We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation with Scenic View and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills to your Saves list
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   KM48, Persimpangan Bertingkat Lebuhraya Karak, Bukit Tinggi 28750, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Vacation with Scenic View and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Pros: Short distance from KL ; Great for quick break/ short vacation ; Romantic scenery ; Free shuttle transfer to gardens and parks ; Cool fresh breeze at night ; Cozy clean rooms ; All rooms come with bathtub
Cons: Pricey restaurants and convenient store

Hubby and I went to Colmar Tropicale for a quick break during our off days. This is a good escape not too far from KL, 2 days 1 night at this quiet hotel was just enough for us to rejuvenate ourselves from busy city life.

We purchased this deal a month ago with Agoda.com, it was RM197 per night (RM 228 included tax) for superior room, included buffet breakfast for two. We took the shuttle transfer from Berjaya Times Square hotel (RM110 for 2 person return trip). The shuttle was air-conditioned van with capacity of 9 guests. The ride was relaxing, it took about 45 minutes to reach Colmar Tropicale.

We tried our luck for early check-in and I was impressed with the excellent service from the reception, we were allowed to check-in at 10.50am!! It was Thursday probably they don't have many guests, but, they did earn a thumb up for this. The room was spacious, very clean, nicely decorated with French theme furniture, soft bed, and big window. Hubby and I love the antique deco in the bathroom, it made us wanna spend more time in the tub! Here’s the tip: bring a bottle of baby bath if you are coming for honey moon or romantic retreat, I bet you will enjoy the relaxing bubble bath together with your loved one!!

We encountered a little problem in the room, there was no hot water for the tub (it was warm, but not hot). Called the reception and maintenance guy came after 5 mins. They checked our bathroom and went to upper floor for inspection. Then reception called again informed us that it will take some while to fix, they also offered option to change to another room, and we took it.

Without knowing, the reception upgraded us to a bigger room! Which is almost double the size of our previous room, it came with a cozy wardrobe area. What a big surprise! We really appreciated it. Our first room had village square view and new room with mountainside view, both were great views but I personally preferred mountainside view which gave me more privacy.

No doubt this hotel is one of the most scenic hotels in our country. There is a Japanese Garden not too far from the hotel, about 5 mins drive (free shuttle transfer every hour). We had a good walk up hill to reach the Tea House, and took nearly 100 photos along the way with breathtaking scenery the garden had offered.

Now, about the food. Unlike some of the reviews here as well as in tripadvisor.com, we found the food was tasty. I agree with other reviews that the menu are pricey, however, we were lucky to get buy-one-free-one discount at La Boulangerie bakery, their freshly made chicken ham croissants were delicious. We had our dinner at La Cigogne restaurant, hubby ordered rib eye steak and I had lamb shrank; both were juicy and tasty, served with mashed potatoes and salad. However the portions were petty, just enough for me but hubby need a cup noodle to be fully satisfied. The buffet breakfast at La Blason was great, we went at 7am to avoid the crowd, got ourselves nice place to sit with terrace view. The food selection was wide, with local food (nasi lemak, ayam masak merah, mee goreng etc), western food (hash brown, sausage etc), breads, cereals, porridge... They also served half boiled eggs and scrambled eggs at the eggs counter. We went to La Flamme for lunch after checked out, had a vege pizza served on round wood, looks great and taste great too.

Hubby and I really enjoyed this vacation, definitely we will be back again!!

Room Tip: Tips: 1. Bring your own snacks, extra coffee/tea bags, alcohol, drinks, mineral water, cup noodles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    80
    126
    73
    66
See reviews for
135
120
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had always wanted to visit Berjaya Hills after looking at photos of the place. The French-themed village hotel was enticing. However, transportation from Singapore takes a while if you do not drive up. We took a coach to KL Times Sqaure after which we took a cab up the hill. The journey from Singapore to KL took about 5 hours and the journey up the hill from KL took another hour or so.

Once we arrived at our destination, I was literally blown away by the beauty of the place. It is probably the only place in Malaysia I would look forward to revisit. You do not feel as though you are in Malaysia at all once you are up on the hill itself. It was a totally refreshing experience.

The room we booked through the hotel website was a suite so it probably had the best view as it was located on the second floor right in front of the hotel above the lobby so we could look at the driveway and at the pretty swans in the pond below. Balcony was huge and decor did not disappoint at all. I must say the room exceeded my expectations. The living room and dining room were spacious.

