We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Excellent base to explore yosemite. Luxury hotel in a location ideal to start your trip into yosemite national park. Very near to Mariposa Grove. Well appointed rooms that blended well intot he environment. The swimming pool was a good size but sunbeds do get taken up pretty quickly. There are also a lot of families staying, so the pool area can be noisy. Only a couple of restaurants in the hotel and little nearby, they also seem to serve overlapping menus. Indoor pool is excellent for a quiet swim in a large pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your comments, Tania! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a great time exploring the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    939
    430
    172
    94
See reviews for
897
961
28
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The lodge is beautiful. We stayed in one of the cottages for two nights and loved the place. Our cabin was adorable and comfortable with a great little fireplace. Even the drive up to the lodge was breathtaking
I am glad we did not cancel our trip to Yosemite and Tenaya due to the government shut down.
We were able to drive through the park (passing through) to the next town( wink wink)
and enjoyed the horseback riding and the trails next to the lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Shannon! We’re so pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay and made the most of the visit despite the government shutdown. There are many activities to do near Tenaya that are not tied to the park, so it’s wonderful to know you found your way to them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Let me preface my review by saying that we originally were supposed to stay Friday night at the Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite, and stay Saturday at Tenaya for our 16th anniversary. Then the government shutdown happened and we were booked into Tenaya for Friday for a discounted rate. I ended up adding a night since the rate was so good. Generally speaking we were very bummed not to get into Yosemite, but that is not Tenaya's fault. We tried to have a good attitude about it and we looked forward to our trip.

Overall we like it, as we had been there 12 years ago. They've added the Ascent Spa and the cottages. For us, it was a mixed bag of good and bad this time.

The website doesn't mention that by October only the Sierra restaurant, the Deli, and the Jackelope's Bar are the only food facilities open. Embers and the Pizzeria are closed for the season. The food is expensive as others have testified to, but the room service was nice. We explored the local hiking trails (Red Rock Waterfall, Jackson Waterfall, and Nelder Grove). We enjoyed our couples massage and the steam rooms for men and women. On the morning of our massage a deer came up close to our cottage and we were so excited to see it. It was snacking on the little plants around our patio. We don't have deer near our home so it was a treat for us; it felt like a blessing! I mentioned to our masseuses (one male, one female) that we had seen a deer as we were walking to our massage room. I was just making small talk because we were genuinely excited. She very plainly said "Yeah; We see deer around here all the time." What a killjoy. I have worked in hotels and know that as an employee you want to share the guest's excitement. For instance, I'm not a golfer, but when I worked at the front desk and someone was excited about golfing I was happy with them and excited for them. You want to share their joy, not kill it.

Friday when we checked in I called the concierge to ask if there were any guided hikes for the weekend and she said "No", but come by the desk for maps and info for local hikes until 10 p.m.. Sunday morning at the spa my husband talked to a gentleman who was waiting for his turn, and he mentioned he had gone on a guided flashlight hike the night before. I was so bummed because I had inquired if there was one and I was told there wasn't. We would have loved to go on a flashlight hike. We played air hockey and pool in the game room on Saturday night.

Upon checking in I was expecting our basket of fruit and cheese to be in the room because I had arranged for it with the reservationist with Delaware North, the company who runs the lodge. When I called the front desk to inquire about it they told me they had no note of the request and it would be delivered "sometime that night" because they "weren't expecting it." As I stated, I worked at hotel front desks and we would have done everything to get it delivered immediately. I'm used to giving outstanding customer service and am shocked when I don't receive it.

My husband and I walked around and eventually made it to the concierge desk for the hiking info that first evening. After they gave us the info I mentioned about the fruit basket and they apologized and had one sent immediately. The concierge called our room to make sure it was delivered. We appreciated their help with that issue.

All our restaurant and store staff were super friendly and professional, so no complaints there. The grounds are clean and pretty with flowers and trees everywhere. However the outdoor pools are closed, and that is not mentioned on their website, either. The indoor pool by our cottage was small and dismal: The concrete walls of brown and a loud exhaust fan noise made it very unappealing to us.

Our bed was not very comfortable, and it had 7 square pillows of varying hardness and softness so you could pick the one that suits you. Neither of us cared for the brand of coffee they use there at the resort. It just tasted average like Folgers, or something.

