We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to splurge in Sonoma? Go to the Farmhouse Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Forestville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Want to splurge in Sonoma? Go to the Farmhouse Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked three nights for our 5th anniversary and we had a great time. Our barn room was amazing with a very complete bathroom, the cookies every night were great too, breakfast is beautifully presented every morning. We enjoyed the hotel so much that we spent almost as much time there as in the vineyards! The price is high but the quality is very high too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    65
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
17
410
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I waited three years to make this trip to Wine Country; and it was certainly worth the wait. I had booked the Farmhouse in 2010 and was forced to cancel my trip, but it had always been on my list of places I must see. Therefore when I re-scheduled our anniversary trip here this spring they were more than willing to accommodate me with the same room and promotion I got in 2010. This was just the beginning of the quality customer service & exceptional stay we would have, it was worth every penny.
It's hard to sum it all up, you just have to go and experience it, to see how tucked away it is and peaceful. We stayed in BARN room 12, and it was perfect, from the bed down to the sheets. It was truly luxurious & meticulous, the fireplace even has a timer so when you put it on at night it goes off in three hours, you don't have to worry about getting up to turn it off. Oh and the steam shower is fantastic, it takes a bit of getting used to, if like me you've never used one before, but once you do you'll love it. I am still dreaming about the delicious cookies they leave by your bed side at night & all the ingredients to make smores by the fire pit.
The breakfast is spectacular, up until this trip I had no idea I could love scones, but eat the scone and trust me.
There are also the most precious cats that live on the property, Charlotte and Jasper, you will fall in love with them. Charlotte especially became our dear friend, which helped since we missed our 3 kitties at home.
We will be going back as soon as we can. This is just one of those places you have to put on your bucket list. Exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We are in Sonoma to begin a week long biking expedition. Having heard so many great things about the Farmhouse Inn, we decided to begin here with a few days of R&R. From the moment you are greeted with a glass of Rose, you feel like you don't ever want to leave. We were offered our choice of handmade soaps and sugar scrubs to take back to our room for a relaxing and sensuous bath.
The rooms are luxurious with 1000 thread count sheets and down-filled duvets. Bathrooms offer high-end amenities including organic shampoos and bath gels.
Our plan was to use the Farmhouse Inn as a base for wine tasting, but the grounds are so beautifully appointed, brimming with lavender and fresh herbs, we decided to spend most of the day on property, enjoying the pool and beautiful sun of Sonoma County.
You don't have to travel to France to enjoy the experience of Provence. It's right here in Northern California at The Farmhouse Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I picked the Farmhouse Inn for a surprise birthday weekend, based on its reviews here, a listing on Luxury Link, and the Michelin star. Turns out, its location is perfect for accessing the Russian River valley wineries, the redwoods in Armstrong Woods, and the ocean. Two friends recommended the Sonoma Mission Inn, but its reviews were less consistent, and its location would have cost us an additional hour to get to all the locales on my list.

The pros:
The reception staff set the mood. Casual but capable; low-key, not stuffy. Splash of wine? Sure. Bath salts to try in the big tub? Help yourself. Everyone was natural and helpful, no snootiness encountered. Special thanks to Concierge Mary Calla.

As everyone has already said, the Luxury Barn Room is wonderful, but it surprised me by being larger and fresher, as if we were the first people to use it. Kudos to the housekeeping staff. Plenty of in- room amenities: robes of course, plus a fun goodie box. The bottles of wines in the bar are fairly priced and convenient. The birthday cupcakes upon arrival were almost too pretty to eat.

Dinner at the restaurant was divine, and -- considering the quality, portions, and level of service -- extremely reasonable. Standout courses were the octopus, hamachi, guinea hen -- well, everything. Kevin, our sommelier, was like all the staff: attentive, approachable, and if he tired of hearing the same naive questions about wines, he never showed it.

A full breakfast each morning on the restaurant patio provided a relaxing start to the day. Gardens, though small by the standards of the big resorts, are charming and well documented. There you'll often find the 2 cats, who seem to know whom to ignore and who would appreciate their attention. We fell into the latter camp.

