We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in quiet Sonoma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place in quiet Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very beautiful, relaxing rooms, you'll never want to leave. The soaking tub or the steam shower can't be beat after a long day of wine tasting. The only reason to leave the room is to go to the fabulous restaurant a few feet away! Great food and wine list, only to go back to the room and cozy up with a book in front of the fireplace.

Room Tip: The barn rooms are to die for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    67
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
416
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in the same room within the barn every time we've visited Farmhouse Inn. We are in love with this place! The rooms are beautiful with heated tile floors, steam room, large tub and a double sided fireplace going between your room and a secluded patio. But what sets this place apart is the little details, house made soaps and body scrubs, music playing in your room upon arrival and REAL keys for the door.

While you're not within walking distance you are still close to a lot of wineries, a great paved bike trail and restaurants.

Room Tip: Be sure to book dinner reservations at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husand and I stayed at the Farmhouse Inn in early August and had a great time. We found the location to be perfect for us. We were right between Napa and the Sonoma Coast so we were able to explore both areas which we loved. Staff was very helpful with ideas and special needs. We stayed in a regular room which I decided did not compare to the Barn rooms which are away from the street noise and quite fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed in many fine lodgings, in wine country and elsewhere. While quite nice, the experience did not nearly live up to its $800/night price tag. The room was pretty and well decorated, but the shower was very sub-par. No hot tub and the pool was average at best. Service was somewhat lacking. No room service, and at 9pm on a weeknight we could not obtain any food or room service. A lot of road noise. The gardens were pretty. The restaurant was excellent, however, and I would recommend it highly for dinner. Much better value and luxury can be obtained elsewhere in wine country for half the price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I'm so sorry this reviewer didn't love his stay with us. He is right about room service. We are a small property, only 18 rooms, and we just aren't equipped for room service. We do, however, offer a really nice selection of locally made cheeses, cured meats, crackers, house made hummus and spreads, nuts and several other items, depending on the day. They're available in Guest Services until they close at 9pm. I wish we could take care of every possible wish a guest may have. But with 6 concierges for just 18 rooms, we can usually come close. And, yes, there are less expensive places to stay in Wine Country. Not many with the services we offer. But read the rest of our reviews. I hope you'll choose us!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days at the end of the summer at the Farmhouse Inn, using their promo of Tues nite free on a 3-day mid-week reservation in July. We stayed in a first-floor barn room which was spacious, private and very romantic. It was quiet except for our noisy upstairs neighbors, but otherwise we were extremely pleased with the accommodations. The front desk was very friendly and helpful and we had a great dinner at their restaurant and delicious and welcoming breakfasts every morning. The bed was very comfortable, the fireplace welcome both inside and out, and the spa tub and bath accessories were fabulous.
Overall, the experience was exceptional and we're looking forward to returning soon. I am not sure the property is worthy of the going price (small pool, small property and many of the rooms are too close to the noisy road if you're not in the barn), but with the July special we had a fabulous time and will return in similar circumstances. It was very special to be out in the countryside and not in Healdsburg as we have been in the past. The proximity to the redwoods and the more remote and off-the-beaten-track location was great. The Farmhouse Inn is a unique and very special experience.

Room Tip: Perhaps an upstairs room in the barn would be quieter and sunnier, but all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This little out of the way hotel (more like a bungalow colony) and restaurant are a real surprise. The restaurant is one of the best in the area. Very good local food, elegant presentation. it costs and the service can be a bit snooty, but the restaurant is not technically formal. The cottages are small but well equipped, some with hot tubs. Very relaxing, as you're far away from everything except the vineyards across the river. Would gladly return. Romantic. Do be aware that both are expensive, so value is in the eye of the beholder!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

All the reviews below are correct - this place is excellent. I've stayed in a lot of 5-star hotels here in the US - but this is by far the best and most casually elegant place so far. If you want a luxury getaway without the pretense - this is it. I couldn't really think of any negatives except perhaps that I'm not a fan of Keurig coffees ... I like Nespresso better. But talk about a minor complaint! The setting is gorgeous, the rooms beyond comfortable, the steam shower & jetted spa tub divine - as was the indoor/outdoor fireplace in our room. The little touches of chocolate chip cookies and milk at night was great, the fresh sunflowers in our room. The amazing dinners with perfect wine pairings. WORTH IT!

Room Tip: all the barn rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.