We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really needs some love and attention” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Save Saved
You added Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Batang Ai, Lubok Antu 95900, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lubok Antu
Banbury
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Really needs some love and attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The journey to this hotel was the best part of the whole experience - it's in the middle of nowhere and so you have to get a ferry across the reservoir. The hotel itself though is a bit of a let down when you get there. I don't know when it was built, but it looks like it hasn't had any love and attention since then at all. The rooms are really old fashioned and simply not up to Hilton standard. Worse still, the complex is designed like a native longhouse and so the corridor you use to reach your room is open to the elements. That means that you have to dodge endless piles of bat excrement to get to your room. The corridor itself is dimly lit and really gives the impression of walking into Alcatraz. I was at least pleased that we were in the nearest longhouse to reception as some of the blocks were absolutely miles away.

I guess I shouldn't have expected Internet access is such a remote place, and indeed the only access available was from a DIAL-UP (I kid you not) connected computer in reception.

The food was not bad but was very expensive - hardly surprising really when you're a captive audience there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor website.

We are certainly disappointed to learn that your experience in our jungle resort did not meet your expectations.

Whilst you have highlighted your experience, we will continue to work hard to ensure all our guests are made to feel welcome.

Once again, we thank you for your time and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    115
    84
    15
    15
See reviews for
50
147
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There is something exhilerating about having to jump on a boat to get to somewhere and although the hill was exhausting there was something novel about being able to uncover a resort in the middle of the jungle. The prices of food and drinks were inflated but it was understandable to pay more in such a loacation and the food was spot on.
The room was nice and had a great view from the ruai but for the rate I expected a flat-screen TV, higher quality linen and a flawless bathroom.
The jungle walk with the canopy bridge was very good and the guides were informative.
With just a little bit of tweaking the resort could be world-class.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatangAiKuching, General Manager at Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Warm greetings from Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton.

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us and we were delighted to learn that you had and enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Indeed the property is in the middle of the jungle, however we are trying our utmost best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and bring home lovely memories.

I have shared your kind comments with the team and we look very much forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Batang Ai for two nights in September. It was a very quiet period at the hotel and only a la carte menus were available. Hence, we did not experience poor buffets others speak of. We found much of the food to be very good and the satays were really delicious. The local dishes were the best on the menu. Breakfast would benefit from the addition of some good brown bread and banana bread or similar. We were not so keen on the sliced white bread and pastries.

Our accommodation was spacious and on two levels. It was very quiet and I slept wonderfully well.

The highlight was the jungle walk and swim at the waterfall. It was about a two hour walk through beautiful but steep jungle. Our guide and boat driver were great and pointed out various species of plants and trees. After our walk, the swim at the waterfall was sheer bliss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatangAiKuching, General Manager at Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Warm greetings from Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton.

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us and we were delighted to learn that you had and enjoyable and comfortable stay.

I have shared your kind comments with the team and we look very much forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is located on an island and the only way to get there is by boat. The complex is just heavenly – lots of plants, blooming flowers, it’s just amazing.
There is internet access and cell phones do work so you can still be working – if you really feel the need.
I enjoyed the food very much but you might be slightly disappointed if you don’t like fish so much.
The rooms were excellent – both the bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and filled with amenities.
There are geckoes wandering about the hotel – they are harmless but some people are squeamish.
I truly loved the place – it was quiet and relaxing and the night sky was just unforgettable.
I recommend trips to wildlife reserves, the orang-utans are so cute!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatangAiKuching, General Manager at Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Warm greetings from Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton.

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us and we were delighted to learn that you had and enjoyable and comfortable stay.

I have shared your kind comments with the team and we look very much forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at the Batang Ai Resort for two nights as part of a trip around Borneo for our honeymoon. The hotel itself was amazing, fantastic location, great views, staff were friendly, quiet, pool was great and our room was lovely. The hotel wasn't very busy, which added to the experience for us, but might be a lot nosier if full. The major downside to the hotel was the food. The breakfasts were ok, but nothing special - we got the feeling its normally a buffet but as it was quite quiet we could order off the menu, where we had the issue was the evening meal.

As its the only place on the Island you have to eat there. The first night my wife ordered a club sandwich, it advertised chicken, cucumber, tomato, lettuce etc, but when it arrived it was missing a few of the ingredients. When we asked why they weren't in the sandwich we were told they had run out of them. Its not a problem running out of food, but surely guests should be told this and not just get food with missing ingredients? We would have just ordered something else. The following night it was a buffet, neither of us really fancied it as it didnt look very appetising, but we had no choice, but once we finished the meal we then found out it was a buffet as again they were running out of food, but we could have ordered certain things off the menu if we had preferred.

