We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Inn local to all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Forestville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Inn local to all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent trip to Sonoma and were so glad we chose the Farmhouse Inn. The staff is gracious and helpful, and the food is amazing, especially the breakfast. The rooms were well equipped, comfortable, spotless, and lovely - we were lucky to have a barn room with an indoor/outdoor fireplace. The Inn is central to everything but still secluded enough to feel like you are in a tranquil oasis. The webiste video and photos are exactly what you experience,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    65
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
17
410
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at Farmhouse for the second time and feel confident i will be back! Barn rooms are beautiful (haven't stayed in the cottages so can't compare) and spacious. I LOVE the heated floors in the bathrooms. The showers are big, but water pressure is okay (not great like everything else here :)). The sumbody products smell great.
The breakfast is soooo good. Nutella crepes w/bananas were fantastic!
Each night they bring cookies (milk is in the frig) and if you want a smores kit. Great snack on the way home. I was happy to see the soaps & scrubs available in the office, but have to be honest, miss the nuts/trail mix. My only somewhat complaint.
I felt very lucky that Charlotte chose to stay with us for two nights -where else can you get a cat in your room (only if you invite her)? Awesome perk! Jasper is a nice cat - i assume he was spending the night elsewhere.
We visited many of the partner vineyards/wineries and they were great and comped our tasting fee. The concierges were helpful and friendly (as was everyone else we met with).
Farmhouse is GREAT! Can't wait to go back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although we are residents of Sonoma County, we wanted to splurge on an overnight stay and dinner at Farmhouse Inn during the off season. The Farmhouse is located for convenient access to Russian River and Dry Creek Valley wineries if you are visiting from outside the area. We began with the one hour couple's massage which was very thorough and enjoyable. Next we enjoyed a five course wine pairing meal in the dining room. All of the courses were exceptional and the service was attentive and friendly. We stayed in one of the heritage cottage rooms which was cozy and we enjoyed the in room sauna.

This was a splurge adventure for us as our bill for the getaway was right around $1,000. Would we do it again? While everything was first rate, including all our dealings with the staff, it could be that once is enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was my b.d. & the service & attention to detail every step of the way was very impressive. They had cupcakes with a hand written b.d. note waiting in our room, which was wine contry dreamy with a four poster bed, fluffy down comforter & totally cozy feel.they arranged reservations for dinners & massages, which had us melting by the time we done. We were given a list of complimentry wineries which were all very nice. Shopping near by in Healdsberg, beautiful country side & a totally woderful option for a wine country get away without the crowds of Napa! Truley an expierence with a great special vibe!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had our anniversary dinner here and it was totally worth the splurge. The dining room was small and quaint, we were seated near the fireplace. The place, although expensive, is very unpretentious and comfortable. Service is very attentive, our water glasses were never empty. You can choose 3 or 4 courses, we did 4 and the husband had wine pairing as well. Course after course was splendid. Perfectly sized to enjoy but not feel stuffed at the end of your meal. Every plate was gorgeous and delicious with a focus on good ingredients.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our first time at the farmhouse & we loved our stay in #13 Barnroom. The weather was a liitle cool at night, so the heated bathroom floors & gas fireplace were a warm welcome. The room was spacious, well appointed & met all our needs. We realy enjoyed our visit to the Lambert Bridge winery & when we mentioned the Farmhouse, our tasting was complimentary & we were royally treated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very nice getaway in the midst of Sonoma wine country for a 40th anniversary trip. The Farmhouse has an excellent restaurant (Michelin rated) and the breakfast meals set a great tone for the whole day. They also have reciprocity with a few wineries where the wine tasting is free (ended up buying anyways). A golf course is nearby and it's rated in the top-10 (for 9-hole courses) in the nation. Take a drive to Bodega Bay to see the coastline.

Room Tip: Cost a bit more but rooms away from the road are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.