We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tenaya Lodge AND Cottages - Best of Both Worlds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pleasant Hill, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tenaya Lodge AND Cottages - Best of Both Worlds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I was so happy to find that Tenaya Lodge has aquired the next door location of Cottages (formerly the Apple Tree Inn). We have stayed at both - a room at the Lodge, and at one of the upstairs units in the cottages next door. We have made this a must-do winter vacation spot for the last couple of years and look forward to it every year. Now that Tenaya has aquired the former Apple Tree Inn - we now can have the Best of both worlds. We can stay in a cottage but still be able to acces all that the Lodge has to offer - large indoor heated swimming pool w/jacuzzi, (and outdoor pool in the summer), a work out center/gym and spa, a nice, large, covered ice skating rink, snow-sledding hills and 3 dining options - deli, bar & grill, and the Sierra restaurant (although a little pricey - but you would have to travel a distance to go somewhere else). While the rooms at the Lodge are nice, we prefer the roomier, cozy cottage style rooms even though you have to walk a very short distance to access the Lodge. Some of the cottages are split into three seperate accomodations: two downstairs units and one larger upstairs unit that has a seperate bedroom. We opt for the larger, more quiet, upstairs unit and it costs us about the same as a large room at the lodge - but it offers a seperate bedroom, an electric fireplace, a balcony, and a microwave and sm.refrigerator. There are also other smaller, intimate cottages with just one room and I believe some with two rooms. I know the spring/summer time is more popular, and the Lodge has so many activities as well during those times, for us we prefer the quieter winter season and all that the Lodge has to offer. It does take about a one hour drive on a two lane road to Yosemite Valley, but we plan our trip and see Yosemite on the way to Tenaya Lodge and on our return from the Lodge, because there is so much to do at the Lodge, as well as a really nice, free sno-park about 2 miles away. It has become such a nice family tradition for us, and Yosemite in the snow is such an Awesome site.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    1,115
    497
    195
    102
See reviews for
1,101
1,183
36
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Tenaya was our favourite hotel out of the 5 or 6 we stayed in on our 2 week roadtrip. Great to arrive at Tenaya on a cold wet afternoon with the fire roaring in reception. All the staff were friendly and mostly knowledgeable locals, room was large and clean with good wireless internet access. Massage was great and reasonably priced and the spas were hot and just what was needed after a days hiking. We only ate in the Jackalope bar and grill , the beer was great and food and service was fine even on a busy Saturday night. We'd definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Upon looking to Trip Advisor for accomodations near yosemite, I see that Apple Tree Inn is still listed as place to stay. I just wanted to inform those who are looking to stay here that it has been acquired by Tenaya Lodge next door and is now called "the Cottages at Tenaya." I have stayed at both - a room at the Lodge, and at one of the upstairs units in the cottages next door. We have made this a must-do winter vacation spot for the last couple of years and look forward to it every year. We are so happy that Tenaya has aquired the former Apple Tree Inn because now we can have the best of both worlds. We can stay in a cottage but still be able to acces all that the next door 4 star lodge has to offer - large indoor heated swimming pool w/jacuzzi, (and outdoor pool in the summer), a work out center/gym and spa, a nice, large, covered ice skating rink, snow-sledding hills and 3 dining options - deli, bar & grill, and a nicer restaurant (although a little pricey - but you would have to travel a distance to go somewhere else). While the rooms at the Lodge are nice, we prefer the roomier cottage style rooms even though you need to walk a very short distance to access the Lodge. Some of the cottages are split into three seperate accomodations: two downstairs units and one larger upstairs unit that has a seperate bedroom. We opt for the larger, more quiet, upstairs unit and it costs us about the same as a large room at the lodge - but it offers a seperate bedroom, an electric fireplace, a balcony, and a microwave and sm.refrigerator. There are other smaller, intimate cottages with just one room and I believe some with two rooms. It does take about a one hour drive on a two lane road to Yosemite Valley, but we plan our trip and see Yosemite on the way to Tenaya Lodge and on our return from the Lodge, because there is so much to do at the Lodge, as well as a really nice, free sno-park about 2 miles away. It has become such a nice family tradition for us, and Yosemite in the snow is such an Awesome site.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Stayed at the Tenaya Lodge for Father's Day weekend. The property is pleasant enough with a nice pool, 3 restaurants, etc. but be aware that it is at least 45 minutes away from the valley floor of Yosemite!! This is 45 minutes on a winding road...both ways! All the things that visitors want to see are in the valley with the exception of Glacier Point. Nice place, but the driving was exhausting. We will stay on the valley floor the next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The rooms are nicely decorated. The hotel has a good feel, the reception is great with a real lodge feel. The breakfast was good. There is a laundry room with tumble dryers which was a great benefit. The location is good, just outside Yosemite. There are two pools a small heated outdoor and an indoor - both are good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We chose the Tenaya Lodge for Yosemite because all the Yosemite hotels were booked by the time we looked for lodging. We stayed in the Sugar Pine cabin, formerly the Apple Tree Inn B&B, and it is separate from the main lodge. Our room was very clean, but at $380+ per night for a 1 bedroom suite, it was extremely overpriced. There were three rooms in our cabin, two downstairs and one upstairs. We had the one upstairs. It was nice, but there was nothing special about it, other than the fireplace. It was very quiet and had a balcony. I would not recommend taking a Suburban type vehicle to the cabin, as the one way one lane loop to get to the cabin was extremely curvy and tight. The lodge had OK service, nothing special. There is only one deli/grocery store in Fish Camp, which practically forces you to eat at the lodge. The food is good, but again, extremely overpriced. If you want to eat at the main restaurant, the Sierra, it would do you good to make reservations, as the waits are LONG. I would only recommend this hotel if all the hotels in Yosemite Valley are booked, as it is a one hour drive on a two lane road to the valley.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

As a family we aren't real outdoor types - but we couldn't visit California without visiting Yosemite. we stayed at Tenaya Lodge in one of their Cottages. The place is fabulous. The staff are so welcoming. We arrived early April and whilst its was mid 70s as we drove along the California highway once we started our climb the temperature soon dropped 20 degrees and we could see snow on the side of the roads. Our first view as we pulled into reception was a huge display of snow shoes!!
The staff were really welcoming and the concierge in particular was so helpful in arranging our Yosemite tour.
The boys iceskated on the outdoor rink, we enjoyed meals and drink in the bar/restaurant and there is a fully stocked shop.
Our tour of Yosemite is the best tour we have ever gone on - our guide was fantastic with a wonderful personality and local knowledge and the tour company itself, Discover Yosemite, were briliant, with great luxury mini coaches, lovely packed lunches and constant refreshments. We had a day we will never forget and have so many great photos! Would thorougly recommend

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.