We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax & unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills to your Saves list
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   KM48, Persimpangan Bertingkat Lebuhraya Karak, Bukit Tinggi 28750, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
S'pore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax & unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Colmar Tropicale for 1 night. I wouldn't say that the architecture impressed me that much. Obviously you can't compare it to French building in France. But still a good place to take pictures. Weather is not too hot or cold. No jacket is necessary. Room was big & spacious. Only downside is the electrical outlets are all at the bottom of the wall. So you have to put all your devices on the floor to charge if your wires are short. To boil water in the kettle provided also have to be placed on the floor. No other complaints about room. Safe is not provided but there's one at the lobby. Staff were friendly & courteous. Newspaper avail at lobby daily. Breakfast was more to Asian style. Outside are lined with a couple of restaurants/cafes & a bar. Food is expensive so we ate pizza which was rm39 . French bakery was lousy..normal bakery which I can find in my hometown. games arcade, billard room to provide enetertainment. Token were rm 2. Overall a gd place to unwind. Shuttle bus is avail to bring you to a few attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    72
    114
    66
    61
See reviews for
126
110
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Karaikudi, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Right after making the booking, we read some of the reviews on tripadvisor. Most were worrying and we still decided to give it a shot. Glad that we did. It was a quiet weekend and there were not that many visitors. The room was reasonably clean and the surroundings very well maintained. Unlike some of the negative reviews, the staff on duty during our visit were quite friendly and did go out of their way to make our stay pleasent. What I'd agree with most of the reviews is, the cost of food in their restaurants. If one is looking for a reasonably priced meal, I'd say it would not be possible. We paid RM90+ for roast chicken meals and bottled water for 3 of us. Pricing was almost similar to that of Kenny Rogers in the City. The breakfast was a reasonably good spread - didn't have much to complain.. The views were amazing. A visit to the Japanese Village and Botanical Gardens was what I'd say therapeutic. What surprised me was, they charge RM15 for an additional bath towel. In short to me, if one is looking for a quick getaway from the city without the crowd, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The environment and the view is really good but once we checked into the hotel, the rooms are not up to expectation. Heater is not working properly, bathroom toilet cant flush properly. We booked the 3 bedroom suite. Even though its spacious, there were many disappointments.The service is really bad. Staff people were really rude. Only the reception was polite and friendly. As for the restaurants, food is really expensive! Not worth it since the food is not good. Ate at La Bisson (french restaurant) for dinner, ordered lamb and chicken. Lamb was not really cooked even when i asked it to be well done! Small portion for a high price. The breakfast buffet was good. Only meal I enjoyed there is the breakfast. As for the activities and places to go, the Japanese village is a nice place and there are many outdoor activities to enjoy. This place is just nice for a night or 2 at most.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
636 helpful votes 636 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place.

If you don't want to do much, then it is a good place to spend a few days; Because, unless you are hear for the nearby (impressive-looking) golf course, there isn't actually much to do here, apart from snap a few photos..!... However, if you did actually want to spend a few days here, then the facilities - especially the Restaurant food, aren't up to much!

The studio room was OK. The main plus point is the big comfortable bed and the fantastic golf-course/mountain view from the balcony. However, the room wasn't well cleaned or maintained. Hoards of small insects appeared whenever you put down drink or food.

A kitchen area is provided, but signs warn that you are not actually allowed to cook in it! A large refrigerator is provided. The bathroom is large, but the water pressure in the shower is terrible.There's a lounge area with an ancient small CRT TV, and a flat-screen TV in the bedroom with a handful of channels.

The restaurants in the resort itself are below-standard and over-priced: Pasta served in a watered-down jar of supermarket sauce. A Hotdog made from a chicken sausage so white that it clearly had no meat content. Talking of overpriced, it is a shocking 6 RM for a can of soft drink! Breakfast was also terrible for the price paid.

