We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tenaya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tenaya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Beautiful location and enjoyed staying in the cottages. I wished there was a bit more privacy in the cottages. We were in B 564 and had a small area to enjoy our coffee or read a book outside our cottage. There wasn't a view - only other cottages. They did have a few trees between the cottages, but no mountain views. A great location for the price to explore Yosemite. We stayed there 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. There are five restaurants to choose from and they offer a complimentary breakfast buffet. Had a difficult times making reservations at Embers and the Spa. There was not a "live person" to take the call only voice mail with no return calls. I would not recommend driving to this location at night. The mountain roads are difficult to navigate for the first time at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage B564. The view was of other cottages and not the mountains. It wasn't wha...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had a lot of signage about water conservation.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Pam. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, but we apologize for any frustration felt when trying to book reservations at Embers and Ascent. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    966
    436
    172
    94
See reviews for
922
983
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Let me start by saying the staff was very friendly and the main lodge was very nice. We stayed in "cottage" #549. It was nice but dark. I was wondering why they didn't design them to have more windows and take advantage of the beautiful view. They're really not that private due to the fact that there are 3 units to one building. Ours had a very pretty view of the woods and a couple of chairs out on the lawn, but the road was close by and it was pretty noisy. I noticed that some of the cottages were really lacking in privacy and view so be careful when selecting your cottage. One thing I did enjoy was the short walk to the cute little pizza restaurant. It was a little too bright and loud but we were lucky enough to get a table off to the side for a little better ambiance. Our waiter was super sweet, friendly and helpful. The pizza and salad bar were very good! The next night we walked over to the main lodge and had an excellent but expensive meal at the Sierra restaurant. The service was very friendly and the food was delicious. Overall this is a very nice place but not exactly what I had in mind for us personally. We're not into spa's and all of the ammenities offered so we really didn't take advantage of all of these features. Also note that the drive to Yosemite Valley is about 45 minutes but we didn't mind because it was a beautiful drive. :)

Room Tip: If you're staying in the cottages and you want privacy and a view make sure you let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, riverrush. We are glad you experienced great food and exemplary service. Tenaya is indeed a full-service hotel, but we work to ensure guests of all interest sets have plenty to enjoy. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The misrepresentation makes me question the business ethics of this establishment. I thought I was reserving a "Cottage" as noted on the website (more privacy)...well you read the website and decide. This was a one room (okay size) with a door in the back that stepped out onto a gravel/grass area with two chairs below five other second floor units (not very private). The walls were paper thin and I could hear every step of the other adjacent rooms (two common walls). The spa building near by was dirty and the lights did not work. The GOOD part was the main resort was very nice (I wish I was there as this review likely would have been better)... The areas of the pool, game room and lobby were very presentable. The Gym and Spa area in the main resort was very nice. Checking in and out was fast and efficient. If I could give any advice... stay in the main area as it is no less private to me than the townhomes (Cottages) and offers many thinks to do.

Room Tip: Top floor if hearing steps above you... corner room to avoid more common walls... or condo (Cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Craknzee. We’re glad that you were able to enjoy the spa and fitness center, but we are sorry to hear you felt as though you did not receive what was expected in booking one of our Cottage Rooms. We work to make sure room descriptions and amenities are clear on our website. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed two nights at Tenaya Lodge, overall we had a lovely time. Do note the hotel is set just over 5,000 feet, so the weather can be a challenge i.e. snow and ice. Good hotel to use as a base for exploring Yosemite National Park and on top of that the hotel offers plenty of activities to keep all members of a family occupied. There is Guest services (helpful, but busy and slow), a food court shop, hotel shop (souvenirs, clothes and snow chains!) and a warm (log fire) reception/lounge area.

ARRIVAL/RECEPTION
On arriving at the hotel after a very challenging drive up the steep hill from the town of Oakhurst (it started to snow heavily as we started the climb up the hill in the dark, the temperature quickly dropped from 64f to 37f, by the time we got to the hotel a few inches of snow had landed). The valet staff were very helpful and made the offer to park our vehicle and take our cases. They also suggested leaving our windscreen wipers in the up position due to the fact it was snowing so heavily.
The reception team were friendly and efficient, although initially they had one our rooms booked for one night, the other room for the correct two nights. This was eventually addressed and was an error on their part, they eventually found the correct booking.
As previously mentioned by another reviewer the $15 a day per room tax is expensive and not warranted. The hotel prices are expensive enough. The fee leaves a bit of a bad taste.

