We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return to Farmhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Forestville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our return to Farmhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is really a great place for couples! One of the few you can still find in the area of this quality.

Since my first review, we've visited the Farmhouse two more time and stayed in the barn. Both times we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. On our second visit, the restaurant wasn't open but on our third it was. We decided to give it a second chance and had a wonderful veggie meal. Many of our fellow diners had the rabbit, a Farmhouse signature dish, and raved about good it was.

One of the major pluses of the Farmhouse is the pool. It is a regular pool with both deep and shallow ends (not one of those 3 foot jobs). This meant we could just float around without scrapping our feet on the bottom.

The staff is one of the best we've seen and provides first-rate service.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks so much for coming back! We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    64
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
17
409
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently stayed at Farmhouse Inn. The restaurant is excellent. The inn is, however, in my view far over-priced for what it is. We upgraded to a Barn room for USD 100 more. It supposedly sells for USD 800. The room was very nice and spacious, but not worth USD 800. My basis of comparison is the Mandarin, Four Seasons, Oberoi, etc. There is also terrible road noise that goes late into the evening - on the grounds (not in our room).
The staff is not particularly welcoming. They act like they are doing you a favour - a condescending attitude I've often found in the Bay Area, frankly. For breakfast, they told us they didn't do espresso and that we were the first people who have ever asked for one. Really, what an attitude.

Room Tip: For a quiet room you must be in the Barn building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
This review was posted by the partner of the person who gave us a one star review below. I talked, at length, with my staff, about these guests and their displeasure with our property. And truly, we just can't figure out why they were so unhappy with us. Every person who interacted with this couple found them to be a little disgruntled, in general, but they did not seem to be unhappy with the property or the stay. They were VERY unhappy with the lack of an espresso program at breakfast. We don't have espresso. For a number of reasons. But, we do have a really wonderful, locally roasted, organically grown coffee that is specially blended for us. And we offer a fantastic French Press program for those who don't prefer brewed coffee. Isn't being angry at our not having espresso akin to being angry at our not having a full bar for dinner? it's a choice we've made, and we think it works with the style of our restaurant and our service. Generally speaking, our guests agree.
I am really, really sorry they were unhappy.
But if you're thinking of staying, please do. We don't have espresso- but we have loads of other great stuff. And my staff really is wonderful. I promise!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We're home from our fifth visit to the Farmhouse and fourth meal at its spectacular restaurant. This trip, somewhere between our big barn room with its dreamy bedding and the lazy sunflowers dangling over the fence next to the sweet little pool, I once again managed to forget my every last obligation back in the real world. One afternoon, the good folks at Ridge happened to pop by to pour a few Zins as the afternoon sun moved slowly across the deck. Another evening, the sommelier recommended a Pinot from down the road that was so exquisite I could actually hear my entree sigh with joy over the pairing. I love the cookies and milk before bed. I love the steam shower and the pale yellow soap that smells like warm honey and happiness. I even love Charlotte the cat. I don't even like cats! The folks at the Farmhouse always manage to anticipate my every need, especially needs I didn't know I had... but do now. One of those needs is to return here each year. I cannot think of a place that is more dreamlike. Until next time...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We chose this inn to spend our wedding night and the following night also. It was very expensive but we thought it was worth it for a special occasion. The room was not only small it was tiny and we could not walk around the bed without stepping over the suitcase. There were two chairs under the wall of the television so they could not be used for viewing such. Viewing from the bed was the only option but the screen on the opposite wall was too small and the picture from that distance was not enjoyable. The bathroom was spacious and everything was clean but the tub w/shower had only a 22" wide piece of glass to keep the shower water from getting out. We had to use towels to wipe up the water off the floor every time we showered. The lamps mounted on the wall each side of the bed gave off too little light to read by so we took one of the bathroom bulbs and substituted it. The bed and pillows were clean and very comfortable. Previous to our arrival we were sent an e mail by the Farmhouse Inn saying we were receiving a discount of $36.00 because they had been named #16 best resort in the world and we need apply as it was already discounted from our bill. When we checked out they did not credit our account and we went back in and were told we were suppose to bring a coupon. They did finally give us the discount but our two nights there for just the rooms were $987.90 lwas $38.00. We definitely would not go back there. We continued up to the Trinidad Inn and the Little River Inn and had large beautiful rooms at far less a price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It's true. Room 5 is tiny. It's our least expensive, and also our smallest room. It's well appointed, and guests receive all of the amenities found in our much larger rooms. Most guests absolutely love it, but it's not for everyone. We do mention the diminutive size to anyone who books it with us. We never want someone to arrive to a less than pleasant surprise. And, while the lamps aren't necessarily set up for reading, we do have clip on reading lights in every room, so guests can read wherever they like.
Rooms in the heart of Wine Country are definitely more expensive than in more remote areas. And it's true, Mendocino has some gorgeous properties and very reasonable prices. But, it doesn't have the proximity to world class wineries and restaurants that Farmhouse does.