As for other facilities, there is a swimming pool here, but the place is open to the public and the Muslim women go into the water fully-dressed in their black sheets. Not hygienic at all!
I couldn't see any point in the 'Japanese tea house', unless the construction company was just trying to show that they could also build a fake Japanese building in the jungle as well as a fake French castle!

On check-in, they reserved 450RM on my credit card, even though my room rate was only 360RM. They then tried to charge me the 450RM on check-out until I showed my email reservation. I have yet to see the effect on my Credit Card statement. Beware.

By far my biggest complaint about this place is about the shuttle service running from/to Berjaya Times Square,KL:

On the outward journey, the young Chinese driver drove so fast that he obviously thought he was in the Malaysian Grand Prix. I can accept fast if the driving is safe, but the guy barely held on to the steering wheel for most of the journey, preferring to chat on his hand-phone or eat ice cream. He took the corners on the mountain road at such speed that we were physically thrown around inside the van.

On the return journey, we met the shuttle bus on time outside the hotel. 30 mins later we had already reached the bottom of the mountain road and joined the highway, when he took a phone call and advised us that he had to go back and pick up more people, so he turned back, irrespective of the fact that we were paying guests and he was making us late.

It turns out that he had returned to collect a bunch of noisy female Filipino hotel workers who just would not stop talking and laughing loudly in their language all the way to KL (where we arrived one hour late!).....To let them into the van, some Indian guy in a horrible bright blue shirt flung open the van door and literally threw my bag at me, grunting 'your bag'. If this was a hotel employee, then he certainly shouldn't be! What an absolute disgraceful way to treat guests!

Loved the view, but confused by the place. It isn't really a getaway resort because it is open to everyone. It isn't a theme park because there is nothing to do. It isn't a full-service hotel because the F&B is dreadful. Just a construction project and a photo opportunity really.

Room Tip: Mountain view very scenic and peaceful. Facing the 'village square' on a busy weekend would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place is very nice, the resort location is wonderful, the problem is the hotel running down and no maintenance, I was there 3 years ago and it was great , but last week I stayed there one night but I was unsatisfied with the services, the room too old with very bad furniture, air-condition is noisy, the restaurant there also bad, however, the prices of the rooms are too expensive as compared with the facilities or the room itself.. I do not recommend anyone to stay there.. maybe a day trip is fine..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my 3 kids for one night and I think that was enough. Hotel is a beauty to look at, but not much to write about services and food prices at bakery and other food outlets. Breakfast was good. I loved the Japanese village but not the other visits as such.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Long drive up windy road. Very quaint French-village style resort. Fabulous buildings. But activities offered were disappointing. Everything had an entrance fee (even for just stepping into location grounds to bring your kid in for activity) and an activity fee. Japanese village was particularly a let-down; it differed greatly from marketing picture shown. Flying fox was fun, while Canopy Walk was short. Better to just stay in room or relax in Village to soak in French atmosphere. Live performance in Village by Chinese troupe was good - martial arts, famous Beijing face-changing, etc. Buffet breakfast was bad. Spread was poor, n pastries were full of ants.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills

Address: KM48, Persimpangan Bertingkat Lebuhraya Karak, Bukit Tinggi 28750, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bukit Tinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colmar Tropicale was modeled after 16th century Colmar town, north east of Alsace, France, also incorporatingarchitectural designs and elements from ancient surrounding villages of Riquewihr, Turckheim and Kaysersberg. The realization of this French themed village derived from the wish list of the Malaysia's fourth Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who upon his visit to the region of Alsace were so impressed, that it inspired Tan Sri Vincent Tan, the founder of Berjaya Corporation Berhad to replicate the actual Colmar town in Malaysia.The resort comprised of 235 rooms and suites, offers 8 food & beverage outlets / lounges with food variety ranging from local & international cuisine to an authentic French fine dining restaurant. It also offers meeting rooms and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills - Malaysia Hotel Bentung
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills Malaysia/Bukit Tinggi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.