We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise this restaurant was.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff House

Cliff House
1011 S Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
7079610255
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 70 Restaurants in Fort Bragg
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Since 1985 the Cliff House Restaurant of Fort Bragg has been providing tourists and locals with the finest dining experience on the coast. With breathtaking views of the entrance to Noyo Harbor and the Pacific Ocean, you can’t find a better seat.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise this restaurant was.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

On vacation,a local told us the food at this restaurant was the best. It was beyond all our hopes, gourmet food, top shelf service, unusual but wonderful seating arrangement, a little pricey, but not at all overpriced for the superb food. The only thing we really did not like about this place was the view, looked out on a rather mucky waterway of some sort and a dumpy campground.We are on a 13 state vacation and so fAr the only place we have enjoyed mote was in San Francisco.




  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    78
    47
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view of the Noyo Harbor entrance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Beautiful views from a window seat...a little noise from the nearby bridge over Noyo Harbor but nothing too bothersome. The restaurant is a multi-staired room with at least 4 levels (reminded us of show seating in Las Vegas but without the show). We sat at the bottom level where the views are the best. Both my husband and I ordered the same, a black & blue hamburger with french fries and iced tea...we enjoyed our meals. Service was a little slow, especially when we were there after the rush when the restaurant was not very full. Ambiance is good - but they need to do something about their carpet as it desperately needs stretching and cleaning. I know, I sound picky, but we travel a great deal and we notice the conditions of our surroundings....I like the floors (all of them in a public place) to be very clean.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Late Night Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We arrived in Ft Bragg at 9pm looking for a place to eat. What a surprise to find this gem of a restaurant and bar!! We ate at the bar and had great service from a couple of very friendly bartenders. The burgers are big and juicy! Didn't see a bad meal coming out of the kitchen. Actually stayed for a few hours to enjoy the karaoke. What started as a search for something to eat turned into a great evening!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

For our 30th anniversary trip, we were given a gift certificate to The Cliff house by local friends. They knew where to send us! This was truly one of the best meals both my husband and I have ever had. The service was warm and friendly without being overly familiar. The dungeness crab "martini" salad and the caprese salad were suburb. Best balsamic vinegar ever. But the entrees were even better. On the waiter recommendation (Thanks Kevin!), which he gave when asked, my husband had crab stuffed prawns and I had the salmon oscar. The lemon butter sauce was light, not smothering and the salmon incredibly fresh. Each dish was created... not just made. They brought us a complimentary desert for our anniversary that was a small mousse cake. Again, outstanding. On the way out, the owner asked about our experience with the same genuine care that we experienced all evening. We truly had one of the best meals of our lives.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice place, clean and good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We just went there for a light meal and drinks. The service was good and the staff friendly. It is a bit expensive but what we had was good. I do wish we would have known about the cheap taco bar in the lounge area though, I would have opted for that. It was just my daughter and I, she walked in first, they might have asked where do you want to sit? We didn't want much to eat, I had a crab martini with avocado, and we ordered a grilled artichoke. It was good, but there was not heart! That's the best part of an artichoke! We were in Ft. Bragg for such a short time, but just driving thru town, it didn't look like there were many eatery options at that time of night. It did fit the bill and I have no complaints. Parking is good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.