We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Romantic Place Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Forestville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most Romantic Place Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I are pretty well traveled and I can honestly say this was the most romantic place we have ever been. We stayed in a barn room, which was very spacious and luxurious… with amazing tub (and bath products!) and private balcony and fireplace. We had dinner at the inn for his birthday, and they printed a special Happy Birthday message on his menu. Very secluded feeling. If you stay, make sure to go shopping in Healdsburg. Lovely place! We hope to come back… perhaps next time in summer.

Room Tip: I recommend the barn rooms!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    63
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
404
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful accommodations, wood burning fireplace and sauna in the room, staff is very welcoming. Restaurant is five star and breakfast is fabulous, lots of extra goodies, including so-mores to roast in the open fire pits.

Room Tip: Heritage deluxe are worth the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was by far the best getaway experience we have ever had. The Farmhouse is a one of a kind retreat that will not disappoint. The service goes beyond all expectation. Really. We had the pleasure to stay in the barn (room 16). If you can do it, please book the barn. The odd numbered rooms on the second level are amazing....they have an incredible deck with a two way fireplace that opens onto the woods so you have total privacy. The room was gorgeous and the heated marble floors, steam shower, and incredible bathtub were perfection. Each morning we were treated to an incredible breakfast of farm fresh ingredients and every evening we came back to a calming retreat with fresh baked cookies and homemade smores waiting for us (yes, the marshmallows, graham cookies were all homemade).
We had the pleasure to also have dinner at the restaurant. We've been fortunate to have many wonderful dining experiences, and this one blew them all away. The food, wine, flavors, service were all incredible.
An incredible weekend away...THANKS FARMHOUSE.

Room Tip: Stay in the barn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are ever going to be in the Russian River Valley, you must at least have a meal at this great place. I was looking forward to this dinner since the time I booked it. And it was everything I could hope for and more. My wife and I enjoyed every moment. It feels like you're entering somebody's home and you are treated that way as well. Attentive service without being annoying. The meal in itself was sooooooooo good. All four courses stood out on their own. But the "rabbit, rabbit, rabbit" main course.....OMG deliciousness!!! I know there will be return visits when we visit wine country!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Farmhouse Inn is one of a kind. We visited on Valentines day weekend, and were completely blown away. The lead concierge, Anna helped me schedule everything from the wineries we toured to the chocolates, cheese, champagne and flowers that were waiting in the room for us. She went above and beyond chatting with me over the phone several times the weeks before we came up, to make sure that everything was perfect.

When we made the trip up, we were welcomed with champagne and open arms as if we were old friends or regulars and I was so very impressed by that. The Heritage Suite that we called home that weekend was absolutely unrivaled. It was a comfortable, spacious and quiet little cottage, perfect for much needed R & R. We had dinner, both nights at the Farmhouse Restaurant because it was that good, from the service to the food I have never had such a completely perfect experience. My mouth salivates every time I think about the menu! It is obvious that they strive to create a top notch, one of a kind getaway experience/destination at Farmhouse Inn. Visiting Farmhouse Inn will be at the least, an annual trip for us. Ideally we would spend every weekend up there. Thank you so much Farmhouse Team! See you soon.

Room Tip: Try and stay in one of the the Heritage Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We cannot say enough good things about the Farmhouse, we just came back from our third year in a row of visiting there and it has exceeded our expectations every time. The appointments of the rooms are beautiful and tasteful and the ambience completely captures the essence of Sonoma wine country. The restaurant is phenomenal from food to service, and it is farm to table so it changes all the time.

The owners and staff have created a place that allows you to truly vacate from your life and its routines and to experience the salt of the earth joys of an agrarian community all the while being in an incredibly luxurious environment. Worth every penny that we paid, and you better believe we will be going back again next year.

Room Tip: There is no bad room at the Farmhouse, but the barn rooms are bigger and elevated at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Heading to CA for our 3rd stay at Farmhouse Inn.
It is a "must do" for us each year. For us, it is the place to go the pace we want for that day.
The food - AMAZING!
The staff - More AMAZING!!
The rooms - Calm, peaceful, restful, romantic, and private with all the amenities and views one would wish.
The location - Out of the way and NON-touristy! SPECTACULAR!!!
...and by the way, BEST WEDDING PLANNERS EVER ~
See you soon Farmhouse Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County
Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.