We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay! Dogs welcome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2-Nights, Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, CA, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay! Dogs welcome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We decided to visit Yosemite and booked the Tenaya for 3 nights. Our dog Jenny came along also since we never yet brang her on vacation. We paid $75.00 for her.

We arrived on Friday, and wow what a site! The hotel was very beautiful, surrounded by the massive trees. The pools where great, well maintained (both indoor and out). (The outside pool had a bar, my requirement!) Restaurants where very good food, but a bit pricey. Anyhow great stay for the money.

So back to the dog, our room was booked on the south lawn and came with a dog bed, and accessories. It was very convienent for Jenny.

Last, we very much enjoyed the Pack Station horse rides (1hr $36.00 each) that took us down into the big creek valley floor. And also the hike that ended up at Tenaya Falls. Worth the effort.

Recommended,
Corey

  • Liked — Hiking Trails next to hotel
  • Disliked — Screen door in disrepair.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CoreyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

We stumbled on this hotel purely by chance as we had intended to stay in Yosemite but it happened to be the week before 4 July and it was really crowded in there. We drove out of the south gate and stumbled across the unlikely named hamlet of Fish Camp (population 200) which has 2 hotels. We called into the Tenaya Lodge and we just hit lucky as they were wanting to fill their last few rooms. They gave us the honeymoon suite for a walk in price that was still at the top end of our budget, but we had the most magnificent room. Huge bedroom with huge bed, you could lose your groom/bride in that. Bathroom nearly as big again with spa bath, wall to wall walk in shower, separate room in the bathroom with toilet. The hotel itself has 3 restaurants to suit all pockets, and outside terraces where you can take your drink and sit and listen to the silence. We just could not fault the whole place, it was just superb. It is probably very expensive but if you want to spoil yourselves, that is the place to stay. You may even get lucky with a walk in rate.

Helpful?
6 Thank capejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

The picture of the lobby is great, and it looks great in real life, but the great part ends there. We were locked out of our room twice. Imagine standing there waiting to get items from your cabin to leave for the day, being delayed a long time while the staff makes several attempts to get you in your own cabin, only to be told the entire lock needs replacement, and we were eventually told the cabin would not be locked while we were away (my computer, etc. inside). No compensation for our delay was offered. The breakfast food was okay, but dishes and silverware had a lot of standing water on them. Yanni-like music was played fairly loudly during breakfast (CDs or cassettes are on sale in the lobby). Everyone was looking around at each other wondering if the music was supposed to put us in some sort of nature-lover mood for a day at Yosemite, it was annoying. Lobby landscaping was appreciated, until it was realized that the very noisy gardening tractors start zipping by our windows at 6:30 AM. Cabins were in poor condition. From the look of the baseboards, no painting had been done in the last 20 years. Carpets were highly stained and bathrooms were old and dirty. Screen was missing from bathroom window. The location says 2 miles from Yosemite, but this is the south entrance. Please realize it is a 1 hour drive along a very curvey road to the Yosemite Valley, which is where most tourists want to go. I will not return and hope that you make a better choice than I did!

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Almost Everything
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRLFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro nc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

Spent one night at the apple tree in fish camp ca the first week of august. Everything from check in to check out was great. This inn is a small place with quaint cottages. We had a bottom level, which is actaully ground level, room with a great deck overlooking great scenery. It is located right next door to the tenaya lodge and there is a walking path to the tenaya from the apple tree. It is about a 7-10 min walk door to door. We walked over for dinner and i also went over for a latte inthe morning. The buffett breakfast was very pleasant with bagels and cereal, etc. The Inn is about a 40 min drive into the south entrance of yosemite park. Wished i'd had more time to enjoy this inn.

Helpful?
1 Thank luvmyyellowlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

My husband and I and our two daughters aged 18 and 16 stayed at the Tenaya for 4 nights on the 25th of July. First impressions were the rooms need to be re decorated. carpets were stained and worn. Back door into corridor was not locked ever. Pool is lovely but is very crowded with small children at times. I could not get over how many children were allowed to scream and jump into the pool, whilst their parents sat and watched. No thought for the adults trying to get some peace and quiet. Ok, it was high season...at times the pool was quiet and this was fantastic. Pool does not open till 9 am which is strange. Ate at the Jackelopes restaurant every night. Not great food, service bad at times. were given free drinks twice to make up for it. Expensive !! Ate at 8.30 pm to try and avoid families with small kids. Location of hotel is perfect tho, just outside the south entrance, but go into the park early, we went in at 9am and there was little or no traffic..great. My husband had stayed at the hotel 7 years ago and he reckons it has not been decorated since so it needs to be done. We paid $300 a night. If they upgraded the pool area, and made a separate pool for adults it would be even better. By the way there is a little grocery store in Fish camp just minutes away, but when I went to buy some stuff, the guy who served me was the grumpiest man I have ever come across. We still talk about his attitude. Never went back. his loss.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool area and restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont go in high season if you are looking for peace and quiet
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank scarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

Fantastic Hotel! The rooms were a reasonable size, but the beds were incrediable - such a good nights sleep.

At the southern entrance to the park, a bit of a drive to the valley floor, but great views along the way.

The pool was fantastic, and the facilities were top notch.

I read reviews saying the food was overpriced and not that good, we ate in the bar restaraunt and had the opposite experience, reasonably priced, and very good.

Lovely atmosphere, great location, would definatly stay again, probably for longer!

  • Liked — the Beds
  • Disliked — its a large hotel, I imagine it can get very busy
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fidgits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Ga.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

The Apple Tree Inn is a great choice for the money. The rooms are large and comfortable. You feel like you are in the woods. The hot tub was nice after a day of hiking. The ride to the valley takes about an hour which is not bad if you take the time and enjoy the beauty of your surroundings. Next door to the Apple Tree Inn is the Tenaya Lodge where good food and cold drinks abound! Hint take the short trail and leave your car. The Apple Tree Inn is great choice at a fair price.

  • Liked — Quietness and location
  • Tips/Secrets — Fish Camp General Store has everything you might need just down the road
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blind-Willie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Ahwahnee
The Ahwahnee
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,093 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing