We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farmhouse is Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, tx
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Farmhouse is Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

We stayed at the Farmhouse Inn for 3 nights recently and had a wonderful experience. We had originally booked Cottage #8, but when we got there we were told it was being renovated. They informed us we had been upgraded to Room 9 which was a new room in the main house. Room 9 was very elegant. I will say the bedroom itself is not that big, but was very plush. The bed was extremely comfortable and they had even put flat screen TV's in the room. The bathroom in this room was amazing. It had a hug bathtub was that 2 three tiered and a huge shower with 2 rain shower heads. You have to see the bathroom to believe it. The innkeepers did a wonderful job of designing this room.

On top of great sleeping arrangements, the food at Farmhouse is fantastic. Breakfast was a 2 course meal every morning. You can dine inside or sit outside on the patio. We also had dinner at the restaurant located in the Inn. It is pricey but worth every penny. It was by far the best meal we had while in the Russian River Valley and SF. My wife had the steak and I had their signature dish, Rabbit. Both entrees were delicious. But the best part was the chocolate souffle. I have never tested a desert this fantastic. Props to the chef at the restaurant.

The location of the Farm House Inn is perfect to explore the Russian River Valley wineries. Between the INN and Healdsburg, there are countless number of wineries to visit. Most of them are smaller operations which provide you with excellent attention.

We would highly recommend staying at the Farmhouse Inn.

  • Liked — Bed, bathroom, location and food
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Tips/Secrets — book room 9
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cseanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Playa Del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

If you enjoy feeling like you have the run of the place, and that you're practically the only couple around, stay at the Farmhouse Inn during the week. I guess it's the small size - only about 10 rooms, or perhaps it's because the staff is attentive, but not too attentive, that makes this such a nice getaway. Sure, hit the area wineries, but don't forget to spend some time at the pool. Each time we did, we were the only people in sight, during the day and at night. I got the strange sensation that we owned the place. If only. I highly recommend this place to anyone who likes to eat well (the restaurant is beyond compare) and wants to sleep it off in a really, really, really, comfortable bed. We're definitely going back.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ReedC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2006

We visited the Farmhouse Inn for two nights in April and wished we were staying longer. In fact, I'd like to be there now! The staff was extremely kind and helpful. They even helped us plan our winery day with some great suggestions I would not have visited otherwise.
Our room was room #7 - very nice with spa tub and sauna, plus a real wood burning fireplace.
Dinner in the restaurant was incredible - don't pass up the cheese course and dessert wines. Breakfast was great as well, including very good coffee and a nice two course prepared breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2005

My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary at the Farmhouse Inn and Restaurant. We were going to visit on the weekend- but decided to take advantage of one of their mid-week specials and stay an extra day. (check the website, they’re offering some great winter packages and discounts). We arrived on a Tuesday and left on Friday. We wanted to dine in the restaurant on Tuesday, which was our anniversary, but they were closed. So we dined on Thursday instead. But, they told us they’re opening on Monday nights starting in January. Anyway… we stayed in one of the mid sized rooms and it was amazing. Totally luxurious and cozy. The inn is decorated for Christmas and it is so warm and inviting without being at all commercial- we loved it! Our room had a fireplace, sauna and jetted tub. We used them all and just snuggled in the room. The bed was so comfortable, with down bedding and an awesome mattress and feather bed. Breakfasts are huge and wonderfully seasonal- one day we had crepes with spiced apples and another day they made a fabulous smoked salmon frittata. Scones are served every day and they’re to die for! Helena, the concierge was tremendously helpful. We did follow her suggestion and visit a bunch of the local wineries- we loved the wines at Martinelli! We also dined at Zazu on Wednesday for Pinot and Pizza. It wasn’t cheap, but it was casual and really good. Our dinner at the Farmhouse was the best and most romantic we’ve ever had. They’ve recently been voted best restaurant in Sonoma County by Zagat- and we can see why. The dining room is amazing. Totally charming and old-world, but the service is better than what we’ve had in major cities. The food is fresh and beautifully prepared and the flavors are out of this world! We had a butternut squash soup that blew our minds- who knew it could be so good? And the rabbit dish is worthy of its reputation. My husband – who loves rabbit- said he’s never had any that was nearly as good.
While we were there, we booked for our anniversary next year. The rates are going up this summer- they said they’re doing a small upgrade to the rooms- but they honored the current rates since we booked now!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2005

I absolutely agree with everything that the last reviewer wrote. We loved the Farmhouse Inn and are looking forward to going back someday.

