We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing place to stay in Fort Bragg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Save Saved
You added Shoreline Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shoreline Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18725 N. Hwy 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
Eureka, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great relaxing place to stay in Fort Bragg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

While this place is not fancy, it provides a comfortable and versatile spot to spend a day or a few days. It is comfortable, quiet, and clean. It more than met our needs. And all of the local attractions are just a short drive away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    55
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
116
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

My sister,brother and my Newfoundland all went on vacation together to see the Northern California coast and Redwoods.We spent 3 nights at Shoreline and had a wonderful time. All the comforts of home and my 150lb Newfy made himself at home! Loved it - cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I travelled with 2 dogs and truly enjoyed the themed rooms and the extremely pet friendly atmosphere. The cottages are tucked away from the highway giving them a remote feeling. The cottages were very nicely decorated with wonderful amenities. So comfortable it felt like home. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The cottages were clean, cute and comfortable. The price was extremely reasonable. Very pet friendly and check in was quick and easy. Nice proprietor who gave helpful tips and advice about the area. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is the place to stay if you've to these factors:
weekend getaway
inexpensive, (AAA deal too)
good access to mendocino things to do
traveling with dog
fire place
kitchen

The cottages were booked up for stays in units that allowed dogs. However, they can make exceptions and are very nice about it. The location is just before Fort Bragg town, so it's central to to everything you might want to do around Mendocino. One of the best things to do is right across Hwy 1 and walking down to the secluded beach that is off leash dog friendly. It's so secluded and there is so much to see, in addition to the adventure of trying to reach the sand bar without getting wet.

The cottages get top marks, but Mendocino is a bit too odd for us. Also, it's soo cold, it probably probably mirrors SF city weather conditions on any given day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed one night in one of their two cottage "suites". Not sure exactly what the differences between the suites and the regular cottages are except I know the suite have gas fireplaces while only two of the regular cottages do, and the suites have a jacuzzi style bathtub and a little deck out back.
The place appears to have been recently renovated in good taste, much of the furniture was likely purchased Ikea, which is a store which my wife and I both love, so that's not a bad thing. A big flat screen TV strategically mounted so it could be watched from bed or futon couch, with a DVD player and many movies available for a $1 rental fee.
Our room had a microwave, mini-fridge, and cups and dishes if you want to heat and eat in the room. The deck was nice too.
The "suite" was not as spacious as you'd expect a suite to be. Definitely falls under "cozy". But it was very clean and the owners obviously are trying hard. It seemed pricey for what you get, though I don't know what typical rates are in Fort Bragg, which is obviously a tourist haven on the coast.
Oh, one other thing. We expected this place to be right on the water with ocean views. It is not. It is right off of route one and has zero views. There is beach access but it seemed to be a bit of a walk after crossing the highway and we did not go down there as we were only passing through the area on our way North.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed at Shoreline Cottages at the same time as the previous review writer. We too were very pleased with our stay there. The location of the property just south of town is convenient. The Surf Suite is sufficiently spacious for a party of three and a large dog. It is nicely decorated and well appointed with large flat screen TV, DVD, wifi, microwave, minifridge, dishes, and a basket of dog supplies. The suite has a large, modernized bathroom with rain showerhead and Jacuzzi tub. The suite was exceedingly clean. The outdoor area has lovely landscaping, a BBQ, seating around a firepit, and plenty of area for a dog to wander safely. Best of all, the proprietors are approachable, friendly and provide outstanding service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Address: 18725 N. Hwy 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.