There were many activities to do there. I loved the horse riding and would return again just for that. Besides that, there are many things to do at the sports complex including bowling, pool, archery etc. The sports complex was totally empty when we were there. It felt as if we had booked the whole place to ourselves. As for the golf clubhouse, it was also empty when we went on 9 August which was Singapore's national day. From what I found out, not many Singaporeans know about the place and it is a less popular destination for holidays probably because it is a little inaccessible since you have to spend half a day travelling just to get there if you do not drive. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the privacy a lot.

On the last day we went to the spa. We were quite lucky to get a slot as the spa is usually quite fully booked. Massage was good and it was in one of the hotel rooms which they converted into a massage room.

Overall, the cool weather made it a very enjoyable visit and I would love to return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Berjaya Hills need to address the following:
- Shuttle Service need signage. Each Bus/Safari should have clear signs on destinations heading and coming from. Tourist do not need to ask the drivers, all the time if the shuttle is the right one or not...

- Up keep of the Japanese Tea Garden. This is my 2nd visit in 2 years time. Sad to report, the garden, the village need a refresh soon. The buildings are not RUSTIC...they are slowing crumbling after much wear and tear...

Room Tip: Get the hill view for excellent views of the rain forest. Get the street view and you'll get a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

During the Merdeka (our National Day) weekend, We went to Berjaya Hills Resort (formally known as Bukit Tinggi Resort) for a day trip. There are two main resort – Colmar Tropicale and The Chateau. And tourist attraction includes the Japanese Garden and Botanical Garden.

We started of the day from KL by driving to Kampung Bukit Tinggi (Bukit Tinggi Village) for lunch. From the KL direction, you will see the signboard indicating this place before the sign indicating Berjaya Hills Resort. There are plenty of Chinese restaurants in this village and the main dish that visitors should try is the river fishes. They are many varieties of river fish but the price can be quite exorbitant. It costs us over RM100 for one kilogramme of live river Patin fish. The popular vegetable dish at this place will be the locally grown watercress.

After a sumptuous meal, we drove for another 15 minutes to reach the Berjaya Hills Resort. There will be a ticketing counter where we need to pay RM12 per adult and RM8 per children above 4 years old. The ticket entitled the holder for entrance to Japanese Garden, Botanical Garden and Colmar Tropicale (the French themed Village). We went to the Japanese Garden first because the closing time was stated as 6pm. We parked our car and walk uphill to reach a T-junction with a signboard indicating turn left to Botanical Garden and turn right for Japanese Garden. There is also a souvenir shop there where their ice cream sales is doing good business. It was a pleasure strolling in the Japanese Garden with some occasional steps or small staircase. Some area can be quite steep; hence, do be careful and senior citizens and children are advised to hold the stair railing. There are many plants with variety of flowers to view along the way. There are also some Tatami for spa and rental of Japanese costume for photograph sessions. There is also a Japanese Restaurant which is located at the border of the Botanical Garden.

We proceeded to the Botanical Garden and was amazed with the variety of trees, plants and flowers there. Do bring or apply insect repellant as mosquito can be quite a nuisance in this area. There is a big viewing deck where you can take a break to relax the tired legs or just stare at the surrounding greenery. The walk in the Botanical Garden leads us back to the Japanese Restaurant.

The breeze is cool but with the walk uphill and downhill in the two gardens, we do sweat. And there is no need to wear a jacket as the weather is not even as cool as the air from an air-conditioning system.

We walked downhill to collect our car. And proceeded to Colmar Tropicale. Upon reaching Colmar Tropicale, there were hives of activities there. We saw the clown performance. There are many shops selling souvenirs, food, beverages and snacks. There is also a small area to play games and win some soft toys. Actually the French Village is a street in the resort where some of the ‘shops’ are the resort check-in counter and the resort’s facility. The day visitor can visit this place, join in the activities on the street or take a walk at the nearby pond where there is two pairs of black and white goose. When we were there, there was a group of school children participating in some kind of games which requires them to run around on the street. It is quite a nuisance as they may accidently knock down the other visitors – especially senior citizens and children.

After exiting from Colmar Tropicale, we decided to check out the new place called The Chateau. It is located just adjacent to Colmar Tropicale. Unfortunately, the security guard at the entrance informed us that the resort is strictly for adult only. Since we have two young kids in the car, we were not allowed entry. I found out later that this resort is a Spa and Organic Wellness Resort; no wonder it is strictly for adult only.

This place is good for a one-time day trip and a subsequent visit will be boring for the kids as there isn’t much to do there. The activities are similar and readily available in any shopping center in the city and the nearby Genting Highlands can offer even better entertainment to occupy the children.

