We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed - make time for this retreat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arbel Guest House Shavit Family

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arbel Guest House Shavit Family to your Saves list
Arbel Guest House Shavit Family
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Arbel, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Arbel B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed - make time for this retreat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

This guest house is delightful and charming, however I would only recommend staying here if you are driving as it is in the middle of nowhere really. We weren't driving and we hitched lifts to and fro (this isn't difficult by the way, as most of the traffic going that way is going to Arbel or further, and the residents of this area are quite happy to oblige). The owner Sara was also willing to give us lifts in to town each day (Tiberias) when she was making her travels. We stayed for two nights and wish we had stayed longer.
As someone else mentions in their review - the Arbel is a collection of aparments as opposed to single rooms. Each containing fridge, jacuzzi in the bedroom, seperate bathroom, balcony, cable. Watermelon in the refridgerator and chocolates in the lounge area. After staying at hostels around Israel which were priced similarily, this is exactly what we needed. There is a lovely garden with loungers and hammocks and pool area, and Sara's husband - Isreal makes a fab breakfast and dinner (though could do with a few more veggie options).
This guesthouse was the best budget accomodation that I stayed in during my travels around Israel and Sara and Israel are homely and friendly - opening out their house to their guests. They have interesing tales to tell if you can spare some time.
I loved Arbel Guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    39
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
87
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

This guesthouse is just adorable. The appartments are nice, it's easy to find, there is a big parking area, and the garden is beautiful.
The owners Sara and Israel are so nice, and the food they serve in their restaurant is absolutely delicious! I honestly wished we could have stayed longer.
There is an amazing view outside the small town of Arbel over the lake of Tiberias.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

This b and b is simply lovely. Israel, the chef, makes a delicious breakfast, not included in the price of the room but well worth the extra $10.00. The location is about 5 minutes from Tiberias but in the very quiet countryside. The rooms are pretty and comfortable and have sitting roomsa nd kitchens. Sara and Israel are very knowledgeable and helpful and I recommend you eat at least one dinner there too because Israel is quite a good cook.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkswell, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

A peaceful and beautiful retreat overlooking the Cliffs of Arbel and surrounded by vines and orange trees. This guest house was definitely the highlight of our short trip to Israel. We stayed 2 nights but this was still not long enough to absorp the surrounding beauty and saviour the incredible dishes and warm hospitality of Israel & Sara. The location is perfect: only ten minutes to Tiberias by car. The views from Arbel Cliffs (5 minute drive) provides panaramic views of the Sea of Gallilee and is ideal to visit before exploring the surrounding areas. The room was great with living room, self catering facilities and jaccuzi bath in the bedroom with seperate toilet and shower room. Israel is a master chef with a passion for life to match his flavour filled dishes. From goulash soup to chicken liver with pomegranite salad for starters, to lamb or veal roasted to perfection for main course, halva mousse for dessert with lemon liqueur to end - every thing is home-made and locally sourced. All we can say is: WOW!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

The Arbel Guest House is a small, family-run bed and breakfast in a village outside the town of Tiberias. Israel and Sarah Shavit retired from sheep farming and opened it a few years back. It's made up of a set of small cottages set in a lovely garden. There is a small, new swimming pool and a central dining room set in the garden. The welcome of the hosts was warm and friendly. Our cottage had a lovely bedroom, sitting room, dining area and large bathroom, all of which was well maintained and attractively decorated. The aspect which lifted our stay from very good to outstanding was the excellent dinner. We had a generously portioned braised lamb casserole with root vegetables and pears which was very fresh and local, complemented by wines from the Golan. The breakfast (not included in the price) was also wonderful, featuring a very well made Israeli baked egg specialty called Shakshuka, fish salad, tomatoes and cucumbers, olives, goats' milk cheese, and light and crusty brown bread. Delicious! The only drawback to the place was that it was a bit of a splurge for us--a tad more than we typically pay, but well worth it. We wish we had planned better, and could have spent at least two nights.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

The Arbel Guest House is beautiful. The rooms are very cozy. It's a 10 minute drive from the center of Tiberius. They have a beautiful garden and the pathways are shaded by grape vines. They really know how to make desert Oases in Israel. There's also a pool. The hosts are friendly. We had a short visit, but I don't think I would want to experience the Galilee any other way. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

After getting some questioning about my solo status, I was welcomed into the guest house and felt very much at home. The room was comfortable though not plush as I had come to expect from a B&B and the breakfast was lovely with lots of dishes. As another reviewer wrote, it was helpful to have the hostess stop by the table in the morning to inquire about the trip and answer any tourist type questions or give some advice. I was a bit puzzled as to why it cost so much more for Shabbat eve since there were no extra amenities and I didn't see that there was necessarily a lot of people staying there. I had expected to have a meal or something. I did not take advantage of the whirlpool although it was nice to have a fridge to store cold water. The B&B is a bit out of the way but for the price, it is worth it. One significant problem is that my room was two flights up with the last flight being a winding staircase. Nevertheless, I got through it (this time). These people seemed so cordial and lovely that it would have made a wonderful long term stay if the breakfast menu could change a little from day to day. In general the lodging was well worth the money, which came to about $60 a night low season.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbel Guest House Shavit Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbel Guest House Shavit Family

Address: Arbel, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Arbel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arbel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbel Guest House Shavit Family 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caution: there are similar guest house names in our location. Our guest house name is "Arbel Guest House Shavit Family." A unique farm guest house which is an attraction that no tourist can afford to miss: the atmosphere, the rooms and above all - the gourmet restaurant. This is one of the best places to enjoy a peaceful rest, gaining your energies for the next day of touring and enjoying the most wonderful dinner you have ever experienced. People say that the shavit guest house is a small model of the Garden of Eden: the trees, the flowers, the greenery, the swimming pool, the view, the air and the atmosphere. Others can never forget the gastronomic experience. The outstanding meat dishes served for dinner, the food preparation by "Chef ISRAEL" in front of the diners, the exquisite breakfast, and finally the secret chocolate cellar. Chef ISRAEL makes his own chocolate in the unique wine cellar aside from the wine variety, the olive oil products and the local honey. Our guest house is close to many historical sites in the area: - Jewish, Christian, Moslem and Druze. Arbel is within easy reach of all major centers in central and northern Israel (Golan Heights-Baines, Acre, Nazareth, Tabor, Capernaum, Tabha, Haifa, Safed, Caesarea, Bait- She' an) only one hour from us. We have apartments each with private bathroom and fitted kitchenette. Tea and coffee are freely available.* Self-catering * Breakfast and dinner are also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Arbel Guest House Shavit Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbel Guest House Hotel Tiberias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbel Guest House Shavit Family, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.