We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodge right at the edge of Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Lodge right at the edge of Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed there last weekend for 2 days with my family(Myself, Wifey, 4 kids). We got the largest suite possible that allowed all 6 to stay there.
The entrance was nice, and we were greeted by very friendly valet staff. Checking in was a breeze as our kids stayed by the large fireplace in the lobby.
The heated indoors pool was a hit every night with our kids after our return from hiking and activities from Yosemite. The pool is open till midnight and that is a huge plus. The pool could use some updating, as its starting to show its age.
The on-site restaurants left much to be desired! For a nice lodge like Tenaya, I would expect a much nicer and locally sourced menu, not the almost Denny's style menu they had. Prices were a bit high for the faire.
The onsite deli was nice and the coffee/espresso was decent.
The activities offered at the lodge were really fun, including the night hike that was a hit with us, as well as archery.

Overall, we really enjoyed a family stay at Tenaya Lodge. Sure, the place could use some updating, but I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for your comments, Ali. We’re so pleased that the whole family had a great time and made the most of our onsite activities. We are indeed planning on updating the indoor pool later this year, as well as our rooms, so you’ll have to come check them out! : )

We also appreciate your feedback on dining options. Our food and beverage team works to keep as many of our ingredients sustainable and locally-sourced as is possible according to season and availability.

Thanks again for your thoughts and we look forward to seeing your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    1,057
    469
    178
    98
See reviews for
1,034
1,104
34
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was my first visit to the Tenaya Lodge. I found the lodge to be very clean, the staff was outstanding. Our room was large, clean and I found it to be very comfortable. I really liked the bar/restaurant and it was a great visit. I'll stay at the Tenaya Lodge on our next trip and I'd recommend it to anyone.
One thing to keep in mind if you have never been to Yosemite. Tenaya Lodge is located about 3 miles from the park entry. Once in the park if you turn left you are about 30 miles from the valley floor. Give yourself about 1.5 hours to get to the valley floor because the road is very hilly with sharp curves making for an interesting and slow trip. I didn't realize this and was almost late for a tour we had booked. Again, I won't let this stop me from visiting again, but simply keep this in mind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Schwib. We are so glad your first visit to Tenaya was a great one and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our second visit, but first was in summer so the lodge had a different feel in winter. We only stayed two nights and spent one day in the valley which was enough considering the cold. The hotel could use some updating. Rooms are decent, but common areas seem a bit run down. Indoor pool was not appealing to us. The free breakfast buffet was ok, but the coffee horrible. Only go to Jackalope's for dinner unless you want to pay extreme prices for average food. The grilled cheese and tomato soup at Jackalope's was to die for. We like this place and it's location so would easily return on our next visit to Yosemite.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, MMJJ, and thank you for choosing Tenaya for a second time. We are glad you had a nice stay, but are sorry to hear you felt as though you did not receive great value for your food. Tenaya will be undergoing a number of design updates over the course of the year, so stay tuned for that! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a nice welcome although we were expecting a valet service no one offered to take in our bags and park our car so we got on with it regardless. The setting is beautiful and close to the Mariposa Grove but about an hour away from Yosemite Village. But it's a lovely drive round slow windy roads so we didn't mind.


The swimming pool was very noisy and full of kids splashing etc. I took our daughter and we soon found it a bit much. The games room is a good place for kids and teenagers to keep occupied, although quite dirty.

The spa suite was a lovely big room with a balcony- defiantly recommend paying the extra! Although decor was a bit tired.

We we're celebrating our wedding anniversary and we we're delivered a bottle of champagne which was a lovely touch! Thank you.

I visited the spa - it was so beautiful, the women's locker room was lovely with a sauna, steam room and relaxation room- it's defiantly worth a visit, a complete contrast to the swimming pool! Lovely decor here too!

We would stay again definitely as it was a friendly place with good location and facilities but would like to see the decor updated soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, Laura. We are glad to hear you had a nice stay and both kids and adults were able to find entertainment. Congratulations on your anniversary! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on décor, and we are indeed in the process of planning new décor and other updates, which we are very excited for guests to see. We hope to see you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our party of three stayed at the Tenaya Lodge in late March, 2014, for a short Yosemite vacation. Overall, we thought it was a 3/5-star experience. Since I think it's unfair to leave it at that, here's our categorical breakdown:

Service: 4/5

Service at the Tenaya Lodge was generally excellent. Check-in staff were helpful and efficient, food & dining staff were attentive (sometimes a bit too attentive), and cleaning staff prompt. We consulted with the concierge twice - the first time was great, the second time they seemed like they were in a rush to get us out of the line, as there were people with children lined up behind us.

