We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but details need attention at this price point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good, but details need attention at this price point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent three days to celebrate new years eve 2012 at the Farmhouse. It's a very nice inn, we stayed in room no. 9 in the main house, right above the restaurant, which was convenient after the new years eve dinner at their Michelin starred restaurant. The room was comfortable - beautiful linens, fireplace, warm bathroom floors, steam shower, and other details that were nice. The controls of the shower and bath are too complicated, though, and if you don't pay attention, you may end up showering in cold water. Not fun. They have a wonderful honey scrub that is a must try - smells divine! The restaurant is very expensive, but pretty much all Michelin starred restaurants in the wine country charge in that ballpark. Some of the dishes were excellent, especially the roasted crab leg ... yum! But overall, the dinner was a bit simplistic for a Michelin starred restaurant. Also, some of the touches like slapping 20% service charge on top of a $175 per person meal, or charging extra for tea at those prices are simply not classy. And we did not like the wine pairings with the dinner. We were expecting a selection of top range local wines, and instead got a bunch of Greek, German and Italian wines which were nothing to write home about. Unfortunately, we know wine, and this didn't really cut it.

The area - Russian River Valley, Alexander Valley, Chalk Hill - are just stunning. We did tastings at the Hartford Family and Chalk Hill. Oona, at Chalk Hill, really made the latter experience charming.

In terms of restaurants, Healdsburg has a hidden jewel called Scopa - a tiny Italian that apparently the owners of the Farmhouse visit often. We loved it. The Farmhouse recommended and booked it for us. It is a very difficult place to get reservations at. The concierge service at the Farmhouse is outstanding.

We also ate at Dry Creek Kitchen, which we were previously wowed by during a spontaneous lunch. However, this time, for dinner, it was less of a wow experience, although still very good.

Healdsburg is charming, and the closest town to visit while staying at the Farmhouse. Take the backroads while driving there ... lovely!

Finally, the spa at the Farmhouse is excellent. Gretchen, in particular, is a stellar masseur. Highly recommended.

The staff at the Farmhouse are really warm, and eager to please, highly professional, really charming. We enjoyed the attitude of the place very much.

One last suggestion: the place lacks a common living room to read and hang out, especially when it rains. A place at this level needs one. We asked about it, and were offered a room that was double the price. That's NOT what we asked for :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Great feedback! We've looked into a way to simplify the controls in the shower in room 9. It is a kind of complicated system. The whole bathroom is custom, with a soapstone soaking tub and the controls are a little intense. Our Bellmen are happy to walk guests through them in detail, but I agree, it could be simpler over all.
I also agree about the tea at dinner. Tea and coffee could be included with holiday meals. I've mentioned that to my Restaurant Manager.
And, sorry about the wine pairings not meeting expectation. We do tend to lean towards interesting wines from around the globe. We have so many winemakers and local food and wine enthusiasts who dine with us frequently, and we tend to bring in wines that are exciting to them and to us. When you live in wine country, drinking local is exciting, but diversity is important to us too. We can always pair strictly local wines. If you visit, and that's your preference, just ask! We're happy to keep it local for you!
Hope you'll come see us.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    70
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
423
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in this bed and breakfast having a lot of high expectations for $500 a night. We arrived and checked in. We were walked to our room by a nice bellman. The room itself is gorgeous. So spacious, clean- and they have some popcorn and chocolate that are complimentary for your stay. They do however charge for anything in the refrigerator.

We went back to the front desk because we did not have plans for our first night. The note left at our room stated the front desk had games and movies. Well the games (plural) consisted of one dice board game. There were DVD's for guest to borrow, but all of them were either unheard of or just bad movies.

This bed and breakfast is pretty far away from any town. There was no option for room service and the only option we had for food was ordering a pizza. We ordered one and they said they would deliver by 8pm. about an hour after ordering we received a call stating the pizza place would no longer deliver. However the bell man went and picked it up for us. I thought this was great customer service.

the next morning we went to our included breakfast. It was nice and tasty. But then they brought us a bill. The bill showed that our breakfast "normally" would cost $50.00, and then there was a space for a tip. Considering the only people who eat breakfast are people who are staying at the bed and breakfast, who have already paid $500 + for this stay, this was very disappointing. The whole purpose is to get you to leave a tip for the server. The server asks what you want to eat and brings it to you. You have get your own drinks and refills at the counter. I have been to quite a few B&B and never have had a bill brought to me after eating breakfast... are you kidding me? like you really are not making enough money from your guests?

If a guest wants to leave a tip, they will- for example when the bell man went out of his way to pick up our pizza, i left him a deserved tip. But to basically force that is ridiculous.

I dont want you to think this hotel is awful by any means. They have luxurious rooms, a extremely expensive ($250) but good onsite dinner, a bath bar with soaps to choose from, they deliver cookies at night.

