We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to splurge in Sonoma? Go to the Farmhouse Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Want to splurge in Sonoma? Go to the Farmhouse Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked three nights for our 5th anniversary and we had a great time. Our barn room was amazing with a very complete bathroom, the cookies every night were great too, breakfast is beautifully presented every morning. We enjoyed the hotel so much that we spent almost as much time there as in the vineyards! The price is high but the quality is very high too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaleco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I waited three years to make this trip to Wine Country; and it was certainly worth the wait. I had booked the Farmhouse in 2010 and was forced to cancel my trip, but it had always been on my list of places I must see. Therefore when I re-scheduled our anniversary trip here this spring they were more than willing to accommodate me with the same room and promotion I got in 2010. This was just the beginning of the quality customer service & exceptional stay we would have, it was worth every penny.
It's hard to sum it all up, you just have to go and experience it, to see how tucked away it is and peaceful. We stayed in BARN room 12, and it was perfect, from the bed down to the sheets. It was truly luxurious & meticulous, the fireplace even has a timer so when you put it on at night it goes off in three hours, you don't have to worry about getting up to turn it off. Oh and the steam shower is fantastic, it takes a bit of getting used to, if like me you've never used one before, but once you do you'll love it. I am still dreaming about the delicious cookies they leave by your bed side at night & all the ingredients to make smores by the fire pit.
The breakfast is spectacular, up until this trip I had no idea I could love scones, but eat the scone and trust me.
There are also the most precious cats that live on the property, Charlotte and Jasper, you will fall in love with them. Charlotte especially became our dear friend, which helped since we missed our 3 kitties at home.
We will be going back as soon as we can. This is just one of those places you have to put on your bucket list. Exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We are in Sonoma to begin a week long biking expedition. Having heard so many great things about the Farmhouse Inn, we decided to begin here with a few days of R&R. From the moment you are greeted with a glass of Rose, you feel like you don't ever want to leave. We were offered our choice of handmade soaps and sugar scrubs to take back to our room for a relaxing and sensuous bath.
The rooms are luxurious with 1000 thread count sheets and down-filled duvets. Bathrooms offer high-end amenities including organic shampoos and bath gels.
Our plan was to use the Farmhouse Inn as a base for wine tasting, but the grounds are so beautifully appointed, brimming with lavender and fresh herbs, we decided to spend most of the day on property, enjoying the pool and beautiful sun of Sonoma County.
You don't have to travel to France to enjoy the experience of Provence. It's right here in Northern California at The Farmhouse Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrichcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I picked the Farmhouse Inn for a surprise birthday weekend, based on its reviews here, a listing on Luxury Link, and the Michelin star. Turns out, its location is perfect for accessing the Russian River valley wineries, the redwoods in Armstrong Woods, and the ocean. Two friends recommended the Sonoma Mission Inn, but its reviews were less consistent, and its location would have cost us an additional hour to get to all the locales on my list.

The pros:
The reception staff set the mood. Casual but capable; low-key, not stuffy. Splash of wine? Sure. Bath salts to try in the big tub? Help yourself. Everyone was natural and helpful, no snootiness encountered. Special thanks to Concierge Mary Calla.

As everyone has already said, the Luxury Barn Room is wonderful, but it surprised me by being larger and fresher, as if we were the first people to use it. Kudos to the housekeeping staff. Plenty of in- room amenities: robes of course, plus a fun goodie box. The bottles of wines in the bar are fairly priced and convenient. The birthday cupcakes upon arrival were almost too pretty to eat.

Dinner at the restaurant was divine, and -- considering the quality, portions, and level of service -- extremely reasonable. Standout courses were the octopus, hamachi, guinea hen -- well, everything. Kevin, our sommelier, was like all the staff: attentive, approachable, and if he tired of hearing the same naive questions about wines, he never showed it.

A full breakfast each morning on the restaurant patio provided a relaxing start to the day. Gardens, though small by the standards of the big resorts, are charming and well documented. There you'll often find the 2 cats, who seem to know whom to ignore and who would appreciate their attention. We fell into the latter camp.

The cons: Really reaching… the coffee could have been stronger.

Honestly, I have no complaints. We were treated well in lovely surroundings, fed excellent food, and enjoyed the pool, spa, and countryside. I think the location is ideal -- on the western side of the valley for good access to the coast -- but if you want to leave the property, you'll have to drive. No walking into town for dinner or a drink, though you can walk into the vines across the road. We were in the car all day anyway, so once we returned to the Farmhouse, we didn't want to go anywhere else.

