We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food I have ever had in a total dive bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russian River Pub

Russian River Pub
11829 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9365
707-887-7932
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Forestville
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best food I have ever had in a total dive bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband wanted to eat here based solely on the number of cars in the parking lot each time we drove by. The inside is dark, people have written on the walls and the bar stools are so old and worn that they are taped together. There is an old pool table in constant use and a blaring TV. Not expecting much......
Then came the awesome pulled pork sandwich, loaded with tender pork and dripping with really great barbecue that they make themselves. Excellent..... it was served with a bowl size salad that had chunks of cheese and a wonderful balsalmic something... This great meal was less than 9.00... My husband's ribeye sandwich was double mansize and came with a big pile of fries. He downed the entire thing while singing it's praises.
We did not eat dinner after this lunch.... stuffed.....
If it had been warmer I would have chosen to eat on the patio.. better atmosphere and matching chairs... go if you are hungry- and ignore your surroundings... great food...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quality food in a casual, local bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were intentionally looking for a casual place to eat near where we were staying (Farmhouse Inn in Forestville, CA), especially because we had indulged in a gourmet meal at the Farmhouse restaurant the previous night.

After a quick google and finding out that this place was featured on "Diners, Drive-ins and Dives" Food Network tv show, we were sold.

My husband had a burger, which he thoroughly enjoyed. I don't eat meat, but was relived to find available options for me on the menu (especially for a bar known for its wings and burgers). The waitress was friendly and mostly attentive.

It is a rustic bar with a locals vibe that is easy to miss from River Road, but if you are looking for casual, quality bar food, it's worth a consideration.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“best chicken wings around--good draft beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

great service, the owner wants to promote family atmosphere. good food but not gourmet. You can eat there often with out going broke.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Don't let the looks fool you...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you are heading to the Korbel winery and looking for somewhere to eat lunch don't discount this little gem on the side of the road about 1/2 mile east of the winery.\
Whilst the exterior may not be too attractive and may give you the feeling that this is the local watering hole for red-necks and bikers, nothing could be further from the truth.
The food is simple but extremely tasty fare and the service is outstanding.
Portion sizes are large and the selection of beers is more than adequate for the enquiring palate.
Our group ate beef dip, spicy sausage sandwich and the chilli/cheese fries. All were wonderful and we enjoyed every mouthful.
For desert I tried the Bread and Butter pudding and confirm that this was as good as my mum made when I was growing up in England!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A little divey but a great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Although the Russian River pub is a bit divey, the food is good and the food and drinks are reasonably priced. We actually started and ended our trip here. Stopping the first night as we were just passing by (and having a great turkey sandwich special); and returning our last night because we were looking for someplace that was casual and reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russian River Pub also viewed

Forestville, Sonoma County
Forestville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Russian River Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russian River Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.