We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost too good to be true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Almost too good to be true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We always enjoy coming to the Farmhouse for a few days each year. For over five years we have appreciated the excellent and friendly concierge service to help us choose wineries, restaurants and places to walk. The accommodations are fantastic. I could like permanently in one of the Barn rooms -- they're spacious, comfortable and very attractive. The whole experience is soothing and sensual.

Elisabeth and Jeff

Room Tip: The Barn rooms are quiet and spacious. You feel like you're in the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Elisabeth and Jeff,
Thanks for posting this review! We truly enjoy having you visit. And are glad to see you every time! We have some great new stuff in the works, and can't wait for your next visit!
Happy holidays,
Catherine + the whole Farmhouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    70
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
423
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

On our most recent trip to wine country, we stayed at the Farmhouse Inn. It was simply wonderful
and truly exceeded our expectations. The staff could not be more helpful and pleasant. The food was outstanding both during breakfast and the wine pairing dinner which was out of this world! The accommodations were well above the standards of the previous locations and reasonably priced. We loved the "country feel" of our room and the little gifts offered each night with the turndown service. Our every need was attended to without any complication or fuss. The concierge team made sure we truly experienced the best of the Russian River area. We will definitely return here and recommend the Farmhouse Inn to our friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, wonderful food & amazing service. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. My husband & I just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary there with a 4 night stay and we loved every minute of it. I can't wait to go back again some day!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is really a great place for couples! One of the few you can still find in the area of this quality.

Since my first review, we've visited the Farmhouse two more time and stayed in the barn. Both times we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. On our second visit, the restaurant wasn't open but on our third it was. We decided to give it a second chance and had a wonderful veggie meal. Many of our fellow diners had the rabbit, a Farmhouse signature dish, and raved about good it was.

One of the major pluses of the Farmhouse is the pool. It is a regular pool with both deep and shallow ends (not one of those 3 foot jobs). This meant we could just float around without scrapping our feet on the bottom.

The staff is one of the best we've seen and provides first-rate service.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks so much for coming back! We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently stayed at Farmhouse Inn. The restaurant is excellent. The inn is, however, in my view far over-priced for what it is. We upgraded to a Barn room for USD 100 more. It supposedly sells for USD 800. The room was very nice and spacious, but not worth USD 800. My basis of comparison is the Mandarin, Four Seasons, Oberoi, etc. There is also terrible road noise that goes late into the evening - on the grounds (not in our room).
The staff is not particularly welcoming. They act like they are doing you a favour - a condescending attitude I've often found in the Bay Area, frankly. For breakfast, they told us they didn't do espresso and that we were the first people who have ever asked for one. Really, what an attitude.

Room Tip: For a quiet room you must be in the Barn building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
This review was posted by the partner of the person who gave us a one star review below. I talked, at length, with my staff, about these guests and their displeasure with our property. And truly, we just can't figure out why they were so unhappy with us. Every person who interacted with this couple found them to be a little disgruntled, in general, but they did not seem to be unhappy with the property or the stay. They were VERY unhappy with the lack of an espresso program at breakfast. We don't have espresso. For a number of reasons. But, we do have a really wonderful, locally roasted, organically grown coffee that is specially blended for us. And we offer a fantastic French Press program for those who don't prefer brewed coffee. Isn't being angry at our not having espresso akin to being angry at our not having a full bar for dinner? it's a choice we've made, and we think it works with the style of our restaurant and our service. Generally speaking, our guests agree.
I am really, really sorry they were unhappy.
But if you're thinking of staying, please do. We don't have espresso- but we have loads of other great stuff. And my staff really is wonderful. I promise!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We're home from our fifth visit to the Farmhouse and fourth meal at its spectacular restaurant. This trip, somewhere between our big barn room with its dreamy bedding and the lazy sunflowers dangling over the fence next to the sweet little pool, I once again managed to forget my every last obligation back in the real world. One afternoon, the good folks at Ridge happened to pop by to pour a few Zins as the afternoon sun moved slowly across the deck. Another evening, the sommelier recommended a Pinot from down the road that was so exquisite I could actually hear my entree sigh with joy over the pairing. I love the cookies and milk before bed. I love the steam shower and the pale yellow soap that smells like warm honey and happiness. I even love Charlotte the cat. I don't even like cats! The folks at the Farmhouse always manage to anticipate my every need, especially needs I didn't know I had... but do now. One of those needs is to return here each year. I cannot think of a place that is more dreamlike. Until next time...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We chose this inn to spend our wedding night and the following night also. It was very expensive but we thought it was worth it for a special occasion. The room was not only small it was tiny and we could not walk around the bed without stepping over the suitcase. There were two chairs under the wall of the television so they could not be used for viewing such. Viewing from the bed was the only option but the screen on the opposite wall was too small and the picture from that distance was not enjoyable. The bathroom was spacious and everything was clean but the tub w/shower had only a 22" wide piece of glass to keep the shower water from getting out. We had to use towels to wipe up the water off the floor every time we showered. The lamps mounted on the wall each side of the bed gave off too little light to read by so we took one of the bathroom bulbs and substituted it. The bed and pillows were clean and very comfortable. Previous to our arrival we were sent an e mail by the Farmhouse Inn saying we were receiving a discount of $36.00 because they had been named #16 best resort in the world and we need apply as it was already discounted from our bill. When we checked out they did not credit our account and we went back in and were told we were suppose to bring a coupon. They did finally give us the discount but our two nights there for just the rooms were $987.90 lwas $38.00. We definitely would not go back there. We continued up to the Trinidad Inn and the Little River Inn and had large beautiful rooms at far less a price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It's true. Room 5 is tiny. It's our least expensive, and also our smallest room. It's well appointed, and guests receive all of the amenities found in our much larger rooms. Most guests absolutely love it, but it's not for everyone. We do mention the diminutive size to anyone who books it with us. We never want someone to arrive to a less than pleasant surprise. And, while the lamps aren't necessarily set up for reading, we do have clip on reading lights in every room, so guests can read wherever they like.
Rooms in the heart of Wine Country are definitely more expensive than in more remote areas. And it's true, Mendocino has some gorgeous properties and very reasonable prices. But, it doesn't have the proximity to world class wineries and restaurants that Farmhouse does.

When you're doing your trip research, please give us a call and talk to us about the choices we have to offer. We have a wide range of room options and six lovely concierges who would love to help you pick the perfect one for your trip.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.