new and some things look a bit worn, but the location is great and the price is right.
Only one building with perhaps four units will accommodate dogs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    48
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
31
59
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

Place is awesome but the tv is blurry you can only watch vcr's so bring some movies for the night but make sure they are vcr's. The rooms are clean and it has a great view of the ocean and it is at a good price for all it has to offer. Overall great plae to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

They're under new management and are sprucing up the place, but other than the tradesmen quietly coming and going you'd never know it. Our room had not been upgraded but it was still very nice: comfortable beds, very clean, right on the beach with a deck (we could hear the ocean all night!) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If you like VHS movies they have one of the biggest selection outside of Block Buster. A definitive place to consider staying in the Ft. Bragg/Mendocino area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

PESTICIDE or other strong chemicals were so bad it made your mouth burn---even after leaving the door open for hours it was still so bad you couldn't stay in the room---finally had to buy an extension cord and fan at the hardware store, to blow some fresh air into the room!!---had to leave the fan on and the sliding door open all night just to sleep in the room.
Room wasn't clean, still somebodies popcorn on the floor by the bed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed here 5 or 6 years ago in the "dolphin" building and the heat was not working, so they brought us an oil heater to use. We understand that things break and didn't mind using the portable heater.
On a subsequent trip a few years later, we stopped here to see what they had available. There was no one at the desk in the lobby but we could see into the permanent residence behind the desk and there was a young woman asleep on the couch. We tried everything short of walking into that apartment to wake her up, even calling the the motel from our cell phone in the lobby with no luck. We ended up calling the local police to check and see if this person was even alive. We ended up at the North Cliff Inn that trip.
Last weekend we stopped again to give it another try. We ended up with the exact same room in the "dolphin" building and we turned the heat up and guess what? No heat.
When we went to the front desk to report the problem, the manager? said "oh the heat in that building hasn't worked in years" Are you kidding me? They could have mentioned this and offered a reduced rate at least. I can't belive they can get away with renting rooms that don't even have heat. At least they refunded my card right away with no problems when we asked them to. The room was dated, the tub was stained and cracked, the laminate on the night stands was cracked and peeling from the edges and the phone looked like it had coffee spilled on it. The room overall was very 1980.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We were very pleased with the accommodations as we had our 2 dogs and they enjoyed the accommodations and local as well. The paved path just out from our rooms was very easy to walk our four legged friends. There was a designated area for guests with pets. The only thing we wanted was a kitchen area, but this place did not offer one. The Beachcomber Lodge was full and suggested this place. That worked out well as they are right in the area and it was important to us to have the paved path. The highway was close, but in our accommodations we did not hear the traffic. We had very clean rooms and plenty of fresh linens. The weather was good, even tho the prediction was for rain all weekend. Thank goodness the rain was only on Friday evening. the rest of the weekend was good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I am a Fort Bragg local and when I have an overflowing house of company, I call the Surf and Sand Lodge. It is a pleasant, well run, beach front motel. My family members have all been quite comfortable there and pleased with the rooms and service.
Surf and Sand has specific rooms that allow pets and we think this policy helps everyone stay happy. This is a very pet friendly community and many visitors bring their pets, but not all pets know how to behave.
The ocean front location set against MacKerricher State Park's walking/biking "Haul Road" makes it ideal for visitors who are here to enjoy the sea breezes and views.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf and Sand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf and Sand Lodge

Address: 1131 N. Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf and Sand Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Surf and Sand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Sand Fort Bragg
Hotel Surf And Sand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf and Sand Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.