We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious & Cozy equals a FANTASTIC experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
1 review
“Luxurious & Cozy equals a FANTASTIC experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

There are not enough words to describe this luxurious boutique hotel! My husband and I found this little gem when searching for a romantic getaway to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary! We are so happy that we found The Farmhouse Inn!
We stayed for three nights and had to peel ourselves away from this beautiful place! The Deluxe King room was spacious, romantic and the icing on the cake was the amazing bathroom with jetted tub overlooking the beautiful landscape and separate steam shower! We had mouthwatering culinary meals at their onsite restaurant. Three course breakfasts and dinners showcased such exquisite artistry and delightful use of fresh local ingredients. The attention to details from the Architecture, the food and the amazing staff made our 20th anniversary celebration most memorable!
This was a FIVE star experience!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    72
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
437
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Farmhouse provided a relaxing getaway for me and my man! I love to travel, but sometimes I find it can be challenging to feel completely relaxed when my husband and I have to be mindful of my food and allergen sensitivities, in addition to caring for our very active toddler. But the focus of this trip was for my husband and I to spend quality time together, and Farmhouse spoiled us while we did!

Not only was this trip a vacation from the busyness of life, but it was also a vacation from having to invest energy and time in maintaining my healthy lifestyle. The chefs at FH graciously accommodated to my food allergies, and my husband and I both agreed that our dinner experience was one of the best ones we've ever had--amazingly fresh and local ingredients, fantastic service, and a charming setting with a great story to it!

Our food experience wasn't the only thing worth bragging about. I live a very clean lifestyle, using natural and organic bath products. The apothecary line (Sum Body) offered at FH was amazing, especially for someone who is sensitive to strong scents and chemicals in products (e.g. SLS, parabens, etc.). My husband and I loved the products so much, we ended up purchasing enough to last us a year! If that wasn't enough, upon arrival, guests are offered a lovely display of complimentary bath products--soaps, body scrubs and bath salts--all of which lent to our spa-like experience our suite.

The beautifully designed bathroom in our suite shouted luxury, and I felt like it provided a spa experience in itself. From the sauna shower to jetted tub with a beautiful view of nature was exactly what this momma needed on her getaway. I seriously think my two nights at FH erased five years off my face!

Farmhouse was my dream getaway spot. I couldn't have asked for a better place for my husband and I spend our first trip alone since having our baby. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are a Sillycon Millonaire with money to burn, this is the place for you. Everything is first class here but it damn well better be for the price they charge. Free Smores by the firepit so maybe it is a bargain afterall. Each to his own but this is not the place for me.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the nice compliment! We are truly a first class property and it reflects in everything we have to offer. From our amazing accommodations to our Michelin starred restaurant - our impeccable service and hospitality shine through out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Casual -- we wore jean, but definitely elegant. Several men wore coats.

Remarkable service, all done as a team. Main server, bus crew and even the host jumps in when necessary to deliver seamless service. All plates arrive at the same moment.

Typical offer is 3-course or 4-course fixed price menu. Although the "standard" is to order one starter, one main and one dessert, you can replace the dessert for an additional starter. This might appeal to those non-sugar hounds, especially considering that both classic appetizers and salads fall into the starter group.

There were about 6 mains offered and they covered the gamut from vege, to fish, fowl and beef. We ordered a variety of starters (recommend the ahi) and mains and everyone at our table raved.

I would NOT recommend the wine pairing based solely on the cost of $59 for 3 glasses. You do get the benefit of their selections but, if you are reasonably adept at picking wine, can do quite well ordering wine by the glass instead.

A 20% service charge was attached to our bill due to "six people". That did surprise me though I would have provided that much tip regardless.

Overall, a delightful meal in a great setting and a very human waiter.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I just spent a night in one of the new rooms and it was absolutely amazing. Began with a glass of wine offered at check in, followed by the soaps, salts and scrubs that we chose to bring to the room. Anna, the concierge, was so hospitable. We dined at the restaurant and it was delicious and the service was perfection. We followed dinner with yummy s'mores at the fire pit made from great chocolates, home made marshmallows and delicious graham crackers. The next morning we had honey ginger massages that were amazing. FYI, the spa offers a discount on services between 11:00 a.m. And 3:00 p.m.

We WILL return and it can't be soon enough. The property is so charming.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Absolutely beautiful rooms and grounds! Room was large with indoor/outdoor fireplace and heated tile floors in bathroom and toilet closet! Couldn't have imagined these! The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. The Service both at Inn and Restaurant were beyond our expectations! The Spa was beautiful and the massages were also great. Not one disappointment!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are based on size thus the price is determined by such. Personal decision!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Excellent food and parings. Very small portions, but delicious in a lovely atmosphere. This is a fine dining experience not just a meal. The service was superior. Would love to return someday.

Did not stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Did not stay in hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of twenty-five cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.