For adults who are looking for some peace of mind, maybe this is a place to take a short break and rejuvenate for the weekend. It makes a good place for anyone who wanted to use the French-like building or the Japanese-like garden and the nature greenery as backdrop for photography sessions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Relaxing environment with gorgeous scenery. I would recommend to those people who have had a rough week at the office or home. The journey is a bit scary with lot of dangerous turns. So be careful and drive safe. Better if you drive during daytime. clearer view.

The weather is a bit chill i must say. Hotel is nice and romantic (for couples). Nice views at night with the colourful light.

Besides Japanese village, there are not so many activities provided for the tourists.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor, Johor, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

First, we were attracted by the building there and it is really good for taking pictures. Well the weather was not that cold as compared to Genting Highland but is windy. As for the room, we booked two standard rooms with two single beds inside. I was lucky and I getting the room which is facing the main area. Well, we were quite satisfied with the view although we think is not value for money.

I think the hotel has operated for quite a numbers of years and hence the facilities in the room looks abit old and a bit run down. Rooms really need some improvement and maintenance. At first we notice that the basin was stuck and we made a call to inform maintenance. However, after we come back after 2 hours, the problem was not fixed yet. We are rushing of time and we decided to bath first only inform them again. Eventually, we found out that bathtub also not working properly. We immediately called them and show our unhappiness. About 10 minutes later, the maintenance only came to fix the problem.

We will not coming back to this hotel anymore. The room is totally overpriced and is not value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bukit Tinggi hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My family of 4 wanted to get away during the Hari Raya break and we were looking for somewhere nearby to avoid the traffic jams along the highways. We had not tried Colmar Tropicale (CT) before, so why not? I cast aside some of the negative remarks I’ve read about the place. Anyway, the pictures look interesting enough.

We wanted a 2-bedroom suite but it was sold out so we settled for a 1-bedroom suite instead (+ breakfast for 2). The journey up to the hills was a breeze, however there was a long line of cars at the entry point/ticketing booth. We had to pay entrance fees (Rm12 per person) although we had hotel bookings (but these were refunded upon check out).

When we reached the CT grounds, the place was chaotic, due to hundreds of day tourists who came by the busloads. Check-in at the reception was efficient and the friendly porter helped with our baggage to our room.

Our room was all white, with all-white furniture. The hall, dining area and kitchenette were very spacious. The room looked rather sparse though, with no paintings or pictures adorning the wall. The bedroom was pleasant with everything white. The bathroom and shower was nice and comfy, with a vanity area as well. Hot water was hot and strong We were happy to note two 46-inch flat screen TVs in the hall and the bedroom (despite reading about old TV sets in the earlier reviews). Of course, branding was everywhere-Berjaya-singer TV and Berjaya mineral water. Our room faced the Camelia block where the restaurants were and the street was a happening area.

A point to note was that the sofa sets were quite old and not been dusted, we felt itchy after sitting on them for some time.

Room service was good and efficient. Breakfast was dull with little variety. A small restaurant served local food like curry mee, assam laksa and prawn mee but they were rather bland and watery. We did not have a chance to try the pizza and the roasted chicken eateries as they were always crowded with the day tourists. The bakery had good tiramisu cakes. The French restaurant looked old and dingy but the food was very good.

Our main peeves were that there was no ATM in the area and we had to pay for Wi-Fi. Another bother was having to queue with the rest of the world for the shuttle bus to take us to the places of attraction. It would be good service to have a separate line/shuttle for hotel paying guests like us.

On the plus side, we enjoyed the ambience and the architecture and the black & white swans were lovely.

A 2nd trip? Maybe…after exhausting other worthwhile domestic choices, or another quick and near getaway for the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills

Address: KM48, Persimpangan Bertingkat Lebuhraya Karak, Bukit Tinggi 28750, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Bukit Tinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colmar Tropicale was modeled after 16th century Colmar town, north east of Alsace, France, also incorporatingarchitectural designs and elements from ancient surrounding villages of Riquewihr, Turckheim and Kaysersberg. The realization of this French themed village derived from the wish list of the Malaysia's fourth Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who upon his visit to the region of Alsace were so impressed, that it inspired Tan Sri Vincent Tan, the founder of Berjaya Corporation Berhad to replicate the actual Colmar town in Malaysia.The resort comprised of 235 rooms and suites, offers 8 food & beverage outlets / lounges with food variety ranging from local & international cuisine to an authentic French fine dining restaurant. It also offers meeting rooms and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills - Malaysia Hotel Bentung
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills Malaysia/Bukit Tinggi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.