We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Davis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not for the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We chose this inn to spend our wedding night and the following night also. It was very expensive but we thought it was worth it for a special occasion. The room was not only small it was tiny and we could not walk around the bed without stepping over the suitcase. There were two chairs under the wall of the television so they could not be used for viewing such. Viewing from the bed was the only option but the screen on the opposite wall was too small and the picture from that distance was not enjoyable. The bathroom was spacious and everything was clean but the tub w/shower had only a 22" wide piece of glass to keep the shower water from getting out. We had to use towels to wipe up the water off the floor every time we showered. The lamps mounted on the wall each side of the bed gave off too little light to read by so we took one of the bathroom bulbs and substituted it. The bed and pillows were clean and very comfortable. Previous to our arrival we were sent an e mail by the Farmhouse Inn saying we were receiving a discount of $36.00 because they had been named #16 best resort in the world and we need apply as it was already discounted from our bill. When we checked out they did not credit our account and we went back in and were told we were suppose to bring a coupon. They did finally give us the discount but our two nights there for just the rooms were $987.90 lwas $38.00. We definitely would not go back there. We continued up to the Trinidad Inn and the Little River Inn and had large beautiful rooms at far less a price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It's true. Room 5 is tiny. It's our least expensive, and also our smallest room. It's well appointed, and guests receive all of the amenities found in our much larger rooms. Most guests absolutely love it, but it's not for everyone. We do mention the diminutive size to anyone who books it with us. We never want someone to arrive to a less than pleasant surprise. And, while the lamps aren't necessarily set up for reading, we do have clip on reading lights in every room, so guests can read wherever they like.
Rooms in the heart of Wine Country are definitely more expensive than in more remote areas. And it's true, Mendocino has some gorgeous properties and very reasonable prices. But, it doesn't have the proximity to world class wineries and restaurants that Farmhouse does.

When you're doing your trip research, please give us a call and talk to us about the choices we have to offer. We have a wide range of room options and six lovely concierges who would love to help you pick the perfect one for your trip.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    67
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
17
415
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After a wedding in Sonoma, we stayed on for a couple of days, and had dinner at The Farmhouse on our last night. Generally exhausted, facing a 10-hour flight home the next day, and with one of us unable to try the wine list due to medications. So we were not the dream table. Everything was great -- the food was excellent, the service was great, the setting was pretty nice, and it seemed like a reasonable price-value (having only a glass of wine probably helped). I like the 3-course vs 4-course options, found the cuisine creative and locally focused. No complaints -- although the parking lot was amazingly tight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It was a busy event weekend in Sonoma and the Farmhouse Inn was a serene oasis away from the wine tasting crowds. The inn is conveniently located near numerous wineries and activities such as enjoying the coast, hiking in the Armstrong redwoods, or canoeing on the Russian River. Guests traveling from Los Angeles, San Diego, Seattle, or Portland can fly into the small Sonoma County airport, minutes from the inn, eliminating the traffic and drive up from the Bay area airports.

I spent three nights in a cozy and comfortable Heritage cottage. What did I enjoy? Let’s see… celebratory champagne, an attentive concierge team, inviting accommodations, indulging bath soaps/scrubs, a relaxing in-room sauna, tasty turn down cookies and s’mores by the fire pit, farm fresh breakfasts complete with handmade mugs, a Michelin Star worthy dinner, friendly cats, well-tended gardens, and awesome winery partners (Lambert Bridge). It's all about service and attention to detail at the Farmhouse Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at the property on Sunday. We were received by the front desk with an upgrade to a larger room for 100 dollars more. We asked to take a look at both rooms first. Both rooms were very different and the upgrade was much larger. We took the upgrade. When we finally settled, and open the windows we felt a stench. We couldn't realized where was it coming from as the room seemed cleaned, and it was only when we opened the windows that we felt it. We asked the cleaners about it and they couldn't figure it out either.Then, we headed out for diner, and after we came back the stench was worse so we had to close the windows. The next morning, since it was colder the stench defused so we forgot about it. We headed to the restaurant for breakfast and the venue did not have an espresso machine so there was no good coffee. We asked at the unfriendly front desk people where to grab a good cup of coffee and finally there was Teresa. The only person who understand that customer comes first. At check out, I couldn't give a toss about this place. In fact, when I picked up the bill I was basically ignored, asked sing here, and left with not even a goodbye. I am amazed how this hotel with this type of attitude makes it on the list of best hotels. By the way, the grounds, the suites and the restaurant are very good but the swimming pool has concrete all around and it's quite ugly.

Room Tip: Stay away from the back yard suites as the septic is located on the back yard, take a look a picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I, and my whole staff are just shocked by this review. None of us had any idea this guest was at all displeased. This review is too complicated for me to take it apart bit by bit. But, please, if you come to visit, and I hope you will come, tell us if something is wrong. Give us the chance to fix it while you're on property. Please don't go away upset and then write a bad review of us. It's unfair to us- but more importantly it's unfair to you. It's your vacation and you deserve for it to be perfect. We can't guarantee that nothing will ever to wrong. But we can guarantee that if you give us the chance, we'll make it right. Read our other reviews. We really do care, and we absolutely value the time you choose to spend with us.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Amazing property, amazing hospitality, amazing room and amazing food. This chic and sophisticated Inn raises the bar for wine country hotels. A romantic retreat minutes from fabulous wineries and close to the coast. Well worth going out of your way to stay here!

Room Tip: The barn rooms are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very beautiful, relaxing rooms, you'll never want to leave. The soaking tub or the steam shower can't be beat after a long day of wine tasting. The only reason to leave the room is to go to the fabulous restaurant a few feet away! Great food and wine list, only to go back to the room and cozy up with a book in front of the fireplace.

Room Tip: The barn rooms are to die for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in the same room within the barn every time we've visited Farmhouse Inn. We are in love with this place! The rooms are beautiful with heated tile floors, steam room, large tub and a double sided fireplace going between your room and a secluded patio. But what sets this place apart is the little details, house made soaps and body scrubs, music playing in your room upon arrival and REAL keys for the door.

While you're not within walking distance you are still close to a lot of wineries, a great paved bike trail and restaurants.

Room Tip: Be sure to book dinner reservations at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.