We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tenaya Lodge, The room was ample size; I mean you are not coming to Yosemite to spend all your time in your hotel room. It was a little dark but had all the amenities you needed and was very clean and comfortable. Someone asked us when we got back to the UK if we had seen the snake signs on the back of the doors; apparently they had come back after a day out to find one in the corner... Eeeek glad we didn’t see that when were there but we are in the middle of the forest!

The pool was lovely with two huge hot tubs one which children were not permitted in which was great. The loungers around the pool were really comfy and there were plenty of them. The cocktails were delicious however very moreish so a little snooze around the pool enjoying the hot sunshine was needed. But the pool area was a real delight.

We ate in both restaurants - the more informal one was pretty average at most. It was amusing that they had one person to book your table, one person to take you to your table, another to bring you water another to take your order and another to bring your food, slight staff overkill but they were all very pleasant and super friendly so it isn’t an issue, glad the hotel are employing local people… 100% better than those miserable faces on the reception. The food was ok nothing great which was disappointing given the price of the food.

We also ate in the a la carte restaurant which I must say was excellent. Although slightly more expensive but not by much….. we wish we had eaten here every night . The quality of food and wine was better and the service was also good although we felt this was good in the more informal restaurant anyway.
I can really recommend the flambé dessert and the $15 coffee.. What a performance and you can tell that the waiter really enjoys making them at your table he took real pride and really made that meal for us.. We really enjoyed this part of the stay very much I am sure the couple of bottles of wine fuelled our excitement but it was a great end to our stay

Downside

The downside was the concierge, in all my years I haven’t had such an unhelpful concierge. We booked a tour from the UK prior to arriving via the hotel website and when we arrived we were unsure as to where the tour went from, the details we had received were not very clear. Most tours tend to go from the hotel but we had to wait until the concierge was open in the morning and when we asked where to go for the tour we were told an hour away.. In the end we missed the tour. When we got there, the Yosemite Village staff couldn’t have been more obliging and immediately refunded our money being very apologetic and we actually had a better time doing the tour ourselves and not being herded with other people.. Seeing everything at our own pace etc.
The reception staff, the ladies in particular, were downright unfriendly and quite rude.. I would recommend some training needed or perhaps a job outside that with a customer service focus - So much for a warm welcome. They could take a leaf out of the junior staff in the restaurant.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as we couldn’t really fault it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    969
    436
    172
    94
See reviews for
925
986
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

As you will find out there are few hotel options for visiting Yosemite. As we were with our 10mth old boy we needed the comfort, space and amenities of a hotel. There is very little selection so I think there is less pressure/need for them to keep excellent standards. The hotel itself is huge, thankfully parking is free but that is about it. As it is so isolated you pretty much have to eat in one of the hotels 3 restaurants. First night we ate in the pub part which every aspect of the meal was wrong/awful. We complained to the manager and to be fair he scrapped the bill completely. the second night we ate in our only other option (the fine dining restaurant which seemed empty on both nights did not allow babies in) so a main and beer thankfully was not messed up. The room was a reasonable size but a little tired. We heard a lot of noise from other rooms/floors and the corridor. I would have preferred free water instead of a free paper. You had to get in the shower early to make sure you had plenty of hot water. The pool looked popular but we did not take a dip. At the end of the day you are here to see Yosemite and you just need somewhere to crash out at night and I suppose this nearly fits the bill (I think it is expensive for what you get) It is also well placed for the southern attractions of the park, you will be at the park gates in about 5 mins and easily on the road when you leave. Also you only get a brief amount of free wifi

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, Markyb18, and we are disappointed to hear you felt your stay was lacking. While we are indeed in a remote location, we are proud to be an AAA Four Diamond Resort and strive to provide the best possible guest experience. Although you were not pleased with your meal on the first night, we are glad to hear that it was dealt with to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked a cottage and it was really charming. The food in Jackalope's was the best value for your
money; tasty, well prepared, good sized portions. We were disappointed in Sierra............as other Trip Advisor reviewers have noted, the food is overpriced for what you get. The staff was wonderful but if you
need access to the internet, which we did, forget it. It was hit and miss. However, I understand they are upgrading their wireless facilities this week. All in all, very pleased with Tenaya Lodge.............

Room Tip: The cottages are the quietest and most relaxing..........
See more room tips
Green Features: We found Tenaya to be very environmentally friendly!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, ReikiMaster63. We’re so you pleased you enjoyed your stay in your cottage. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We loved it here. A great resort with great facilities and lovely staff. We loved the fire pits and outdoor dining, the restaurants and deli were also great. The outdoor pools and jacuzzi were a nice treat and we enjoyed the games room and even did some washing in the laundry.

We were staying when they announced the American Shutdown, and the staff couldn't have been nicer and helped us to change our plans, even at a difficult time for themselves. Most appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments, jsh13980. We’re so glad our staff helped you have a wonderful trip despite the shutdown, and we’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you’re ever back in the States, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just got back from Tanaya, I was delighted with this Lodge. From the Desk to the restaurants can't say one bad thing. Had a wonderful 35th wedding anniversary. Highly recommend this Hotel. We were there just before the Shutdown and the staff went out of there way to be sure we had a great anniversary.. Very clean and great outdoorsy feel to the décor fits well in its surroundings and was so quiet and peaceful. Food was great !!!!

Room Tip: I would choose third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Robin, thank you for your feedback. We’re so pleased to hear you had a memorable anniversary, even in the face of the shutdown, and appreciate your kind words. Congratulations on 35 years and here’s to many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful experience here. The staff were friendly, helpful and there were three in particular who went above and beyond their duties to assist us. We were there during the shutdown and so they suggested other options to see beautiful scenery and magnificent drives and walks.
The rooms were great, and the indoor heated pool and spa meant we could swim even in the coldest temperatures. Restaurants had good quality food. There is no doubt that we would return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, MareeandAndrew. We’re so glad to hear our staff was able to create an experience beyond your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very warm welcome on arrival. Mark on front desk very helpful and tried to get us the best standard room he could. Spacious, clean and well presented room. Good facilities - great pool area and restaurants on site. Great access to Yosemite National Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Mark, we appreciate your feedback and kind words for Mark. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.