We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orange, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

We visited the Farmhouse Inn for two nights in April and wished we were staying longer. In fact, I'd like to be there now! The staff was extremely kind and helpful. They even helped us plan our winery day with some great suggestions I would not have visited otherwise.
Our room was room #7 - very nice with spa tub and sauna, plus a real wood burning fireplace.
Dinner in the restaurant was incredible - don't pass up the cheese course and dessert wines. Breakfast was great as well, including very good coffee and a nice two course prepared breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    67
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
17
415
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary at the Farmhouse Inn and Restaurant. We were going to visit on the weekend- but decided to take advantage of one of their mid-week specials and stay an extra day. (check the website, they’re offering some great winter packages and discounts). We arrived on a Tuesday and left on Friday. We wanted to dine in the restaurant on Tuesday, which was our anniversary, but they were closed. So we dined on Thursday instead. But, they told us they’re opening on Monday nights starting in January. Anyway… we stayed in one of the mid sized rooms and it was amazing. Totally luxurious and cozy. The inn is decorated for Christmas and it is so warm and inviting without being at all commercial- we loved it! Our room had a fireplace, sauna and jetted tub. We used them all and just snuggled in the room. The bed was so comfortable, with down bedding and an awesome mattress and feather bed. Breakfasts are huge and wonderfully seasonal- one day we had crepes with spiced apples and another day they made a fabulous smoked salmon frittata. Scones are served every day and they’re to die for! Helena, the concierge was tremendously helpful. We did follow her suggestion and visit a bunch of the local wineries- we loved the wines at Martinelli! We also dined at Zazu on Wednesday for Pinot and Pizza. It wasn’t cheap, but it was casual and really good. Our dinner at the Farmhouse was the best and most romantic we’ve ever had. They’ve recently been voted best restaurant in Sonoma County by Zagat- and we can see why. The dining room is amazing. Totally charming and old-world, but the service is better than what we’ve had in major cities. The food is fresh and beautifully prepared and the flavors are out of this world! We had a butternut squash soup that blew our minds- who knew it could be so good? And the rabbit dish is worthy of its reputation. My husband – who loves rabbit- said he’s never had any that was nearly as good.
While we were there, we booked for our anniversary next year. The rates are going up this summer- they said they’re doing a small upgrade to the rooms- but they honored the current rates since we booked now!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

I absolutely agree with everything that the last reviewer wrote. We loved the Farmhouse Inn and are looking forward to going back someday.

We stayed in room 8 which was at the end, furthest away from the road. It was very elegant with gold and brown decor. The jetted tub and fireplace were very relaxing. Breakfast was excellent each morning.

I did have a chance to see the spa and received a deep tissue massage, which was pure heaven.

The local wineries are beautiful and everyone was very friendly. We fell in love with the whole area. I would recommend driving over to the coast and through Bodega Bay.

Dinner at the Farmhouse was very good. We also ate at Stella's Cafe in Sebastopol. Two totally different dining experiences, but both recommended.

We left the inn feeling totally relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon which included three luxurious nights at the Farmhouse Inn. We can't say enough good things about the rooms, the management, and the wonderful breakfasts.

First, the rooms...We stayed in room 4 for two nights and room 5 for the third night. Even room 5, the smallest in the Inn, felt luxurious in spite of its size. Others may object to the size of the room, but for us, it was wonderful. The fireplace in room 4 was great, and WHEN we return, we'll surely opt for a room with a fireplace. The decor and appointments in the rooms are elegant and simple and eschew the all too abundant Victorian/Laura Ashley decor of many B&B's. The in room sauna (which I believe is in every room at the Inn) is a wonderful touch. Also, the beds were extremely comfortable - I was a bit skeptical when we first got there because the bed's seemed a bit soft for my taste, but we woke up very well rested and comfortable every morning.

Next, the breakfast...A wonderful way to start the day. Every morning we started with a bowl of fresh fruit and a delightfully light ginger scone. Two of the mornings we had french toast with fresh berries which was divine, and the third morning we had a frittata. The food was spectacular, and we promised ourselves that on our next trip we must have dinner at the restaurant.

The staff...The brother and sister that I believe are the owners are spectacular hosts. They were very professional, offered us great recommendations, and made us feel very comfortable and at home. We switched from room 4 to 5 for our last night because 5 was the only room available that night. Our bags and belongings were moved into the room for us with no effort on our part, and the entire process was so simple and professional.

Last, the location...This was our first trip to wine country, and we spent a decent amount of time in Napa Valley. However, rest assured that when we come back, we fully intend to stay at the Farmhouse Inn and spend most (if not all) of our time at the wineries in and around the Russian River Valley. These smaller vineyards are beautiful, their wines are interesting, and the people we interacted with were much more personable than their counterparts in the large vineyards in Napa. We can't wait to go back and spend more time in the Russian River and Dry Creek Valleys.

To sum it up, if you want a personal and intimate experience, stay in the Russian River Valley and stay at the Farmhouse Inn - you won't easily find the quality of amenities for their prices. It was the perfect place for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2005

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March. (We also stayed 2 nights at the Honor Mansion in Healdsburg. See review under that b&b.)

We loved it. The small, individual yellow cabins looked like something out of a fairy tale. The room was small, but big enough for us. We had a real, wood burning fireplace in our room that we enjoyed. We did not have an opportunity to use the sauna, but it is a nice touch to have them in the rooms.

We ate at the restaurant one night, and it was outstanding. The atmosphere is great, with a superb wine list, great service and food. We met another couple that liked it so much they ate here both nights of their stay!

We thought this was a great b&b for the price. It couldn't have been more cozy.

The only thing we told the owner when we left was that we wished we had a coffee pot in our room. They don't open the main area until 8 AM. Since we were on central time, we were waking up much earlier. However, he told us we COULD have had a coffee pot for our room, but since we had gotten in very late the first night we came in, we didn't have a "meet & greet" time. He was very apologetic. It was no big deal, and we will know to request it next time.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2005

Recently my husband and I had the food fortune to stay at the Farmhouse Inn in Forestville, Ca. Until then, my husband disliked bed and breakfast inns but he has completely changed his mind since our stay at the Farmhouse Inn.
The setting is beautiful. Quite rural, quiet and peaceful, still close to everything. The staff is pleasant and very helpful with making plans to do things in the area.
The dining is sensational. Breakfast is the finest I have had at any hotel or inn. Dinner is an experience not to be missed whether you are staying there or not. Supurb!
All in all, a wonderful experience and one we plan to repeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2005

Romantic!. Every room is like a little personal spa- with jetted tubs for two, wood burning fireplaces and saunas. The prices are really fair- considering the ammenities. Great robes, yummy bath salts. We had dinner there one night- and loved it. Also ate at ZAZU, just down the road. Also great. Ask the concierges at the front desk for suggestions on what to do and where to go. They turned us on to some tiny, fabulous wineries, tours and hiking trails at the coast. Great inn, great vacation!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.