We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I (from So Cal) met friends from Northern California for a weekend at Tenaya Lodge. The rooms were clean and spacious enough to gather in one of them to play bridge. The bathroom configuration was a little odd -- the door to the toilet/shower area took up most of the sink area. We enjoyed the outdoor patio, the lobby, and two of the hotel's restaurants. One day we drove a short distance to the Sequoias just inside Yosemite National Park, and the other day we drove the hour to get to Yosemite Valley, where we walked to Mirror Lake and also stopped to see Bridal Veil and Yosemite Falls. Our service at the patio tables for lunch was terrific -- Jodi was pleasant, professional and creative.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Kaf911. We’re glad to hear you and your crew had a great time at Tenaya and exploring the park. Thanks for your compliments to Jodi, too. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    1,057
    469
    178
    98
See reviews for
1,034
1,104
34
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

had a nice visit a few weeks ago, the park was beautiful and the first day it snowed all day.
the resort is nice and has a bit of rustic charm, overall comfortable though the beds were a bit lumpy.
the location is great as it is close to the park entrance and Badger Pass.
Unfortunately the snow turned to rain so our outdoor activities were curtailed.

three complaints, the hot tub and pool reeked of chemicals, more than I would expect, this seems to be the case with indoor pools, maybe due to lack of ventilation? In addition to the chemical smell was a distinct body odor smell, not great.

Since we were stuck indoors we decided to play in the arcade. The games are 20+ years old but still charge .75 cents plus per game. It was a rip off and my kids got bored fast.

The ice skating rink is really nice, if the weather was better I'm sure we could have enjoyed more of the outdoor amenities but the constant rain kept us from doing so.

The food, this is my common complaint with the food service company that has the contract at Yosemite, they also service the Tenyana. The food is not very healthy and is way overpriced.

Breakfast - classic American menu which looked great but for the most part was overly greasy. The pancakes were overly sweet too. Why do the pancakes themselves need to be sugary sweet when you are going to pour syrup on them. Even my kids couldn't eat it.

Dinner - the bar and grill had a pretty good selection of items and a few things were decent but wow is it overpriced. I believe they are charging $28 for a chicken breast dinner. This is the bar and grill and each night for the four of us it was $80 per meal. This includes two kids meals. I expect to pay that at nicer restaurants back home in Oakland/San Francisco.

Overall we had a nice visit and would consider returning but once again the food is a big downer. Last year at Curry village it was worse.

I think we will have to camp next year or rent a home with a kitchen so that we can eat properly and not feel ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, 21senor_pep_e. We are glad that you and your family had a nice trip and enjoyed your stay, but we’re sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food pricing. Your comments will be passed along to our F&B team. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back at Tenaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Extremely nice hotel with perfect amenities. The location is very nice, just moments away from the park's entrance and the Sequoias. The hotel is beautiful, quiet, peaceful. The restaurants and the bar are very nice and the outdoor fireplaces are superb. Love this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate your comments, dlandr2. Thanks for your kind words, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon! ; )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay on the edge of the national park. Suite was very spacious and with the sofa bed in a separate lounge room was great for our family.
Staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, TonyAyk. We’re so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided excellent service. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Good value even including the resort fee, considering the location and environment.
Sounds new but made with heritage.
Ladies at the registration are not warm enough with some cold faces but still qualified for the job.
Breakfast tasty, fresh cooked. Would be better if not too pricey as by the same rate the other hotels may provide full buffet.
Seems no indoor connection to the swimming pool, so people have to go by the outside.
A perfect pitstop if one can't make its way to the park entrance in a evening.

Room Tip: All rooms are around the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for your comments, demoprint. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Tenaya, but apologize that you didn't feel a warm reception at the front desk. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I hope to go back again as we were only there as a stop over. It was very beautiful in winter, with lovely rooms and a great restaurant. Highly recommend this place if you're looking for something affordable outside of yosemite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visited last February and had such a great time that my daughter exclaimed: "Let's make this a family tradition!" We enjoyed the Tenaya during off season and their amenities and I wrote a thoroughly positive review of the resort. However, in just a year we had a considerable different experience. We stayed in the Spa Suite again, but now they no longer provide spa magazines in the rooms which I thought was a great touch. Also, this year we did not have internet connection in our room. To add insult to injury, there is now a large and unclassy "Fill line" sticker inside the spa tub indicated how much water you can put in the tub. This "fill line" was approximately 6 inches deep. I am sorry, but when I take a bath, I like to be able to cover more than my legs. Another bummer was that the water did not get as hot as it did last year and the in door swimming pool did not seem as warm either. We also did not get our Sunday newspaper which was fine, but certainly noticed. Seems like they are trying to save a buck here and there all the while instituting a daily resort fee this year! I have no problem paying a resort fee if it's implemented to provide the SAME quality of service and experience. Not the case here. Not sure if we will try to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, isepa. We are sorry to hear you felt changes to some amenities altered your perception of Tenaya. The fill line was instituted as a recommendation for the safety of our guests staying in Spa Suites. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.