Value: 3/5

Even in late March, the price of our 1-br suite averaged over $300/night. While not expensive, we didn't feel like this was an amazing deal by any means.

Sleep quality: 3/5

Beds were comfortable, but the walls are thin. While watching TV in the common room late in the evening the occupants of the room next door could be heard clearly. The HVAC system is also very loud - since our vent happened to be right next to the bed, it sounded like there was a jet engine starting up every time the heat kicked on. The room we were in was acceptably dark at night, although some rooms look like they have parking lot lighting right next to their window.

Cleanliness: 4/5

Our room, bed, and bathroom was clean, except for some strange red staining (wine?) on the floor. We didn't think it was enough of an issue to raise with the front desk.

Location: 3/5

Tenaya Lodge is located about 2 miles south of the southern Yosemite park entrance. While billed as the "Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite," we felt this was somewhat misleading. To get to the Yosemite valley (with all the famous landmarks like Half Dome, El Capitan, Yosemite Falls, etc.) you basically have to rent a car and drive an hour on Highway 41 from the hotel. In the winter you *need* tire chains, as any snow will lead to activation of chain requirements (park rangers will stop you enroute to make sure you have chains and put them on if your vehicle requires them). Rental agencies have individual policies on whether or not chains are allowed on their vehicles - make sure you check before hand. While the drive is scenic, it's still an hour drive. Not what we normally would expect from a "park lodge."

Rooms: 3/5

Our 1-br suite was unremarkable but comfortable. The coffee grinder, drip maker, and whole beans in the room was a nice touch, the previously explained loud HVAC and thin walls were not. It would have been nice if the bathroom was not part of the bedroom so our third didn't have to disturb those sleeping in the bedroom to go to the bathroom, but this is fairly standard for a suite.

Food: 2/5 (Note that I use "food" as a substitute for "breakfast")

We did not find the food at Tenaya's three restaurants to be particularly healthy, tasty, or a good value. The Lodge has three restaurants (Embers & Sierra are more upscale, Jackalope's is the bar and grill), a takeout/sandwich shop, and room service. Breakfast is served in the Sierra Restaurant dining room. There are adequate options for vegetarians. We ate at Jackalope's, Sierra, and ordered off the room service menu. Of those three, Sierra was the best (if we have to choose), but after trying out Jackalope's and Sierra we actively tried to find other places to eat in nearby Oakhurst. Breakfast was similarly mediocre and expensive. Find a grocery store and bring your own food if this is an issue for you.

Other comments: The lodge is popular with families, and they seem to offer a good deal of activities for kids. Wifi is available in the rooms and is fast. The General Store has a good selection of Yosemite souvenirs for reasonable prices. There's plenty of parking, at least in the season we were there.

Closing thoughts: We didn't have a bad time at Tenaya Lodge, but if we were going to visit Yosemite again we wouldn't stay there. For people looking for a weekend getaway not necessarily visiting the Yosemite Valley I can see Tenaya being a good option, especially with kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, CorporateFatCat. We are so glad to hear you received excellent service and found your room comfortable, but are sorry you felt disappointed with some noise issues and your food. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here the last two nights of our honeymoon and it was exactly what we wanted. We stayed in one of the cottages. It was really roomy and had a gas fireplace. The free breakfast buffet was delicious and the service at breakfast was great. We ate at Jackalope's, in the lodge, our last night. We had good burgers and great service and then we got some drinks and had them by the outdoor fire pit. It was a scenic drive into Yosemite, about 45 minutes from the lodge. I highly recommend this for a great escape! It was very romantic and felt secluded. Also, we didn't ice skate, but that had an adorable outdoor rink. We also looked at the indoor heated pool and game area and it looked nice. It snowed while we were there and it was breathtaking. And one more thing, the staff here was amazing. Everyone was friendly and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are separate from the lodge and are very private, but the lodge looked nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, cocoabeachgirl2. We’re so pleased to hear that we were able to make your honeymoon all the more special and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Tenaya Lodge was everything we expected based on the reviews and web site, Beautiful lodge with an awesome lobby and large rooms. It snowed heavily both nights we stayed and the staff handled it wonderfully. I am now an expert at putting on (and removing) tire chains!

We ate at two of the three restaurants on property, the Sierra and the Jackalopes Grill. Three members of our family are gluten-free and the staff and chef were very accommodating to preparing their meals. The food was delicious - the wine list was excellent.

The indoor pool is heated and there are two spas. Plus a nicely equipped workout area that the kids used while we napped. No issues during our stay and its a great place to come back to after a long day hiking in Yosemite NP.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Jwkruz. We’re glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy some beautiful snow, chains and all. Great to know you had plenty to eat to suit your dietary needs. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.