We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splurgetastic Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Detroit
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Splurgetastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had our anniversary dinner here and it was totally worth the splurge. The dining room was small and quaint, we were seated near the fireplace. The place, although expensive, is very unpretentious and comfortable. Service is very attentive, our water glasses were never empty. You can choose 3 or 4 courses, we did 4 and the husband had wine pairing as well. Course after course was splendid. Perfectly sized to enjoy but not feel stuffed at the end of your meal. Every plate was gorgeous and delicious with a focus on good ingredients.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    68
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
418
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our first time at the farmhouse & we loved our stay in #13 Barnroom. The weather was a liitle cool at night, so the heated bathroom floors & gas fireplace were a warm welcome. The room was spacious, well appointed & met all our needs. We realy enjoyed our visit to the Lambert Bridge winery & when we mentioned the Farmhouse, our tasting was complimentary & we were royally treated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very nice getaway in the midst of Sonoma wine country for a 40th anniversary trip. The Farmhouse has an excellent restaurant (Michelin rated) and the breakfast meals set a great tone for the whole day. They also have reciprocity with a few wineries where the wine tasting is free (ended up buying anyways). A golf course is nearby and it's rated in the top-10 (for 9-hole courses) in the nation. Take a drive to Bodega Bay to see the coastline.

Room Tip: Cost a bit more but rooms away from the road are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Farmhouse Inn for my husband's birthday. We were in room 18 in the barn - it was heavenly! The room was gorgeous in its simplicity - white walls, wood floors, marble, great light fixtures, large windows looking out onto the green hillside. And huge - bigger than my first apartment (and in a much better neighborhood ;) backing up to a beautiful wooded canyon. The attention to detail was absolutely meticulous. From the fresh milk in the fridge for morning coffee to the pack of artisan S'mores makings to use at the fire pit, heated floors to plush robes and glasses of wine upon check in. The restaurant was delicious, we had a 3 course meal with wine pairings - the short ribs and rabbit dishes were superb and the wines were interesting and perfectly matched to the dishes. Love, love, love the Farmhouse. A little pricey, but definitely worth a splurge for a special occasion.

Room Tip: The barn rooms while more expensive seem to be a bit more secluded than the rooms at the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Farmhouse Inn 3 times now and just when we think it can't get any better it does. The hotel is one of our most favorite places to stay anywhere. The Russian River Valley is so much more relaxed and chill than Napa and home to the best Pinot's in the country. The Farmhouse Inn is so incredibly special from the moment you walk in. You are offered a glass of wine, to cut your own soap and bring your own scrub to your room. In your room relaxing music awaits you as does delicious homemade cupcakes. The past few times we have stayed in the Heritage Cottages and this time we stayed in a Barn room which was by far one of my favorite hotel rooms every. The rooms are enormous with indoor/outdoor fireplaces, sitting room, steam shower, whirlpool bath, large decks, and the best bed ever. My advice is to pony up for the barn rooms, they are amazing! Dinner of course is tops, as always at the Michelin star restaurant with homemade cookies and milk to follow in the room. Breakfast is for hotel guests only and is out of this world. We love the Farmhouse Inn so very much!

Room Tip: Choose a barn room, #17 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Inn is an old farmhouse, tastefully redone, with rooms in cottages, the barn and the house. Home to a one star Michelin restaurant, one gets to stay in luxury and eat excellent breakfasts and dinners. Two cats, Charlotte and Jasper, provide amusement on the property. Located right in the heart of Sonoma wine country (think Pinot Noir in particular), the Inn is just a few miles away from world class wineries such as William Selyem and Rochioli. We liked the cottages best--small but cozy with fireplaces and in room saunas--at half the price of the big resorts. The spa is excellent, although they lack an exercise room and a lounge/bar for just hanging around. The concierges are very friendly and can get you into other top restaurants and wineries for private tours.

Room Tip: cottage 8 is neat....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed a night in the barn recently. the quality of the room and furnishings was impeccable... and the hotel overall is cute, homely and welcoming. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Dinner at the restaurant is a must, and was a real highlight of our stay.

We upgraded ourselves from a standard room and were so glad we did... they are right next to the road and might be a bit noisy, where the barn rooms are about 2 x the size of the others and set well back. Only draw back is that it rained very heavily, so even though we had umbrellas we got thoroughly soaked walking to dinner and breakfast and our car. Not a big issue but a few covered spots, better drainage on driveway, and an awning over the restaurant doorway would help!

Room Tip: Stay in the Barn for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.