We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly & Couples Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Alamitos
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family friendly & Couples Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This beautiful Resort is perfectly nestled in the entry of Yosemite. Tenaya is about 45 min from the actual park, 10 minute away from Yosemite Sugar Pine Railroad, 5 min. from the horseback trails, and 1 hr. from Glacier point. Tenaya offers a concierge service that sells beautiful scenic pictures and book reservations for you. Everything from an indoor swimming pool that opens until 12pm (for late arrivals & late swimmers), gorgeous outdoor pool, beautiful spa & exercise room which the spa area amenities are free to use. The spa has free shampoo, lotion, mouthwash, and personal hygiene products complimentary. There are 6 various types of restaurant in which 4 are located in the main lobby area which serves 4 levels of eatery. There's a little coffee shop / snack store, buffet, mainstream restaurant with outside patio dinning, and an upper scale restaurant that is open for ages 12 and up. They also offer a family style bbq experience that is a 3 hour long experience from 6-9pm. Additionally, there is a restaurant that serves brick oven pizza that is off to the side of the resort.

There is an arcade, archery, and rock climbing activity available. On the plus side, if you forget your baby diaper for swimming or you have an un-expected flow, the resort offers free protection in their facility. The staff there is very friendly and the management team is extremely caring and helpful. We ate at their expensive restaurant and had a bad experience and reported it to the Manager, Camon Rodriquez and her response is excellent.

Overall, my family had an excellent experience. Just fyi, buy the snacks and pack yourself a picnic as you will need to refuel yourself when you are out hiking.

Enjoy

Room Tip: The elevator is really slow so try to be near the exit so you don't have to wait. The view to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, Janet. It’s so great to hear you and your family had such a wonderful experience with us, and it sounds like you had a chance to see lots of Yosemite sights and explore around the hotel and some of its neighbors, like the railroad. We’re sorry that you had a disappointing dining experience at Embers, but are glad that it was handled quickly and to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    1,183
    522
    204
    108
See reviews for
1,223
1,214
36
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. The property is nice and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

However, the rooms are average though and while you'd expect rustic décor, I couldn't tell the difference in the room décor from an average chain hotel. The lobby was kind of nice and appropriately appointed, but for the price paid, I would have expected nicer rooms. I suppose peak season the price at $400 a night including tax etc was to be expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Vincent, and are pleased to hear you received great service from our team. Thank you for your comments on our rooms. In an effort to continue our tradition of facilitating “roughing it without the rough part” for our guests, we are in the process of a full room remodel, which will be completed over the course of the year. We hope you will return to check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great pool area, lovely rooms, mostly very good service and well located to explore the southern end of Yosemite. The air conditioning could have been quieter and while it was cool enough at night to open a window the pool guys turn on some light music at 6am....easily sorted by the management but shouldn't happen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We felt very at home here from the moment we pulled up at Tenaya Lodge. The bed was so comfy and the staff so friendly and helpful. We loved it. The setting is beautiful and there was something for all our family - archery, pool and camp fire. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Positive points: food generally was very good, both breakfast and dinner. Car park and external area were fine. The waiting staff, in particular "Forest" and "Emily"" were excellent.

Pool area general was quite good, but a child did slip when I was there, as the ground was quite sloppy.

Negative points:

1. it is a wooden building, which may suit the environment, but we could hear our neighbours too much, in particular those above us, also in the corridors.

2. The Welcome. We ( believe it or not) stood at reception, at the front if the line, for a full 2 or 3 minutes before we were even acknowledged, but reception was actually staffed at the time. We were greeted by a less than friendly female member of staff, who I will not name, as I blame it on the training or staff selection.

3. The noise.......again...........as above, a wooden structure and a busy hotel, will lead to noisy places.

4. Other staff. We met some staff that were absolutely fantastic, but others were clearly not trained at all. I actually held the door open for a member of staff that was carrying ,luggage for another guest and he didn't even thank me for holding the door one for him. Thankfully, the hotel guests did thank me and actually apologised on his behalf.

5 MANAGEMENT. At all times throughout our stay, there was no visible presence of management or leadership at all. At the same time, there were members of staff talking to their collars with ear pieces, like the CIA.......I began to wonder if I was at a UN convention, or a holiday. Very sad indeed.

6. LOCATION. Yes, this hotel is near the redwood trees, that are totally super, however the main attractions of Yosemite are best experienced from the other entrances. Do your research, unlike us........the other hotels are generally better regarded too, albeit perhaps more expensive.

7. Overall, I am sorry that I spend approximately $1,500 for just 3 nights in what has proven to be a Very poor hotel, in terms of blue for money.

Room Tip: Get top floor, as you will hear everyone above you !!!!!
See more room tips
Green Features: They have various awards for environmental friendliness, but didn't witness it in practice.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, CPKONE. Although it sounds like you were able to enjoy your meals and great service – thanks especially for your “shout out” to Forest and Emily, who will certainly be praised – we are sorry to hear you were disappointed in much of your stay. We always want guests to have consistently exceptional service from start to finish, and we apologize you did not feel you received that. Headsets are standard for most departments in public areas of the hotel to streamline communication on operations and guest needs without interrupting our patrons with radio noise. And, while we definitely want to provide an authentic, yet luxurious, park experience with our building, we never want that to be at the expense of guest experiences and are sorry you were uncomfortable with noise from neighbors at times. We would love to learn more about some of your frustrations and will message you information to contact us. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location; excellent base for exploring Yosemite; could do with a renovation, but love the lodge feel; excellent cedar cooked salmon. The main dining room is adults only, which surprised us, as it wasn't 4 years ago when we stayed and dined with our children.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Lara1970. We’re glad that you and your family had a nice stay and had a chance to adventure in the park. Our biggest restaurant, Sierra, is open to guests of all ages. However, our fine dining establishment, Embers, is open to guests 12 and older. We apologize for any disappointment or confusion based on your last visit. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very happy with our stay at Tenaya lodge. Stayed here with 10 friends and we all had a great experience from checking in to checking out. If you plan on checking yosemite out Tenaya is a great jump off point for all the yosemite has to offer. Very helpful concierge have plenty of great advice. If you're wanted you're wanted to see yosemite a bit more comfortably and dont mind paying a bit more check out Tenaya Lodge

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
4.5 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Ahwahnee
The Ahwahnee
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,465 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.