The cons: Really reaching… the coffee could have been stronger.

Honestly, I have no complaints. We were treated well in lovely surroundings, fed excellent food, and enjoyed the pool, spa, and countryside. I think the location is ideal -- on the western side of the valley for good access to the coast -- but if you want to leave the property, you'll have to drive. No walking into town for dinner or a drink, though you can walk into the vines across the road. We were in the car all day anyway, so once we returned to the Farmhouse, we didn't want to go anywhere else.

Unlike some of the reviewers, we're not 5-star travellers (to wit: I reviewed Motel 6) and we've never spent this much money on a hotel. The current "Free Tuesday" special certainly eased the pain, but considering how much we paid in San Francisco for a standard room plus parking plus breakfast, I think Farmhouse is not unreasonably priced.

Grinch alert: there were no kids during our stay, by luck or policy, I don't know. For us, children would have marred the sense of luxury and quiet. The property is simply too small.

Room Tip: Barn room #18 is wonderful, but not accessible (steps); for a ground room, take #13. I can see how t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was the highlight of a recent trip to California wine country. It was, without a doubt, one of the nicest inns we have stayed, both in the US and in Europe. It is relaxing and peaceful with wonderful accommodations. We stayed in one of the charming "cabins" complete with fireplace and sauna. The room was very tastefully appointed and the bed was most comfortable. It was very easy to unwind after a busy day sightseeing and wine tasting. Tamera and her staff of concierges handle every need graciously and can make the best recommendations on places to eat. They helped set up wine tastings and dining reservations, which made it easy to have a no-hassle trip. The gardens and grounds were at a Spring peak with beautiful flowers. It was nice to just sit outside and enjoy the solitude. Breakfasts were imaginative and provided just the right start for a day of busy activities. All the staff were very gracious and helpful. It was truly a stay to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

From the moment we arrived at The Farmhouse, and were greeted warmly with a glass of rose, to when we left 3 days later, we felt completely welcomed and pampered. No detail was overlooked, and the food was amazing. We upgraded to a Barn luxury room, and it was worth it. The decor, bedding, even the coffee table books were perfect. I was celebrating my 50th birthday, and there were two (delicious) cupcakes and a card waiting in our room. Dinner in the restaurant was wonderful, and the sommelier was very helpful. Every staff member was absolutely lovely (including Charlotte and Jasper, the farm cats). We didn't take advantage of the spa this trip, but definitley will next time. The Farmhouse Inn is the ideal place for a special getaway of any sort. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If your budget will stretch to it, splurge on a luxury barn suite. You'll never want to leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

As an Innkeeper at a similar small luxury Inn in the neighboring Napa Valley I was intrigued to stay at The Farmhouse Inn that so many of our (shared) customers recommended. The Farmhouse Inn, Poetry Inn and Post Ranch Inn seem to be a familiar circuit for many of our travel savvy guests. Tamera the Innkeeper was gracious in upgrading us to one of the luxurious Barn Suites, and we quickly reserved Spa Treatments and Dinner at their highly acclaimed Michelin Starred restaurant. NOTHING disappointed, and in fact I was tremendously impressed with all of the details and quality that goes into this gem of an Inn in laid back Sonoma County. From the gorgeously landscaped grounds, beautifully appointed rooms, and live organic egg laying hens I knew we were in the right place from the start. I was surprised by the lovely little pool which felt big for a property of its size and was only disappointed that the weather wasn't warm enough yet to enjoy it.
We had cut it close on arrival, arriving just before our Spa treatments but the Therapists set us right at ease and we both enjoyed some of the best massage experiences of our lives. I was pleased to hear that the Spa is open to the public as I will remember this on future forays to the Russian River. Dinner too was beyond expectations and the Sommelier paired wonderful choices with our amazing meal. All in all just a perfect finish to our little jaunt over to the other side of the hill, which ended with some great stops along Dry Creek Road to Quivira and Preston for a glimpse of their beautiful grounds. Thanks again to Tamera for the recommendations and for some inspiration to bring back to home & work.

Room Tip: The barn Suites are amazing and an upstairs room is probably advisable, but the downstairs noise was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.