We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good hotel/resort in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very Good hotel/resort in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great pool area, lovely rooms, mostly very good service and well located to explore the southern end of Yosemite. The air conditioning could have been quieter and while it was cool enough at night to open a window the pool guys turn on some light music at 6am....easily sorted by the management but shouldn't happen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    946
    433
    172
    94
See reviews for
900
967
28
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burghfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We felt very at home here from the moment we pulled up at Tenaya Lodge. The bed was so comfy and the staff so friendly and helpful. We loved it. The setting is beautiful and there was something for all our family - archery, pool and camp fire. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Positive points: food generally was very good, both breakfast and dinner. Car park and external area were fine. The waiting staff, in particular "Forest" and "Emily"" were excellent.

Pool area general was quite good, but a child did slip when I was there, as the ground was quite sloppy.

Negative points:

1. it is a wooden building, which may suit the environment, but we could hear our neighbours too much, in particular those above us, also in the corridors.

2. The Welcome. We ( believe it or not) stood at reception, at the front if the line, for a full 2 or 3 minutes before we were even acknowledged, but reception was actually staffed at the time. We were greeted by a less than friendly female member of staff, who I will not name, as I blame it on the training or staff selection.

3. The noise.......again...........as above, a wooden structure and a busy hotel, will lead to noisy places.

4. Other staff. We met some staff that were absolutely fantastic, but others were clearly not trained at all. I actually held the door open for a member of staff that was carrying ,luggage for another guest and he didn't even thank me for holding the door one for him. Thankfully, the hotel guests did thank me and actually apologised on his behalf.

5 MANAGEMENT. At all times throughout our stay, there was no visible presence of management or leadership at all. At the same time, there were members of staff talking to their collars with ear pieces, like the CIA.......I began to wonder if I was at a UN convention, or a holiday. Very sad indeed.

6. LOCATION. Yes, this hotel is near the redwood trees, that are totally super, however the main attractions of Yosemite are best experienced from the other entrances. Do your research, unlike us........the other hotels are generally better regarded too, albeit perhaps more expensive.

7. Overall, I am sorry that I spend approximately $1,500 for just 3 nights in what has proven to be a Very poor hotel, in terms of blue for money.

Room Tip: Get top floor, as you will hear everyone above you !!!!!
See more room tips
Green Features: They have various awards for environmental friendliness, but didn't witness it in practice.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, CPKONE. Although it sounds like you were able to enjoy your meals and great service – thanks especially for your “shout out” to Forest and Emily, who will certainly be praised – we are sorry to hear you were disappointed in much of your stay. We always want guests to have consistently exceptional service from start to finish, and we apologize you did not feel you received that. Headsets are standard for most departments in public areas of the hotel to streamline communication on operations and guest needs without interrupting our patrons with radio noise. And, while we definitely want to provide an authentic, yet luxurious, park experience with our building, we never want that to be at the expense of guest experiences and are sorry you were uncomfortable with noise from neighbors at times. We would love to learn more about some of your frustrations and will message you information to contact us. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location; excellent base for exploring Yosemite; could do with a renovation, but love the lodge feel; excellent cedar cooked salmon. The main dining room is adults only, which surprised us, as it wasn't 4 years ago when we stayed and dined with our children.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Lara1970. We’re glad that you and your family had a nice stay and had a chance to adventure in the park. Our biggest restaurant, Sierra, is open to guests of all ages. However, our fine dining establishment, Embers, is open to guests 12 and older. We apologize for any disappointment or confusion based on your last visit. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very happy with our stay at Tenaya lodge. Stayed here with 10 friends and we all had a great experience from checking in to checking out. If you plan on checking yosemite out Tenaya is a great jump off point for all the yosemite has to offer. Very helpful concierge have plenty of great advice. If you're wanted you're wanted to see yosemite a bit more comfortably and dont mind paying a bit more check out Tenaya Lodge

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

When we arrived we found out we had been upgraded to a cottage suite. We were in an upstairs suite which was very roomy, small seating area, microwave, bathroom and its own balcony area. The Hotel is very pleasant with several restaurants, two swimming pools one inside and various activities for kids. None of the above is cheap though and given that most of your time will be spent exploring the stunning area, would only be useful if staying for 3 to 4 days or travelling with kids.
Drinks are very expensive at the bar. Only used the pizza restaurant as was so close to the cottages, but it's more like a cafe than a restaurant. Pizza very good though!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Vastly overpriced is the most straightforward way of describing this property. It's nice, an impressive interior area, but not that nice. The front desk staff and the concierge staff are well below par. The front desk staff is inadequate and slow, but you can't always blame them. For example, during the evening, there's a pianist playing and singing (amplified) withing a few feet of their desk area (and that singing and playing echoed throughout much of the hotel. The concierge staff member we dealt with didn't have a clue. The elevators were slow. The selections for television were very limited (even though they seemed to have more channels available at their bar).

Room Tip: I'd suggest going elsewhere. There have to be good rooms in the area that are far, far better v...
See more room tips
Green Features: Really none, other than the usual statements about saving water. They had no way of recycling in the rooms and despite the water concerns in California, they were washing down the deck around their outdoor dining area.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Fredonian, and are sorry to hear you felt as though you did not receive value from your stay at Tenaya and were frustrated with the front desk and concierge staff. As a Four Diamond resort, we build our amenities and services around delivering a high-quality, above and beyond guest experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.