We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only choice for Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Mission Viejo, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The only choice for Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

My dad and I decided to stay at Tenaya Lodge for our annual snowshoe and ski trip. Wow are we glad we did! The service was exceptional, the food outstanding and our room was immaculate with many upgrades. We're already planning our return trip. The best memories include the rib-eye steak from Sierra Restaurant, the complimentary breakfasts and swimming in the indoor heated pool. All of the employees we encountered were very courteous and helpful. They all seemed eager to go the extra mile in making our stay memorable. We stayed in the newly added Cottages, which are detached triplex cabins situated within a short walk of the resort. You won't find cleanliness and service like this at any other accommodations in Yosemite. The only things we found lacking were the dated pool decor at the resort and the Cottages, and the strange split layout of Jackalope Bar. Tenaya Lodge is conveniently located outside the southern entrance to the park - near Sugarpine Railroad, Mariposa Grove and not too far from Wawona, Glacier Point and Badger Pass Ski Resort.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    906
    420
    171
    94
See reviews for
871
928
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

My husband, myself and our two teenage daughters stayed here last summer. We stayed here because the hotels in the park were full and we wanted to be as close to the park as possible and still enjoy a little bit of luxury. BAD DECISION! It was one of the dirtiest, poorly run hotels I've ever stayed in (and we travel a LOT). Every single HVAC register in the place was filled with dirt and dust. The room we had, while large, appeared to have been last renovated sometime in the 1980s -- the beds were hard, the carpeting was threadbare and filthy, the lighting inadequate to the space. The bathroom was disgusting. Peeling wallpaper, moldy tiles...you get the picture. The restaurants were simply awful, from the service to the menus to the quality of the food prepared. The hotel was pretty busy while we were there -- so much so that we couldn't get seats at the pool when we returned from hiking in the Park. For the price we paid, we expected nicer amenities. The best thing I can say is that the new spa was OK. However, you have to question the business decision-making behind that: why have a really nice spa when the rest of your hotel is a dump? Furthermore, I completed an online review sent by the owners and expressed my disappointment with their property and expressed an interest in talking with them in person. Four months later, I received an email from them saying "sorry you had a bad experience." So much for customer service! I had to do it again, I'd stay at a hotel in Oakville -- there looked like there were a lot of them and you probably would pay a lot less. Plus, there are actually restaurants there that have better food than Tenaya.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

If all you need is a good bed and a hot shower, this is a very expensive way to get them, but if you like spending on a luxurious entrance, lobby, room and restaurant, this lodge mostly meets the expectations one would have for the price.

The reason why I gave it a grade of only 4 out of 5 is that the scrambled eggs were dried up at breakfast, which is below expectations for this expensive a hotel and a $14.95 price for the breakfast buffet. The $11.95 breakfast buffet (I had fresh fruit, nuts, and plain yogurt) was completely satisfying--expensive for the food, but if you don't mind paying for the decor, not bad at all. I've paid as much at urban Marriotts that were as big and clean, but not remotely as beautiful and tastefully decorated, if you like the grand-national-park-lodge style with lots of stone and wood.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Unfortunately, I was unable to stay at this hotel due to inclement weather. Our flight was cancelled and we could not get a flight out for two days and had to cancel our trip. When I phoned the lodge to cancel my stay, I was told that I would lose a deposit of over $150. This fee could not be waived. This does not seem like the appropriate way to do business and most major hotels allow you to cancel with 24-48 hours notice.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMoreno, Executive Assistant at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
We were sorry to read that you felt our cancellation policy was unfair. We realize there are exceptions to every rule. We are disappointed that the reservation agent did not consider your dilemma and circumstances. He or she should have brought your situation to the attention of a manager. I would be happy to follow up with you in regards to your forfeit. You may contact me by phone or email at 559-692-8922 or ymoreno@dncinc.com.

Yvonne Moreno
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

A very large hotel with fabulous Christmas decorations. The rooms are attractive. We had views of the trees which were covered with snow. Another foot fell on Christmas night to enhance the magical feel. The food was good in the restaurants

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I went to spend the 1st of this year at Tenaya Lodge with my husband and 2 very young children, 3yrs and 2 yrs old. Excellent location and beautiful lodge. Quite crowded on the 1st of the year. Not the peace and quite we had expected. We decided to go in early before check in time so we could play in the snow, before we check in to our room at 3pm. However we went and very politely asked the girls at the front desk if we could check in early. There was 3 of them at the desk. I know the names of two, Jessica and Mellany. They did not smile even once, never greeted us. First they said they will try for early check in, never followed up with us. Never said that it cannot be done. So naturally we kept going back to ask them about the status. Once it was, the blind in the room is being repaired; then it was, it will take 10 to 15 muntes more; next was, no repairs were being done afterall but the room has not been cleaned; once it was, check in is at 3:00pm definitely. So we finally decided to keep waiting and went back exactly at 3:00pm, then the girl said,"room not ready yet, check in STARTS at 3:00pm." When she had guaranteed we could definitely check in at their exact check in time. What she was trying to say is, check in starts at 3:00pm however we do not guarantee you could check in at 3:00pm. And then she is offering us another room with, "not a pretty view as the one you booked."
So all of this went on for over 3 hours, I doubt the girls made any attempts to expedite our room check in. I know it was a special favour we asked, which a lot of travelers ask who travel with young kids. If they did not want to do it they should have told us the first time that nothing can be done and check in has to be at 3, instead of giving us the run around. And then at their official check in time, they are still not able to provide the room we booked, and is offering us a room with a less pretty view.
We asked to talk to the manager then, Mindy Eichman, who was extremely defensive about her staff. And then gave us the feel, that we either take the room with the less pretty view or leave. Although very disapointed, we decided to take the room, because the weather was crazy outside and the kids were tired. We thought the room we were finally offered, was a less priced room. No refunds, ofcourse. Mindy Eichman denied that it was a less priced room. The room was tiny, with view of the parking area and one the hotel hallways. Had a motel like feel inside.
Overall customer service was dissapointing. We travel frequently in the US and overseas, and this was our worst experience with hotel staff courtsey. Like every other brown skinned Asian, we are always polite with people. This is the first time in the US we have been treated with disrespect.
I had taught my 3 yrs old how to say "Happy New Year" to people at the hotel. She was very excited about it. After we got home she was sad and said,"mommy I did not get to say happy new year." The reason being we were never greeted by anyone at the hotel. Poor job Tenaya Lodge! that a 3 yr old could also sense your poor courtsey. We will never go back there or recommend this to anyone we know.
Nabonita.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

To be fair we stayed at the Tenaya Lodge during a snowstorm over the holidays. That means a lot of the staff couldn't get in and all of the guests were stuck at the lodge looking for food etc. What that meant was hour to two hour waits for tables in the restaurant, and two hour waits for the valet to dig your car out. It is not the waits that were the problem, it was the lack of warning. You come down in the morning ready to go and then they inform you that your car will be available in two hours. A family with hungry kids comes to one of the three restaurants only to be told they will be sat in an hour and a half. The Hotel needs to let its guest know what to expect. That said the staff though over worked was phenomenal. It is a big place with lots going on and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.