We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative & delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn Restaurant

Farmhouse Inn Restaurant
7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9494
707-887-3300
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Farmhouse Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 16 restaurants in Forestville
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wohler Rd.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Creative & delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

WE loved sampling each other's plates. We ordered 3 savory dishes each instead of the listed 2 savory & 1 sweet. Everything was perfect from the rabbit to the halibut & the sweet pea tortellini! YUM!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    114
    26
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly knowledgeable staff and excellent fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner at the Farmhouse, since we were also staring at the inn located on site. When we made reservations, we could only get a time at 8:15. The restaurant manager called our room at 7:30 and informed us that we could come in earlier if we chose. That was nice and we did move up our reservation time. Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful. Being newer to the Napa/Sonoma area herself, she shared lots of tips of great wineries and scenic spots to check out in the area. Our sommelier approved of our wine choice pairings with dinner, and we revealed that we had tasted them earlier in our trip. However, she asked what else we enjoyed, and when we told her, she made a face like "ugh" and quickly strode away. I can't stand wine snobs, even if we are in wine country. However, we soon forgot about her snub and enjoyed their delicious food. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS FOOD BUT.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Farmhouse and everyone seemed to rave about the restaurant. While the food was excellent, this was not a "wow" experience. The atmosphere is very country and the Farmhouse guests enjoy breakfast here. The chairs are uncomfortable and should have pillows on them. When I dine out, I look for the entire experience and not just the food. The sommelier was very pretentious. We brought in a bottle of wine and when I asked it she would waive the corkage fee if I bought a bottle off the wine list (very common in wine country and in SF area), she said it depends on how expensive of a bottle I would buy. This put me entirely off. I had an 8:00 pm dinner reservations and was called twice before my reservations to see if I would come in earlier as they could accomodate me. I wanted the 8 pm reservation and was not interested in anything earlier. There was just an air in the restaurant that I did not find at Dry Creek Kitchen. The food was very good and the restaurant was very accomodating with dietary requests. It just was not as fun as other restaurants in town. I would not go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best diners ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very nice atmosphere, wonderfull service, but the food was incredible! Everything! The soup, the salad, I had the rabbit, great, my wife had the venison, was spectacular!

If you come to sonoma, don't miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Everything was exceptional. Food, wine, service and atmosphere were great. We especially enjoyed the food and wine pairings set up for us. This is a high end restaurant that has earned its Michelin rating so expect to spend some money here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Forestville, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Farmhouse Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.