We stayed in room 8 which was at the end, furthest away from the road. It was very elegant with gold and brown decor. The jetted tub and fireplace were very relaxing. Breakfast was excellent each morning.

I did have a chance to see the spa and received a deep tissue massage, which was pure heaven.

The local wineries are beautiful and everyone was very friendly. We fell in love with the whole area. I would recommend driving over to the coast and through Bodega Bay.

Dinner at the Farmhouse was very good. We also ate at Stella's Cafe in Sebastopol. Two totally different dining experiences, but both recommended.

We left the inn feeling totally relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pahock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon which included three luxurious nights at the Farmhouse Inn. We can't say enough good things about the rooms, the management, and the wonderful breakfasts.

First, the rooms...We stayed in room 4 for two nights and room 5 for the third night. Even room 5, the smallest in the Inn, felt luxurious in spite of its size. Others may object to the size of the room, but for us, it was wonderful. The fireplace in room 4 was great, and WHEN we return, we'll surely opt for a room with a fireplace. The decor and appointments in the rooms are elegant and simple and eschew the all too abundant Victorian/Laura Ashley decor of many B&B's. The in room sauna (which I believe is in every room at the Inn) is a wonderful touch. Also, the beds were extremely comfortable - I was a bit skeptical when we first got there because the bed's seemed a bit soft for my taste, but we woke up very well rested and comfortable every morning.

Next, the breakfast...A wonderful way to start the day. Every morning we started with a bowl of fresh fruit and a delightfully light ginger scone. Two of the mornings we had french toast with fresh berries which was divine, and the third morning we had a frittata. The food was spectacular, and we promised ourselves that on our next trip we must have dinner at the restaurant.

The staff...The brother and sister that I believe are the owners are spectacular hosts. They were very professional, offered us great recommendations, and made us feel very comfortable and at home. We switched from room 4 to 5 for our last night because 5 was the only room available that night. Our bags and belongings were moved into the room for us with no effort on our part, and the entire process was so simple and professional.

Last, the location...This was our first trip to wine country, and we spent a decent amount of time in Napa Valley. However, rest assured that when we come back, we fully intend to stay at the Farmhouse Inn and spend most (if not all) of our time at the wineries in and around the Russian River Valley. These smaller vineyards are beautiful, their wines are interesting, and the people we interacted with were much more personable than their counterparts in the large vineyards in Napa. We can't wait to go back and spend more time in the Russian River and Dry Creek Valleys.

To sum it up, if you want a personal and intimate experience, stay in the Russian River Valley and stay at the Farmhouse Inn - you won't easily find the quality of amenities for their prices. It was the perfect place for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2005

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March. (We also stayed 2 nights at the Honor Mansion in Healdsburg. See review under that b&b.)

We loved it. The small, individual yellow cabins looked like something out of a fairy tale. The room was small, but big enough for us. We had a real, wood burning fireplace in our room that we enjoyed. We did not have an opportunity to use the sauna, but it is a nice touch to have them in the rooms.

We ate at the restaurant one night, and it was outstanding. The atmosphere is great, with a superb wine list, great service and food. We met another couple that liked it so much they ate here both nights of their stay!

We thought this was a great b&b for the price. It couldn't have been more cozy.

The only thing we told the owner when we left was that we wished we had a coffee pot in our room. They don't open the main area until 8 AM. Since we were on central time, we were waking up much earlier. However, he told us we COULD have had a coffee pot for our room, but since we had gotten in very late the first night we came in, we didn't have a "meet & greet" time. He was very apologetic. It was no big deal, and we will know to request it next time.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MississippiRenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
6.7 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#1 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#6 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of twenty-five cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing