We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Glass, Just Grabby Tourists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glass Beach

Glass Beach
Elm Street and Glass Beach Drive, Santa Maria Ca, Fort Bragg, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Attractions in Fort Bragg
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The sand at this unusual beach is covered with interesting-shaped and colored rocks and stones.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“No Glass, Just Grabby Tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

They have plenty of signs telling you to leave what is there on the beach, but of course, we saw everyone (with parents encouraging it) taking everything they could find. So this is just a regular beach. For those looking for tide pools and such, if you don't mind hiking down, you can see them, but this place is so easy to access that is quite crowded. There are plenty of better beaches and quiet places to reflect and enjoy the scenery. You won't see glass - stop, take a few pix and move on.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    185
    110
    58
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This has to be my favorate beach ever! A long time ago (many many years ago) this was the dump. The people in the town would dump their trash over the edge of the cliff. After many many years the city (of course) stop doing this. In time everything went away exept the glass which the waves have made the glass smooth.

It is amazing how much glass there is on the beach. You can dig deep and still see glass. It is so colorfull and people like to find the different color. Some people take home some glass but I find it would ruin it after a while.

The dogs love the beach and it is so smooth on thier paws. They had a great time running around the beach. The cliff is kind of steep but is doable. There is another area you can get to but there is not as much glass at the location.

If you looking for a fun time and an amazing beach this is the place for you! We brought lunch and drink and made a day of it.
See you next year! Fun! Fun! Fun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Making the Most of What's There!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was the town dump for years...a bit unsettling. I was not expecting to enjoy this beach very much but the small pieces of glass were pleasant enough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Go left, not right, at end of main trail!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was not sure about posting this info, but I hope all who read this will promise not to haul buckets of glass from the few locations remaining! The main trail can be found by turning west on Elm St off Highway 1 (there is a Denny's on the NW corner). Take Elm west to the end (it bends to the right and becomes Old Haul Rd). Park at this corner area. The main dirt trail leads west toward the ocean. When you get near the end, this trail will split. Most people go to the right and this leads to beaches where we could not see any glass at all.

But we found out the key is to stay to the left, make a 90 degree turn to the left at the end of the fence. The signs that say "No Trespassing" refers to the area behind the fence, not the little dirt trail that runs south, the fence on your left and the ocean on your right. Follow this dirt trail as far as you can go (less than 1/4 mile). You will see a beach below that may not look like glass, but its actually all beach glass. To get down there, you have to carefully navigate your way down a relatively steep trail (I thought the trail that leads west toward the water was a bit easier to navigate than the one leading straight ahead south down the small cliff).

Its pretty amazing to see this entire beach made up of beach glass. Its almost 100% rounded glass safe to walk on barefoot. However, there are a few pieces here and there that are still sharp, so I am not sure about little kids running around this beach barefoot.

I think its technically illegal to take any of this beach glass? But I imagine the big barren beaches to the north used to be covered with this beach glass at one time but they got stripped by greedy folks?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful sunset!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice place to relax and watch the waves crash onto the rocks. Lots of places to climb and get a good vantage point.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Beach also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Glass Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.