We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a bad dish, super impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn Restaurant

Farmhouse Inn Restaurant
7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9494
707-887-3300
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 17 restaurants in Forestville
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wohler Rd.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“not a bad dish, super impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We did the 4 course Tasting menu and split each dish. It was over the New Years holiday and they were fully booked. Food was outstanding, loved every dish. Fresh, innovative and well prepared. Wine pairing was not my favorite, in fact, I was slightly disappointed. Don't think I shared the Sommerlier taste. But overall, the atmosphere was great and we had a great time. I thought the price was reasonable for the quality. We looked at a room 1st floor of the barn and if you are in for a big splurge the room was gorgeous. Very nicely decorated space. Staff who did the booking for dinner were very helpful on recommendations for wineries.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    106
    25
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“bad customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The restaurant offers a 3 course tasting menu on Monday nights for $49. The offer is two savory dishes and one sweet. On Jan 9, 2013, I called to ask if they would substitute another savory for the sweet. They said yes and, on that basis, I made the reservation for Jan 14, 2013. On Sunday, Jan 13, they called me to confirm the reservation. On Jan 14, 4 hours before our dinner, they called to tell me that they would not substitute the dessert for an appetizer unless I wanted to order from the regular menu at the normal high prices. I cancelled the reservation. They notified me at the last moment yet had I cancelled my reservation, they would have charged me a $25 fee. My feeling is that if they can fine me for reneging on my obligation, they should be bound by theirs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I totally agree! While we don't generally substitute courses on the prix fixe Monday Night menu, if we said we do it we should have done it. Sounds like an awful case of two people, two answers. We work so hard to make sure that doesn't happen. But I'm afraid that the person confirming reservations is on a morning shift, and wouldn't have the authority to agree to an unusual request. But, how would you know that? I'm sorry about the confusion, and will work with my team to insure that it doesn't happen again.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasting menu a good choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everything was delicious. The ambiance was delightful. While many people often disparage tasting menus, they are a great introduction to local wineries.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but not great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was supposed to be the 38th anniversary special outing and to tell the truth it was way too expensive for the experience. I don't want to say it wasn't good but for nearly $200 without any wine I expected it to be the meal of a lifetime and it just wasn't.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A quiet, refined experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Enjoyed the tasting menu and novel wine pairings. The dining room was quiet and romantically lit, the service attentive but not obtrusive. We will be back!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 

Been to Farmhouse Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.