We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - bad food - over-priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location - bad food - over-priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago while visiting Yosemite NP.

First the good:

The location is stellar - great access to some beautiful terrain (not a great location for visiting Yosemite Valley, but great for seeing the southern part of the park and the national forest outside the park boundary). The building harkens back to a time when only the rich could afford to travel - and the size/decor caters to this clientele. The spa room was remarkably spacious - and it is great to have an in-room spa.

Next the not so good:

While the area is beautiful, the views from the hotel are not great - had a spa room with a balcony - the balcony looked over the access road and a parking lot into a wall of trees - some hiking showed that beyond the trees was a great view, but unfortunately not one that could be enjoyed from the room.

The drain plug in the sink was broken - had to physically remove it to get the sink to drain.

The large flat-screen TV did not have a picture - not really a big deal since you don't go to Yosemite NP to watch TV - but sort of silly to have a big TV that only provides audio.

Finally the really bad:

The service and the food (both dinner and breakfast) at the Sierra restaurant were atrocious and over-priced. The server could not provide any information about menu items - when asked about the fish, he went on a long description of how the fish is certified by some organization in Monterrey, but he would not be able to know where the fish are from without checking serial numbers - and all I wanted to know was how they tasted - turned out to have no flavor.

Salad greens were old and wrinkled. Poached eggs tasted like they were frozen and re-heated. Hollandaise sauce was clotting on the eggs. Hash browns were cut from a slab. Waffle tasted like it came out of a box.

The rooms are not sound-proofed - you really don't want to hear your neighbors enjoying themselves in the in-room spa.

Over-priced for what is offered.

And an aside: Tenaya Lodge is operated by the Delaware North Companies under license from the US Government - they have a monopoly on lodging in the national park and also manage the Tenaya Lodge that is just outside the park. Unfortunately monopoly does not lead to a high-quality service - maybe it's time to have some competition.

Room Tip: Stay here, but don't eat here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for your comments, Pubudu-SF. Although we are pleased you enjoyed Tenaya’s close proximity to Yosemite and your room comfort, we’re disappointed to hear you encountered a few issues with your room and felt you did not receive informed service during your meals. We make a concerted effort to provide a consistent Four Diamond experience for our guests. Your feedback has been passed on to the food and beverage team. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    970
    436
    172
    95
See reviews for
926
987
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Tenaya Lodge has great facilities and attention to detail. The kids check in is a first for us but clever.

We stayed in one of the cottages. They are a little noisy and would be great for an extended family or group but didn't really work well for three different families with different schedules. we found the beds hard and pillows lumpy.

Would certainly return and stay here as our first choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Tenaya Lodge for 2 nights over Veteran’s Day Weekend. We were both going in with low expectations given that we were using a Travelzoo discount (I am always weary of hotels that need to offer discounts for people to visit). That being said, nearly everything at Tenaya Lodge exceeded our expectations. Overall, I would say this a great place to stay if you’re visiting Yosemite. It is located about 10 minutes outside the Southern entrance to the Park, and about an hour from both Yosemite Valley and Glacier Point. A great base for exploring the southern part of the park. If you’re looking for something more historic or authentic, you would probably be better off at the Wawona Hotel or the Ahwahnee – but if you want something easy, clean, reasonably priced and seemingly great for families – I would recommend Tenaya!

Rooms:
We stayed in an upper level room in the "Cottages", which I would definitely recommend (versus the main hotel). The Cottages are about a 30 second drive from the main hotel and appear to have been recently updated. They are very spacious, clean and have a fireplace. I think there is also an indoor pool and hot tub in the Cottages complex, but it appeared to have been closed for the winter.

Food:
The restaurants were all reasonably good. The ambiance at Embers, the most formal restaurant, leaves a lot to be desired. It has an awkward layout and the lighting is too bright, which makes it feel stale and cold. That being said, the service was great and the foot was excellent – albeit very pricey. Jackelopes is the more casual lodge-type restaurant which was a little more lively and cozy, with flat screen TV’s for football watching, a good bar, and an outdoor fire pit. If they could somehow combine the food at Embers with the setting at Jackelopes, I think they’d be on to something….