Unlike some of the reviewers, we're not 5-star travellers (to wit: I reviewed Motel 6) and we've never spent this much money on a hotel. The current "Free Tuesday" special certainly eased the pain, but considering how much we paid in San Francisco for a standard room plus parking plus breakfast, I think Farmhouse is not unreasonably priced.

Grinch alert: there were no kids during our stay, by luck or policy, I don't know. For us, children would have marred the sense of luxury and quiet. The property is simply too small.

Room Tip: Barn room #18 is wonderful, but not accessible (steps); for a ground room, take #13. I can see how t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Two_and_TheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was the highlight of a recent trip to California wine country. It was, without a doubt, one of the nicest inns we have stayed, both in the US and in Europe. It is relaxing and peaceful with wonderful accommodations. We stayed in one of the charming "cabins" complete with fireplace and sauna. The room was very tastefully appointed and the bed was most comfortable. It was very easy to unwind after a busy day sightseeing and wine tasting. Tamera and her staff of concierges handle every need graciously and can make the best recommendations on places to eat. They helped set up wine tastings and dining reservations, which made it easy to have a no-hassle trip. The gardens and grounds were at a Spring peak with beautiful flowers. It was nice to just sit outside and enjoy the solitude. Breakfasts were imaginative and provided just the right start for a day of busy activities. All the staff were very gracious and helpful. It was truly a stay to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harri65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

From the moment we arrived at The Farmhouse, and were greeted warmly with a glass of rose, to when we left 3 days later, we felt completely welcomed and pampered. No detail was overlooked, and the food was amazing. We upgraded to a Barn luxury room, and it was worth it. The decor, bedding, even the coffee table books were perfect. I was celebrating my 50th birthday, and there were two (delicious) cupcakes and a card waiting in our room. Dinner in the restaurant was wonderful, and the sommelier was very helpful. Every staff member was absolutely lovely (including Charlotte and Jasper, the farm cats). We didn't take advantage of the spa this trip, but definitley will next time. The Farmhouse Inn is the ideal place for a special getaway of any sort. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If your budget will stretch to it, splurge on a luxury barn suite. You'll never want to leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cande D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant certainly doesn't skip a beat. Down to the finest details, the owners and staff have mastered the ability to provide an experience that truly defines luxury and comfort in both style and service. My (now) husband and I decided, based on positive online review, to utilize their elopement package. Throughout the planning process, their head coordinator, Meghan, was an absolute dream to work with! She was punctual, thorough, friendly, upbeat, and enthusiastic. Meghan was able to help plan our wedding from start to finish without any complications whatsoever! Everything that had been promised was fulfilled to the utmost. When we arrived, we were pleasantly greeted with a fabulous glass of rose and lovely smiles from the warm-spirited team in the office. The gardens are fantastical and the aura of the premises was undeniably enchanting. I can't even begin to describe the hospitality of our Barn Deluxe accommodations. We stayed in #18 and couldn't have been happier with our selection. It wasn't as much the perfection, privacy and comfort level of the lodging/bedding themselves, but what was truly amazing was the attention to fine detail in the complimentary "treats" and amenities included in our room. Indulging in homemade "whoopie pies," daily warm chocolate chip cookies, spiced almonds, incredible cheese plate (local cheeses), nightly "smore" packages for the fire pit, hand selected local wines, and homemade soaps/scrubs were just among a few. Also, if you're looking for one of the best dining experiences of your life, check out the Farmhouse Restaurant. Breakfast is included for any guests of the Inn, which was one of my favorite times of the day!! You can tell that everything is harvested from the property (they even have an adorable hen house situated right on their grounds). The breakfast serving staff could NOT have been more pleasant! In our elopement package, a spa service was also included and was beyond my expectations. The spa was gorgeous! In regard to our ceremony, we opted to relocate the service to a nearby winery, VML Wineries. Meghan was readily available and had everything prepared for us upon arrival. It couldn't have been more perfect. It brings tears to my eyes just thinking about what a joyous experience this trip was overall. My husband and I plan on returning every year for our anniversary, without a shadow of a doubt. Do yourself a favor and book at least a weekend trip. You cannot allow life to slip by without experiencing this incredible place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sondra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
6.7 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#1 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#6 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of twenty-five cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing