We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great buy, but only at one-third the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A great buy, but only at one-third the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Vastly overpriced is the most straightforward way of describing this property. It's nice, an impressive interior area, but not that nice. The front desk staff and the concierge staff are well below par. The front desk staff is inadequate and slow, but you can't always blame them. For example, during the evening, there's a pianist playing and singing (amplified) withing a few feet of their desk area (and that singing and playing echoed throughout much of the hotel. The concierge staff member we dealt with didn't have a clue. The elevators were slow. The selections for television were very limited (even though they seemed to have more channels available at their bar).

Room Tip: I'd suggest going elsewhere. There have to be good rooms in the area that are far, far better v...
See more room tips
Green Features: Really none, other than the usual statements about saving water. They had no way of recycling in the rooms and despite the water concerns in California, they were washing down the deck around their outdoor dining area.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Fredonian, and are sorry to hear you felt as though you did not receive value from your stay at Tenaya and were frustrated with the front desk and concierge staff. As a Four Diamond resort, we build our amenities and services around delivering a high-quality, above and beyond guest experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    1,116
    498
    195
    102
See reviews for
1,101
1,185
36
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Four of us Stayed here one night in a cabin with one bed in living area and one in a separate room. Good points: easy access to Yosemite, and excellent and good value buffet meal. Quiet pool near the cabin and good breakfast Bad points: no A/C in second room and decor very tired looking. Main hotel buildings could be anywhere and main pool very crowded .

Room Tip: Quieter away from main hotel buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments, bornie. While we are glad to hear that you were able to spend lots of time exploring Yosemite during your stay with us, enjoyed your dining experiences and received good value; we’re sorry that you were not “wowed.” It is always our goal to create an exceptional stay for our guests. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

First time to Yosemite - stayed at the Tenaya Lodge and was very impressed - fantastic location and very nice, clean rooms - lots of stuff to do. Highly recommend the Discover Yosemite tour if have short amount of time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in a Suite and the room was incredible. Hardwood floors, nice sitting area, large flat screen TV and the bathroom was great. We had dinner at Embers and the service and food were incredible. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very nice pool area and close to the Yosemity. Very nice atmosphere and good place to start the tour inside Yosemity. In the afternoon and evening we could go back and enjoy the quite hotel, the very nice outdoor poolarea and a nice dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The location is fantastic, close to Mariposa Grove and within easy reach of Yosemite Valley, but the accommodation at the hotel is below par. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms whose decor was dated, the size of the bedrooms was not generous, the bathroom was very small and dingy but most problematic was the fact that the beds were so uncomfortable that we spent our day in the park complaining of aches and pains relating to the sub-optimal sleeping facilities rather than as a result of strenuous hiking. The air-con unit was unusually noisy which did not help. As a result, we are checking out early to go to a hotel where we can have a decent nights sleep. The food is ok - nothing special. The staff are nice and helpful although they seem over-stretched at this busy time of year. We arrived after 4pm on our check-in day to be told our room was not ready - I expect this was because the hotel is at pretty much full capacity but it was not appreciated after a 6 hour drive. In summary, lower your expectations of the quality of accommodation you are getting for this price and enjoy the wonderful scenery.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Grace. It’s great to hear you received friendly and informative service from our staff, but we apologize that you were disappointed with your cottage accommodations and bed. We never want a guest to feel uncomfortable and it is important to us that each person staying with us, whether in the cottages or the main lodge, enjoys their stay. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

$500+ a night for a small, old cottage suite. Room wasn't ready on arrival at 1530 (although advertised from 1500 - it's all in the grammar as "from 1500" means sometime after 1500 but don't know when!). Reception and concierge are always very busy and impersonal (concierge asked my name 3 times). You'd think they would even offer a drink while you're waiting but no, you're just made to wait an hour with the others in your lot. Breakfast buffet was 3 out of 10 and you will have guessed, we had to wait in line to get in. Room looked straight out of an 80's sitcom. Acts as the monopoly that it is (everything nice in Yosemite gets booked quickly). Big disappointment given the price we were paying. Staff at Timberloft Pizza were very nice and accommodating though.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, jmabilat. We are sorry to hear you felt the concierge did not deliver personalized service. We also apologize you were frustrated with the process of checking in and waiting in lines with other guests. Tenaya often gets very busy, but we do not want this to negatively impact our guests’ experience or the level of service we make a priority. Thank you for your kind words for the staff at Timberloft. Your comments will be shared and are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.