I'm kind of a stickler for cleanliness; our room was very clean except for the cobwebs on the valances. The curtain were crooked when we checked in so I was fixing the tiebacks and I noticed how dusty they were. The housekeepers do a great job on the overall cleanliness of the room, but they need a supervisor to go around and inspect the rooms. I would think for a 4 diamond resort that they would do that. While waiting for our breakfast I saw cobwebs up on the wood beams in the Sierra restaurant, too. I wasn't really looking for things wrong, but I was just sitting waiting and noticed it. I enjoyed the fire and the décor the Sierra restaurant.

It was lovely to be at 5000 feet elevation in the Sierras in fall; the trees are amazing! Hearing the creeks flowing and the sounds of the waterfalls were gorgeous! It was wonderful to be in the mountains away from civilization for awhile! Driving along the road golden leaves were falling like snow. The air smelled great, the fall colors were beautiful. We hiked, ate, had massages, watched movies, played games, and overall had a very nice anniversary trip.

Room Tip: Years ago we stayed in a spa tub suite which was nice! This time we tried the new king cottage. From...
See more room tips
Green Features: I am so glad that a large hotel is thinking green! The lights in your room go off after a little while automatically. I wish they didn't deliver newspapers to your room everyday as it just seems like such a waste of paper. We watch the tv a bit for news and didn't read the papers.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments, Sherry, as well as for making a return visit to Tenaya for such a special occasion. We are sorry to hear about a few disappointments with the spa and concierge staff, and regret that you missed out on the flashlight hike. We also apologize for any confusion with your fruit and cheese basket arrangements, but are pleased they were worked out to your satisfaction. As a AAA Four Diamond resort, every member of our team is committed to providing the best experience possible, and detailed thoughtful feedback on your stay from someone with your hospitality experience is truly appreciated and will be shared..

It sounds like you had a lovely anniversary trip overall, and we thank you for spending it with us. We’re glad to have been a part of another great milestone for you and your husband!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you go in an offseason when they are offering low prices, it is a fantastic value. At any time, it has a lot to offer -- big, inviting lobby where you can sit and chat or play games. The indoor pool and outdoor pool are nice for adults and kids. Restaurant choices are very good. Rooms are large. Best of all it is close to the south entrance. Now, if the government shutdown will just end!!

Room Tip: Springing for deluxe really doesn't get you any more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments, Jan536. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Tenaya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel. The room was very big and warm with all the facilities one would expect. However they did not have enough staff in the dinning rooms. We waited for an outside seat with a heater overhead. This was very pleasant but when our food came out it was cold. Bad management. Then a waitress turned off the heater and when we asked why we were told that another group of Americans were too warm and that was that. When we pointed out that not all the heaters needed to be turned off she was very curt and told us to take it up with the manager. We spoke to the restaurant manager and they took the wine off our bill. While we appreciated the gesture the poor standard of the waitress and slow service left a bad taste in our mouths.

Room Tip: Check to see if there are any weddings. If there are go another time as the hotel cannot cope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Barney, thank you for your feedback. While we are glad to hear you were comfortable at Tenaya, we are disappointed you had an unpleasant dining experience. We appreciate your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you are not happy staying here then you will be hard pressed to find anywhere that pleases you.
We drove to Yosemite from Death valley. At the time highway 120 was closed due to the bush fires so we diverted up through Bridgeport & Sonora which added an extra few hours to an already long days travel.
We arrived at the Tenaya Lodge around 8.30pm to be greeted by friendly staff.
Check in was fast and easy which was just what we needed after an extended drive. We were all tired & hungry but had no problems being quickly seated in the restaurant. I felt the meals were of very good standard, reasonably priced & table service was excellent.
With both indoor & outdoor pool, ascent spa, steam rooms, sauna, gymnasium the Tenaya lodge had all bases covered. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.
If I had one point of criticism it would be we had to go up to the lobby if we wanted to use wifi to connect to the internet.. We stayed in one of the deluxe cottages up the back, quite a distance from the main lodge. Signal strength needs to be improved to the cottage connection.

Room Tip: If you need internet stay in main lodge or a cottage close to the lodge as ones up the back dont get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your kind words, Scott2012. Glad to hear your experience was a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Unfortunately our trip to Yosemite coincided with the US govt shutdown so Yosemite park was closed. This was still a nice place to stay... We did a walk in the Sierra Nevadas ourselves as advised by the Concierge & also took advantage of a twilight guided walk offered by the hotel. There's a relatively nice pool & places to chill. Breakfast was lovely - fresh fruit in abundance. We also appreciated the free wifi. All in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, NEBear. We're glad you had a great time at Yosemite in spite of the shutdown and enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.