Its a real shame with the lack of communication between the staff and guests as it just tarnished what was generally a lovely stay and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and we appreciate very much your comments.

We have looked into the food issue and corrective action have been taken. Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations.

The entire team at the Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borneo, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My family and I decided to escape back to nature over the National Day break. Surprisingly they were very low on occupancy. The rooms were well maintained, being in the middle of the forest, we felt they did a good job. Though some may find it a deterrent, we found the natural habitants of geckos, bats etc a refreshing change. I may not be saying the same if we encountered snakes and millipedes but fortunately we did not, even the 2 infants (below 5) enjoyed being with nature, shreiking at the sight of countless bugs flying around, butterflies, etc. We stayed two nights, the first night some of us did a la carte and some did buffet. the first night the food was way too salty, i did a water down of 1:1 for the soup, but the staff did try to change it for me but I said it was not neccessary. The next day the food was perfect.. this I felt was a good testimony of them listening to the guest and for this I applaud them. We did the canopy walk, even our 4 year old did it though he was a bit scared but he did thoroughly enjoy it. The staff were amazing, the boat ride was nice. Only one suggestion which I hope the management would consider, Please put bins by the jetty departing from Kuching. It was such an eyesore seeing bottles, tins, rubbish everywhere, mostly left by guests I believe as they were from hotel in Kuching. I believe with perhaps a bin there would be a more suitable place for people to discard their rubbish instead of just anywhere! A wonderful place to go back to nature, assuming you like nature. the view is great and I hope they can maintain the standards.

Room Tip: If travelling with infants, better to be in a block nearer to the main lobby area (we stayed at Bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting a very positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay. We have also taken note of your feedback with regards to refuse at the jetty area and we thank you for it. Immediate steps have been taken to clear these.

The entire team at Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton look forward to another opportunity soon to welcome you back.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The journey to Batang Ai is a long and bumpy bus ride into the heart of Sarawk, even allowing for lunch breaks and visits to markets and a pepper farm, followed by a short ride across the lake to the hotel. I was expecting a slightly dated establishment and was delighted to find extensive stylish public areas and what appeared to be recently updated bedrooms which were very comfortable. The food and service were excellent, well up to Hilton standards.
The next day we left the hotel dock in 4 passenger motorised canoes, quite tricky for the less nimble of us to get in but comfortable eough for the 45 minute journey to the longhouse. The longhouse was constructed in traditional style with only a "wriggly" tin roof as a concession to modern materials. After a greeting by the chief including the mandatory rice wine toast (not as rough as some drinks I've had!) the presents for the community which our tour guide had purchased on the previous days journey were distributed by dividing all the items equally between the families, fascinatig. There were then dances by the chief and his lady and were shown into the chief's family quarters, were they all lived and slept cheek by jowl. The comon area stretching the length of the building seved as an excellent playground for the pre-school children, where my wife, a retired teacher, was soon entertaining them making paper boats and planes. Lunch prepared in the chiefs kitchen by our local guide and driver was very good and served as a buffet in the communal area. On a practical note, the ladieswere most pleased that the toilets included a "European" loo!
A demonsration of blow pipe skills preceded our return boat journey, unfortunately the heavens opened and even our cheap plastic ponchos could not keep the rain out, but at least the rain was warm. Sadly,on our return the delightful looking hotel pool was closed because of the storm, but perhaps we were wet enough already!
We arrived at a weekend and the hotel was full of locals escaping the heat of the coast and the location, although on a man made lake is stunning and very tranquil. We also had the opportunity to briefly experience a lifestyle so completely different from our western ways which was one of the highlights of our visit to Borneo. Worth the long journey there and back from Kuching!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a longhose near the main building otherwise you may have a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatangAiKuching, General Manager at Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Warm greetings from Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton.

We thank you for your very positive comments about our resort on TripAdvisor.

The entire team, both Kuching and Batang Ai look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Also Known As:
Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed By Hilton Hotel Kuching
Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed By Hilton Hotel
Hilton International Kuching
Hilton Kuching
Kuching Hilton
Address: Batang Ai, Lubok Antu 95900, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Lubok Antu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lubok Antu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the world's most ancient rainforest on the island of Borneo, the Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton is a self-contained haven on the 20 hectares shore of the Batang Ai Lake peninsula.275 km from Kuching city, the resort is surrounded by tropical rainforest just waiting to be explored.It takes a 4-hour drive and a 20-minute boat ride to get to the resort. A daily shuttle service is available from Hilton Kuching. A fee is applicable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.