When you're doing your trip research, please give us a call and talk to us about the choices we have to offer. We have a wide range of room options and six lovely concierges who would love to help you pick the perfect one for your trip.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After a wedding in Sonoma, we stayed on for a couple of days, and had dinner at The Farmhouse on our last night. Generally exhausted, facing a 10-hour flight home the next day, and with one of us unable to try the wine list due to medications. So we were not the dream table. Everything was great -- the food was excellent, the service was great, the setting was pretty nice, and it seemed like a reasonable price-value (having only a glass of wine probably helped). I like the 3-course vs 4-course options, found the cuisine creative and locally focused. No complaints -- although the parking lot was amazingly tight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It was a busy event weekend in Sonoma and the Farmhouse Inn was a serene oasis away from the wine tasting crowds. The inn is conveniently located near numerous wineries and activities such as enjoying the coast, hiking in the Armstrong redwoods, or canoeing on the Russian River. Guests traveling from Los Angeles, San Diego, Seattle, or Portland can fly into the small Sonoma County airport, minutes from the inn, eliminating the traffic and drive up from the Bay area airports.

I spent three nights in a cozy and comfortable Heritage cottage. What did I enjoy? Let’s see… celebratory champagne, an attentive concierge team, inviting accommodations, indulging bath soaps/scrubs, a relaxing in-room sauna, tasty turn down cookies and s’mores by the fire pit, farm fresh breakfasts complete with handmade mugs, a Michelin Star worthy dinner, friendly cats, well-tended gardens, and awesome winery partners (Lambert Bridge). It's all about service and attention to detail at the Farmhouse Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at the property on Sunday. We were received by the front desk with an upgrade to a larger room for 100 dollars more. We asked to take a look at both rooms first. Both rooms were very different and the upgrade was much larger. We took the upgrade. When we finally settled, and open the windows we felt a stench. We couldn't realized where was it coming from as the room seemed cleaned, and it was only when we opened the windows that we felt it. We asked the cleaners about it and they couldn't figure it out either.Then, we headed out for diner, and after we came back the stench was worse so we had to close the windows. The next morning, since it was colder the stench defused so we forgot about it. We headed to the restaurant for breakfast and the venue did not have an espresso machine so there was no good coffee. We asked at the unfriendly front desk people where to grab a good cup of coffee and finally there was Teresa. The only person who understand that customer comes first. At check out, I couldn't give a toss about this place. In fact, when I picked up the bill I was basically ignored, asked sing here, and left with not even a goodbye. I am amazed how this hotel with this type of attitude makes it on the list of best hotels. By the way, the grounds, the suites and the restaurant are very good but the swimming pool has concrete all around and it's quite ugly.

Room Tip: Stay away from the back yard suites as the septic is located on the back yard, take a look a picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I, and my whole staff are just shocked by this review. None of us had any idea this guest was at all displeased. This review is too complicated for me to take it apart bit by bit. But, please, if you come to visit, and I hope you will come, tell us if something is wrong. Give us the chance to fix it while you're on property. Please don't go away upset and then write a bad review of us. It's unfair to us- but more importantly it's unfair to you. It's your vacation and you deserve for it to be perfect. We can't guarantee that nothing will ever to wrong. But we can guarantee that if you give us the chance, we'll make it right. Read our other reviews. We really do care, and we absolutely value the time you choose to spend with us.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.