We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little room, within a 5 min walk to a lovely beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shoreline Cottages to your Saves list
Shoreline Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18725 N. Hwy 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice little room, within a 5 min walk to a lovely beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I booked the Dolphin room for one night on our west coast tour. The room was clean and very pleasant as was the owner. This room is close to the highway, so traffic noise can be a problem if the windows are kept open.

The little car port between rooms was handing for unloading and loading our gear. The highlight of this location is Hare Beach which is a great sandy beach within a 5 minute walk across the highway. The steps down to the beach are not for the elderly or those with mobility challenges. However, for those who can manage the slippy and steep stairs, the beach is worth the effort.

Room Tip: If traffic noise is a concern, book a room in the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    67
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
83
167
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family and I were enjoying our road trip down the west coast of the USA and had been camping for two weeks. We decided we deserved a break from sleeping under canvas and chose Shoreline cottages. What a wise choice. A very warm welcome, lovely clean and spacious room, and best of all was the hot tub. My daughters loved star spotting from its warm waters at night - we even saw a couple of shooting stars. Fort Bragg was a revelation too with a big choice of good food and shops. Thanks.

Room Tip: Dont tell the rest of your party about the hot-tub. Let it be a surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here with our dog a while back and I was just looking at picture and realized I never did a review. We talk about going back all the time. I read another review that said that the beaches aren't with in walking distance and that is not the case. There is a fabulous beach very close. The owners will give you directions. It is a great beach for dogs because it is a large cove so they can safely run free. We stayed in one of the remolded suits and the dog cottage and both worked out well but I would recommend the suite.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here July 28th for one night while traveling up the coast. I was pleased with the bathroom supplies in the Lighthouse cottage. Room is a bit on the small side. Cleaning ladies had done a nice job. Was surprised at how close busy highway was to property. Is not within walking distance of any nice beaches, you need a car to get around. Owner/manager was very nice. We felt it was a tad overpriced for what it was.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went to the Skunk Train with 2 other couples for a mini-vacation and stayed at the Shoreline Cottages in Ft. Bragg. There were 6 of us and each couple had a different kind of room. We stayed in the Family (#9) room for 4 with 2 queen beds, and a mini-kitchen and it was quite adequate. The bathroom was small but the water was hot and we had plenty of space. My friends stayed in the renovated Sun Room (#10) with a fireplace, queen bed and futon, refrigerator with kitchen items but you would have to use the bathroom sink, and a porch in the back. Their room had a renovated bathroom with a jetted tub. The other couple stayed in the Dog Cottage (#3) with a queen bed, mini fireplace, and small but full kitchen. We all enjoyed our rooms. We used the hot tub both nights but it really only fits four not six and is poorly lit and we couldn't adequately see the controls but the the night sky was gorgeous. There was a slight problem with foam but once we figured out it was caused by the chlorine floater we were fine.
We used the barbeque gas grill for dinner one night and the fire pit. It was quite a nice stay and each room had an amenity that we needed to make the stay fun. I know that some commented on the highway noise and while we did hear it on and off it was not that noticeable at the fire pit or on the porch. The one couple that stayed in the cottage didn't notice it at all in their room which was close to the highway 101.
We would definitely stay there again. It's quaint and much nicer than a hotel room with a mini-kitchen where you would sit in a hotel room and share a brought in meal on someone's bed. All the rooms have a small table with 2 chairs out front and we actually met a very nice family from Seattle who joined us at the fire pit.
Give it a try you will enjoy!

Room Tip: Use the fire pit and gas grill with friends. Try to get a cottage if you are a couple they are cut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Really nice staff and cute rooms with nice touches here and there: snacks, extra linens, Earth Organics toiletries (I really liked that). There wasn't a lot of room to move around, but it was just the 2 of us and we got a futon couch next to the bed. I didn't like that it was hard to adjust the heat and the water was not hot enough. We had a jacuzzi tub but I ended up with lukewarm water and that was a huge let down. I also hate overhead showers. Someone used the fire pit outside and our room smelled like smoke all night. The walls are thin. And, as others have pointed out, it's not on the shore. You can't even see the shore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Comfy, cozy and clean with a nice litte kitchen equipped with all your basic needs. This place has it all! Great service and friendly staff that provided lots of info on where to eat, things to do, etc. We were thrilled to be able to soak in the hot tub after the long drive down the winding coastal highway, and the bed was very comfortable. The flowers and plants in the landscape are lovely. There is a very relaxing and warm atmosphere here. Definitely want to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Address: 18725 N. Hwy 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.