We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tanaya Lodge, a classic mountain resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Save Saved
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Tanaya Lodge, a classic mountain resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Tanaya Lodge is a jewel. Located in the Sierras adjacent to Yosemite National Park, it has all of the ingredients to make it a place you want to visit, and to return again and again.

The Lodge is classic in looks, but is contemporary in all other categories. From the initial contact with the Valets and doormen, to the restaurant staff and beyond, it's obvious that the staff is not only well trained, but enjoy what they are doing. And they do it well.

The restaurant at Tanaya Lodge is very good. Menu has a variety of offerings with service to match your expectations.

Our group has some dietary restrictions and the staff was able to easily accommodate them.

This is a restaurant to come for an enjoyable meal. Although the service is fast, it is a place to actually sit back and enjoy each course as it comes, taking your time to indulge in the ambiance and the food.

Prices are normal for an upscale restaurant. All components are in place for a memorable meal.

Interestingly enough, being relatively close to Fresno, the restaurant does get a fair amount of traffic from the flatland crowd.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    665
    815
    380
    152
    87
See reviews for
751
827
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel located very close to the south entrance of yosemite national park. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms and do your own laundry near the indoor pool and game room. Food at the Parkside Deli was good. We had the sandwich packs to go. We were a little bummed because the timber loft restaurant was closed for the season. The breakfast buffet at the Sierra restaurant was very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed last week in the lodge for a professional conference. 3nights. Very conveniently located near the entrance to the Yosemite. Rooms are nice but basic. Restaurant is nice but a little pricey. Little coffee shop carries basic snack/coffe/ tea supplies. Also I found it pricey. The hotel consierge was veryhelpful in advising us how to see the best of the trpark and surrounding area in 3 short days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allyn, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Don't follow your GPS for the shortest route along the Miami Hiway!!! That was a mistake. But once we arrived at the hotel, it was wonderful. We only stayed one night and the Park was closed with the government shut down. We went to the Jackalopes Bar to watch football (it was a Saturday) and they did not get the games we wanted to see. Free internet, but really, really slow. Nice, quiet room. Linens were of good quality. The pool and hot tub were very nice, with a separate hot tub for adults. The outside pool was closed, so it was nice to have an indoor pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous rooms if you upgrade. Place is stunning but lacks vibe and atmosphere. Sense of beomg exploited with offers of upgrade etc standard but all at mega cost, same with restaurants and bars. Lovely pool and lovely rooms and there is littlw choice in stunning yosemite but please stop exploiting your guests, leaves unpleasant taste in mouth

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, mic4567. We are pleased you enjoyed the grounds, but are disappointed to hear that you felt the resort and its services were overpriced. As a Four Diamond-rated resort, we strive to provide our guests with top-notch service, amenities, and value. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tenaya Lodge, The room was ample size; I mean you are not coming to Yosemite to spend all your time in your hotel room. It was a little dark but had all the amenities you needed and was very clean and comfortable. Someone asked us when we got back to the UK if we had seen the snake signs on the back of the doors; apparently they had come back after a day out to find one in the corner... Eeeek glad we didn’t see that when were there but we are in the middle of the forest!

The pool was lovely with two huge hot tubs one which children were not permitted in which was great. The loungers around the pool were really comfy and there were plenty of them. The cocktails were delicious however very moreish so a little snooze around the pool enjoying the hot sunshine was needed. But the pool area was a real delight.

We ate in both restaurants - the more informal one was pretty average at most. It was amusing that they had one person to book your table, one person to take you to your table, another to bring you water another to take your order and another to bring your food, slight staff overkill but they were all very pleasant and super friendly so it isn’t an issue, glad the hotel are employing local people… 100% better than those miserable faces on the reception. The food was ok nothing great which was disappointing given the price of the food.

We also ate in the a la carte restaurant which I must say was excellent. Although slightly more expensive but not by much….. we wish we had eaten here every night . The quality of food and wine was better and the service was also good although we felt this was good in the more informal restaurant anyway.
I can really recommend the flambé dessert and the $15 coffee.. What a performance and you can tell that the waiter really enjoys making them at your table he took real pride and really made that meal for us.. We really enjoyed this part of the stay very much I am sure the couple of bottles of wine fuelled our excitement but it was a great end to our stay

Downside

The downside was the concierge, in all my years I haven’t had such an unhelpful concierge. We booked a tour from the UK prior to arriving via the hotel website and when we arrived we were unsure as to where the tour went from, the details we had received were not very clear. Most tours tend to go from the hotel but we had to wait until the concierge was open in the morning and when we asked where to go for the tour we were told an hour away.. In the end we missed the tour. When we got there, the Yosemite Village staff couldn’t have been more obliging and immediately refunded our money being very apologetic and we actually had a better time doing the tour ourselves and not being herded with other people.. Seeing everything at our own pace etc.
The reception staff, the ladies in particular, were downright unfriendly and quite rude.. I would recommend some training needed or perhaps a job outside that with a customer service focus - So much for a warm welcome. They could take a leaf out of the junior staff in the restaurant.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as we couldn’t really fault it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

As you will find out there are few hotel options for visiting Yosemite. As we were with our 10mth old boy we needed the comfort, space and amenities of a hotel. There is very little selection so I think there is less pressure/need for them to keep excellent standards. The hotel itself is huge, thankfully parking is free but that is about it. As it is so isolated you pretty much have to eat in one of the hotels 3 restaurants. First night we ate in the pub part which every aspect of the meal was wrong/awful. We complained to the manager and to be fair he scrapped the bill completely. the second night we ate in our only other option (the fine dining restaurant which seemed empty on both nights did not allow babies in) so a main and beer thankfully was not messed up. The room was a reasonable size but a little tired. We heard a lot of noise from other rooms/floors and the corridor. I would have preferred free water instead of a free paper. You had to get in the shower early to make sure you had plenty of hot water. The pool looked popular but we did not take a dip. At the end of the day you are here to see Yosemite and you just need somewhere to crash out at night and I suppose this nearly fits the bill (I think it is expensive for what you get) It is also well placed for the southern attractions of the park, you will be at the park gates in about 5 mins and easily on the road when you leave. Also you only get a brief amount of free wifi

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, Markyb18, and we are disappointed to hear you felt your stay was lacking. While we are indeed in a remote location, we are proud to be an AAA Four Diamond Resort and strive to provide the best possible guest experience. Although you were not pleased with your meal on the first night, we are glad to hear that it was dealt with to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.