ROOMS
We were on the top floor in rooms 307 and 308 (opposite each other). Our rooms were lovely, a good size, very clean, 2 queen size beds, large tv, table/desk, chairs, robes, nice toiletries, towels, tea/coffee makings and free Wi-Fi in the room.
Room 307 overlooked the front of the hotel. Room 308 overlooked the rear/small courtyard and woodland.

RESTAURANTS
There are a few restaurants at the hotel. Overall the food is expensive and overpriced, but they have a captive audience unless you travel to the town of Oakhurst, which we would probably have done in the evening if it had not been for the snow.
Breakfast is provided at the Sierra restaurant. There is plenty of choice and several options you can chose from. We opted for the porridge (oatmeal), which was a large portion with extras offered of cinnamon, raisins, sultana's and chopped almonds, plenty to keep you going for the day. We had the same waitress both morning and she was excellent (Stephanie N, thank you).
We had dinner at the Jackalopes restaurant. Good quality food, good portions, but service was slow and pricey.

ACTIVITIES
Lots and lots to do, guest services can book you trips into the park, hire snow shoes, walking tips, ice staking, games room, swimming pool, spa and lots more. We booked the 'flashlight hike (at guest services)', we met the guide in reception at 7.45pm, were given some ice/snow spikes to fit on our footwear, a walking pole and torch. We walked from the hotel, into the woods and explored the area for about an hour and forty minutes. We learnt lots of interesting facts and due to the sky being clear and no light pollution, we saw plenty of stars and the planet Jupiter. Well worth the $15 fee, it was a bit of fun and the guide 'Alex' was excellent.

SNOW CHAINS
If you travel to the area during autumn, winter and spring you will need snow chains. Although the hotel is not inside the national park, it is at 5,220 feet and within a snow chain controlled area. If you have 4 or All wheel, you may not need to fit snow chains, but the authorities require you to carry them. We were in the area 31st March-2nd April and around 15-18 inches of snow fell. The authorities were very good at clearing the road, but the Park rangers and Police will insist on snow chains being fitted even though the snow has been cleared and there is only small patches of ice about. Most people agreed this is way over the top and all that is required is sensible driving. Failure to have snow chains will either stop you entering the park/area or/and a heavy fine. The police had road checks on the hill from Oakhurst to Yosemite checking vehicles. It would be cheaper to buy some snow chains for your vehicle prior to getting to the park/hotel. If hiring a vehicle to explore the area it is worth getting a 4/All wheel drive.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (there are only 3 floors). Rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for your comments, TonyPaz. We are pleased to hear you had a nice stay filled with lots of adventure and appreciate your kind words for Stephanie and Alex. Glad that you were able to quickly resolve any booking issue, but we again apologize for the inconvenience. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

stayed here for two nights above average rooms food of a very good standard but pricey had problems with ants in the room allow a wait for breakfast and evening meals at busy times very close to park entrance but a good 45 minutes to get to the other entrance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, haddockSussex. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, but sorry that you encountered some ants – this is definitely an isolated incident, but apologize for any discomfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama city, Panama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Eat in the embers restaurant. Staff were really great as was the food. Much better than I would have expected given we were pretty much a captive audience. The place overall was pretty busy and quite noisy given the location but I guess it was easter weekend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, Bill. We are pleased to hear you received exemplary treatment from our staff – as a Four Diamond resort, that is our top priority. Holiday weekends are indeed a busy time, but we are glad you had a nice stay all the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This place was top notch! The food was delicious, the rooms were exceptional and the beds were very comfortable. They had every amenity you could ask for.The only issue we had was the drive into Yosemite. It was a good thirty minutes on winding roads each day. I think we'll stay closer next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, FairWindsSiren. We are so glad to hear you had a great stay with us. We are a bit farther from the Yosemite Valley than in-park properties, but we hope you were able to enjoy the beautiful drive! We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.