We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slllooowww and not special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff House

Cliff House
1011 S Main St., Fort Bragg, CA 95437
7079610255
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 70 Restaurants in Fort Bragg
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Since 1985 the Cliff House Restaurant of Fort Bragg has been providing tourists and locals with the finest dining experience on the coast. With breathtaking views of the entrance to Noyo Harbor and the Pacific Ocean, you can’t find a better seat.
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Slllooowww and not special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Maybe we hit it on an off night, but it was Friday, it was crowded and had good reviews. The service was horrendously slow. Food was merely average. Crab and avocado cocktail had no flavor. Caesar salad boring and lacked flavor. Atmosphere was like a 70s cruise ship. Day after we ate their the credit card we used to pay with was used in an overseas unauthorized purchase. Not sure if it was connected, but seemed the timing was suspicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    78
    47
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you come before 6 PM, you get a very healthy and tasty meal for two for $30, including a bottle of wine. This great deal (at least at the time we visited), combined with the view and the sunset was a very pleasant surprise! The service was very nice too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colusa, California, United States
1 review
“Cliff House deserves 50 Stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our daughter's wedding reception was held at the Cliff House last night and it was a perfect evening! Even from the initial planning stages, Trina went above and beyond to assure that every detail was covered. The Cliff House closed the entire restaurant for this special event, and treated us royally. Eric and his staff were attentive without being obstructive during the celebration. The appetizers and dinner were divine, and the banquet menu satisfied every taste of the guests who enjoyed the stunning views of the sun setting over the ocean as they were dining.

As parents of the bride, we never had to worry about a thing, other than having a great time! Thank you Cliff House! We hope others will consider your establishment, not only for a lovely dinner at the coast but for a special event as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el cerrito, california
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The restaurant has a stunning view of Noyo Bay and the sea during the day, but unfortunately nothing is visible after sunset. We were there in the low season, so there were not many diners. I had the Zuppa di Pesce, which was on an earlier menu, but not on the current, but the chef agreed to make one specially for me. There was a little bit too much tomato sauce in the soup, a bit overpowering; on the other hand, there was a lot of Dungeness crab, because it was crab season. My wife had the filet mignon trio, which were three small pieces of filet mignon; they were excellent. Maybe a bit small for big eaters, but just right for us.

My wife mentioned to the waitress that it was my birthday, and we were served a nice chocolate cake as birthday present as well as one extra glass of wine. Service was very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, California, United States
1 review
“The food sucks!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our food was gross. Fettachini Alfredo was like soup. The lettuce was brown, I had to pick through it. My sea food pasta with garlic herb butter sauce was like soup as well. I would not recommend it to friend not even a dog! I would not go back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Cliff House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry your experience with our restaurant left you feeling disappointed. I hope you the future you will give us another try and if anything is unsatisfactory please bring it to the attention of the our management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.