We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BARGAIN!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Save Saved
You added Shoreline Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shoreline Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18725 N. Hwy 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Fort Bragg
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“GREAT BARGAIN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a last minute trip to the coast to enjoy some rare January sunshine. The Shoreline Cottages had very good reviews on Trip Advisor so we decided to give them a try. We had the Dolphin room with an electric fireplace and a kitchenette. The first thing we noticed is how clean the room and kitchen were. The queen bed was very comfortable. The room, kitchenette and bath were not large but were big enough not to feel cramped. Good working WiFi was an extra we didn't expect. The only "negative" is that the place is a bit hard to see when your driving down the highway - a bigger sign might help! At $81 per night in January this hotel was a great bargain. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Even though our front cottage was fairly close to the highway, we didn't notice much road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    55
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
116
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I just stayed here this past weekend and could not have enjoyed myself more. Very reasonable winter rate, clean, comfy rooms with full kitchen. Super dog-friendly and a informative, accommodating staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a great place -- clean and well-maintained.

I just want to make a comment about the photos. One photo in particular makes it look you might sit out in the front of the cottage, where there are chairs and a small table, and look out at some view. However, in reality, you will be sitting at the edge of the parking lot. That's not a problem, unless you were planning on spending a lot of time there.

Other than that, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 7 is further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2011 for our first trip to Fort Bragg/Mendocino. We stayed in one of their junior suites which included a sitting area, jacuzzi bathtub and a gas fireplace - was quite cozy - snacks were included as well. Reasonable price for what's included. We quite enjoyed it until the last night when the adjacent suite was booked (it had been empty the first 2 nights) Then we discovered that the wall where the bathroom areas are is paper thin - we could hear the people next to us talking while they were in their bathroom - even heard the shower rod moving and heard the kids in the bathtub - yikes! We had a problem getting hot water from the sink too - I think you have to run the tub water first or something - owners are friendly and helpful if you have questions.
I would stay here again but probably in one of their cottage rooms which seem to have adjacent garages or storage rooms that seperate one cottage from the other - I believe some have kitchens as well - they seemed quite nice, probably quieter and I believe that they're even less expensive than the suites - overall we enjoyed our stay though!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Shorline Cottages last summer and it was a great experience. They had welcome treats for our dog, Toppy, and it was just a short walk to an off leash beach which Toppy loved. The manager was extremely friendly and helped make our brief stay very pleasant. The only problem we had was in finding the Cottages in the first place. It seems the addresses along HW1 in the Fort Bragg area are totally screwed up. The thing to be aware of is that Shoreline Cottages are slightly South of Fort Bragg - we spend nearly an hour searching North of Fort Bragg which was very frustrating.
We will definitely stay there again, hopefully this coming summer.
I highly recommend this place, especially if you have a pet but even if you don't.
David Welch

Room Tip: Call and ask the manager, she is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the best place to stay especially if you are traveling with your four legged family members! They give you a bed, treats and bowl for them and they love it! The staff is friendly and the rooms are wonderful and cozy n clean! They even clean the comforter on top which never happens in regular hotels. I reccommend this place to anyone who is visiting the ft bragg area and we will stay everytime we are in town!

Room Tip: we love the sweet with the porch it is wonderful with a fireplace and your own private porch and jet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What we noticed as soon as stepping into the little cottage, well actually a room as it was attached on both sides to other rooms. SO not really a cottage, was the fact that it was furnished very modern and pretty much everything was from Ikea. I liked the decor. It was cute. BUT Oh my the mattress was the worst! Both my husband and I woke up with kinks in our backs and necks. The deck is very nice. And the bathroom as well. Although we both could not figure out the hot water situation. It was scalding hot. The pros: cute atmosphere, fireplace is nice, room smelled and looked clean. Cons: NO PHONES in the room. So if you had an issue you had to get dressed and walk down to state that the shower did not seem to have a cold water outlet... just scorching hot. (Since we were only staying one night and checked in fairly late, we did not even bother to complain). Really uncomfortable mattress and not enough pillows, not really a cottage since it is attached to a room on either side. We will probably not stay here again and will check out all the other inns in the whole area. My $100 per night stay could have gotten me something a litle bit better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Address: 18725 N. Hwy 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.