We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting menu a good choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn Restaurant

Farmhouse Inn Restaurant
7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9494
707-887-3300
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Farmhouse Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wohler Rd.
Randolph, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tasting menu a good choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everything was delicious. The ambiance was delightful. While many people often disparage tasting menus, they are a great introduction to local wineries.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    31
    11
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was supposed to be the 38th anniversary special outing and to tell the truth it was way too expensive for the experience. I don't want to say it wasn't good but for nearly $200 without any wine I expected it to be the meal of a lifetime and it just wasn't.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A quiet, refined experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Enjoyed the tasting menu and novel wine pairings. The dining room was quiet and romantically lit, the service attentive but not obtrusive. We will be back!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Creative & delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

WE loved sampling each other's plates. We ordered 3 savory dishes each instead of the listed 2 savory & 1 sweet. Everything was perfect from the rabbit to the halibut & the sweet pea tortellini! YUM!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly knowledgeable staff and excellent fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner at the Farmhouse, since we were also staring at the inn located on site. When we made reservations, we could only get a time at 8:15. The restaurant manager called our room at 7:30 and informed us that we could come in earlier if we chose. That was nice and we did move up our reservation time. Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful. Being newer to the Napa/Sonoma area herself, she shared lots of tips of great wineries and scenic spots to check out in the area. Our sommelier approved of our wine choice pairings with dinner, and we revealed that we had tasted them earlier in our trip. However, she asked what else we enjoyed, and when we told her, she made a face like "ugh" and quickly strode away. I can't stand wine snobs, even if we are in wine country. However, we soon forgot about her snub and enjoyed their delicious food. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse Inn Restaurant also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Forestville, Sonoma County
 
Forestville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Farmhouse Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.