We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option for Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Option for Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Stayed the day after Memorial Day for 3 nights in one of the cottages. Room was great, with easy access to the Lodge. Location was fantastic, but still took 1-2 hours to get to Yosemite Valley or Glacier Point on account of road construction. Food at the Lodge was very good. Considered staying at Wawona before deciding on Tenaya, and after seeing Wawona Hotel, I think we made the right decision. Only negative was having to pay for Internet access.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    970
    436
    172
    95
See reviews for
926
987
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We drove from the Donatello in San Francisco to Tenaya Lodge. What a great choice. We stayed in a cottage rather than the main hotel which was fine but we would rather have had one on the first floor as the Americans call it. Stairs are a magnet for a toddler.
The room was great though, two bedrooms with balcony and close to the indoor pool. The hotel was good if busy due to a conference being on.
We hired a babysitter via the hotel and the lady was a real star, and mum and dad got a night off. The food was good but not great no real complaints.
Yosemite is something else though, and Tenaya is very close to the Park entrance. UK venues could learn from this place. A reasonable entry fee and no rip off prices when you get in. A £1 for a great coffee anybody?
The views are stunning and we were lucky enough to see a bear! Overall a great hotel with good facilities close to a stunning national park what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlccf817
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I would consider this a "high" priced hotel at or over $250.00 per night but for our 30th wedding anniversary we did want something nice. The service was FANTASTIC. From the valet to the restaurant servers they were all just as friendly and helpful as they could be. The food was good but I think the restaurants are overpriced for what you get. I kept reading about the hotel being noisy and I have to admit we did experience a bit of that. However, the hotel is trying to take some measures by putting signs in the hallway to remind guests to be respectful and keep the noise level low. Wish I could have experienced the new spa but we were a couple of weeks early for that. Linens were nice but the bed was really hard and they need to update their TV's.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Elegant accommodations, but we were not aware that this hotel was at the complete opposite end of most Yosemite attractions. The room itself was wonderful, best jacuzzi we ever had!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Continuing on from our road trip from San Fran (4 nights Grand Hyatt), we were booked into Tenaya lodge for 2 nights.

Check-in was easy enough and there is also complimentary valet parking available. Our room was on the 2nd floor (1st in UK) in the west wing. The room was quite spacious, clean and tidy, although it is dark, even with the curtains fully open.

The bathroom is quite small and the shower is OK, but quite poor if next door use their shower at the same time (down to a dribble). There is also an annoying piece of metal, that looks like a beer bottle opener on the door frame next to the toilet. Why it is there, goodness only knows as opening a bottle of beer next to the WC is not in my list of things I must do.

Although the room is dark, this is quite good in the mornings as you are not woken by the brightness of the morning sunrise.

The facilities are good and the pool is a good touch for the kids after a day out exploring. The area is family orientated and it is a wonderful place to bring the kids and go and explore the National Park.

TIP - We opted to do the Yosemite tour from the lodge, which is a full day doing a tour around a few of the sights in the south of the park. If you are here for a limited time, I would highly recommend booking this with the concierge., who are very knowledgeable. The driver was excellent and we had enough time in each of the amazing areas to get a great taster of what yosemite has to offer. The tour caters for all abilities and was well worth the $$$'s

The food in the evening is OK, breakfast can get very busy upto 0800 in the morning, we opted for the buffet, but you can get freshly cooked if you have the time.

There is also WIFi available at $9-95 per 24 hrs, pricey but you are in the "sticks".

"Would I go back"? is always the benchmark and yes i would. Not just because I found the lodge a good place to stay but the area is outstandingly beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We spent 7 days at the Tenaya Lodge and it was great. I had booked it online so I only had the website pictures and online reviews to go by. After our 4 hour drive from San Francisco we were greeted very pleasantly. We asked for a quiet room (as noted with a previous review on TripAdvisor) and we mentioned it was our 25th anniversary. Jamie at the desk contacted her supervisor and we were upgraded to a Junior suite! Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. King size bed was great and choice of firmness of pillows (we both like soft pillows) was a nice touch. You could open the window and let the fresh mountain air in. Service was super. We ate at Jackalope's Bar and Grill and our server Byron and the manager Phil were both very accommodating and pleasant. Food selection was standard bar and grill fare but it was great. We tried just about everything on the menu and all was good. The deli had a nice selection of light breakfast items and free refills on the coffee and tea (a rarity for tea drinkers) and Kristi was very pleasant each morning. The outdoor pool was great although it did get filled with splashing children at the end of the day so if you wanted a quiet time in the pool or an adult swim the indoor pool was a better choice as it was usually empty. Location was great for getting into the park, a 10 minute drive to the south entrance (without construction delays).
The bottom line is that when we go back to Yosemite we will definitely stay at the Tenaya Lodge again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Everything was quite nice...but not quite as nice as they think. It's definitely a resort and quite family oriented. In fact, it has a bit of feel of Disneyland's Grand Californian (hmmm....).

When you dine with them (about the only option within 30 minutes drive), 3 restaurants are seated by one hostess manager. She writes your last name, how many in your party and any "special events" on a little slip of white paper that's then used to seat you by another host/ess for the particular restaurant (of 3) that you've requested and then given to your server (so everyone can butcher your name equally). The food was generally quite good, but the service was spotty. Really bad experience in one, mediocre/average twice, and excellent for a special occasion another time.

We stayed in the "cottages" adjacent to the main lodge. They were very nice, but not much more special than a lodge "suite"...plus, due to sharing the overall cottage with 2 other families and the cottages are quite close together, I felt like we were staying in a singles' apartment complex - family style!

Also, they DESPERATELY need to improve the "pathway" from the cottages to the lodge. Most of the "path" is the narrow, curved driveway to the main entrance. Several times we were nearly hit by guests, delivery vehicles, and even a couple of times by the staff's golf carts & bikes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.