Activities:
Given the time of year, we mostly hiked and drove around the park. We hiked the Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias, only about a 20 minute drive from Tenaya. Do not miss this hike! There are something like 300 Giant Sequoias in this grove, which make the trees in Muir Woods look tiny.

We also drove to Glacier Point (1 hour, amazing view of Half Dome) and Yosemite Valley (1 hour, 15 minutes) where we did the hike to Mirror Lake (beautiful, although no water this time of year).

We both got massages at the Ascent Spa, which was much nicer than I expected. It appears to be recently built or recently updated – and very clean.

We were disappointed that there was no outdoor hot tub open at this time of the year.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms in the Cottages are spacious, private and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one evening. I was in town for a conference that was being held at this resort. It was a very expensive room, so normally we would not have been able to stay there, but work was helping to pay for part of the trip. It was a very nice resort overall, the rooms and grounds were very nice. The workout room was down in the basement level where the spa is located- the WR was very nice with good equipment. I didn't go to the spa, but it did look nice from the outside. We ate at the Sierra restaurant. It was OK, I wish I could rave about it but the food was just OK for what we paid. If I was back in this area I would consider staying at the Tenaya Lodge again. As I mentioned, it was a little cost prohibitive for us but I am sure many ppl enjoy to splurge on lodging. It really was a very nice lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I don't usually write reviews but felt compelled to this time. After the recent Government Shutdown we were excited to actually be able to experience Yosemite and stay at the Tenaya Lodge. However, the overall knowledge and front desk service of this Lodge is horrible. Not only did they provide wrong information regarding guests having to purchase or rent tire chains.. that's right... tire chains.. what? So, we were originally told we need to buy or rent tire chains. Turns out this was not even true... what a strange topic to have to try and think about on our vacation. Then when I called to book the stay I was never sent a confirmation email... not too bad.. I just called back the next day and was sent an email. However, it wasn't until arrival that I was completely blown away by the horrible front desk service. I have never experienced such rude staff. The young woman (that wears a flower headband) and was horrific in dealing with should be fired. I am all for giving people the benefit of the doubt but seriously after working in HR this was beyond acceptable. She was snotty, rude and had no tact. I was hoping to treat my mother in-law to a nice spa day... this should have been included with our 3 night cottage rate (well over $300 a night)... this was being advertised online and when I made the reservation over the phone this should have been added. I could rant and rave about this but the end result was that the front desk was terrible... and the only good thing at the Tenaya Lodge was the friendly staff in the Sierra restaurant. Thank you Jordan and Megan (with the young 1 year old son) you were very friendly and we thank you for such a nice conversation! And the food was terrific at the lodge... this is what saved the stay... so, hopefully the Tenaya Lodge is paying their staff in the kitchen and waitstaff well... that's my experience... Hopefully, Tenaya Lodge will consider hiring folks with better experience at the front desk!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, Ashley. As a Four Diamond-rated resort, Tenaya Lodge prides itself on an exceptional guest experience, and we are disappointed to hear you felt you did not receive exemplary service. We appreciate your comments and your thoughts have been passed along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a ten day road trip around California.
This hotel despite negative reviews by others was very good.
Large room with a very comfortable bed, very friendly helpful staff , free parking and within easy reach of Yosemite Park. We had a lovely stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently spent 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. It is set in a stunning location which is about 2 miles from park entrance but over an hours drive to the valley floor. We had a delux double room which was spacious and very comfortable. It had a fridge and safe. Limited free Internet access. Lovely indoor pool which I made use of. Breakfast buffet was excellent and good value. Ate in bar which was poor but sierras restaurant was lovely. We had a snow dump of 8 inches which was beautiful but meant Glacier point and Tioga road were both closed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.