But for the cost, how far away from everything it is, the fact there is nothing to do, no where to eat, and the sense that this place is more of a hotel then a bed and breakfast. (There is nothing bed and breakfast about it really).

This was our least favorite stay in napa valley for the holidays.

Room Tip: This is a place for if you want to be segregated from it all and dont mind spending a ton of money f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csb0214, Owner at Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I am so glad this guest enjoyed the stay with us. And, I'm sorry to hear that they were disappointed in some aspects of the visit. They are absolutely right about our being more of a hotel than a Bed and Breakfast. We are a country inn, but bear little resemblance to a B & B. We don't offer room service, i don't know of a B & B that does, so I'm surprised to hear that they expected room service and a B & B invironment...but we can offer snacks, a cheese plate and there are actually a number of good restaurants within a very short drive. And, I'm sorry they were confused about breakfast. The slip that we drop is for guests to sign and jot down their room number. It's primarily for record keeping. It is an easy place for a guest to leave a gratuity, if they are so inclined, and don't have cash, but a gratuity is in no way demanded.
And, as for games and movies, we do have a few games, Scrabble and the like, but they are rarely asked for and so we don't keep a large inventory of them. But our movie selection is really good! We do have a lot of Indie stuff (I guess it's what WE like), but we also have a bunch of current movies too.
So, anyway, come stay with us. We're a charming Inn with a great restaurant that's open most of the time, lovely breakfasts, pretty grounds and really nice people working here...
Hope to see you!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If there is a more perfect way to combine rustic and luxury I have yet to visit it.....We stayed in a barn suite. It was perfect. Large bathroom, indoor/outdoor fireplace, tall ceilings, lots of light and an awesome deck to relax on. Anna was extremely helpful in planning our trip which was centered around The Russian River Valley. Every morning was perfect as we had breakfast outside and read the newspaper. I can't imagine I would stay anywhere else when we go back. The only regret I have is that we didn't get to spend more time in the room. I could have hung out all day next to the fireplace reading a book and been content.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed in June/July 2012 (#11 Barn Deluxe) and enjoyed it, thanks to setting my expectations and choosing a quiet room based on other reviewers' comments. This property straddles between being an inn and a hotel, with some amenities from each category but it doesn't fit squarely in either one. Our room was beautiful and contained many thoughtful details - a box of snacks/candles/etc, fixings for s'mores, heated bathroom floors, cookies and milk in the evenings... Yet the property lacks basic services one may expect at this price point (room service, etc). There were some small "misses" in service upon our arrival, such as the front desk attendant asked if we wanted turndown and we answered yes, but turndown service never appeared... but generally the staff was friendly and helpful.

My preference is always to stay in an inn/B&B over a hotel, so this property was a good fit. But it's certainly not for everyone. The restaurant was excellent and we really enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing, as the pairings were novel and the sommelier knowledgeable and willing to spend time discussing each selection with us.

Would we return? I'm not sure... it was a pleasant experience that I would recommend to first timers who enjoy inns/B&Bs. I enjoyed the small touches described above, but they weren't important to my partner so we both thought the experience was nice but had different conclusions regarding whether the value proposition was worth repeat trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back barn building, where you're further from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

WE snuck away for a one night stay the weekend before Thanksgiving. We stayed upstairs in the Barn Luxury Suite. It was amazing. Beautiful decor, lovely view of the woods. An indoor/outdoor fireplace. We loved the heated tile bathroom floor and jetted spa in the room. With fantastic wineries only a stone's throw away plus scrumptious dinner on site what more could you ask for.....well a perfect breakfast in the restaurant before leaving, too! Don't miss this one. Did I mention the delightful self-serve bath bar & homemade cookies by our bed at night?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Arrived late, no one to help us with lugage, nice rooms, many nice little details, we enjoyed our stay here. Very nice breakfast, wonderfull diner.

We recommend this charming hotel!!!

Would stay here again

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We originally reserved a Heritage room and were pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary upgrade to a barn room when we arrived. After traveling for 15 hours to get to the inn, the first thing I did was jump into the giant jacuzzi tub in the room. The inn offers complimentary body scrubs, soaps and bath salts which we enjoyed immensely. My travel headache was gone and I was felt relaxed and at home instantly. Brandon brought the most delicious s'more chocolate chip cookies to the room, and tonight we are looking forward to dinner in their acclaimed restaurant and s'mores on our patio. I will be sad to leave tomorrow but I look forward to returning to this gorgeous, peaceful setting in the future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7871 River Road, Forestville, CA 95436
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of eighteen cottages, rooms and suites dot our 6 acre property. Recently renovated and re-decorated, each individual space offers a mix of historical whimsy, classic elegance and luxurious sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Forestville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.