We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tenaya review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
mequon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tenaya review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you can't stay a the The Ahwahnee inside the park this is the next best thing from what we saw. Our rooms we comfortable and clean and we were not there except to sleep. See was ok. Food was pty good at dinner in the Embers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dlg16, thanks for your feedback. We're glad you had a comfortable stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    970
    436
    172
    95
See reviews for
927
987
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

There's no doubt that staying within Yosemite park itself means less driving and easier access to the park trails. However, if you've ever stayed in park lodging, you know the rooms are usually very old, run down (although clean) and have little or no amenities and usually no air conditioning. Tenaya Lodge is just a few miles outside the south entrance of the park and is a huge complex with several restaurants, bar, swimming pool, and different types of rooms/cottages. There's also a concierge on site to help with any questions or trip planning which came in hand when we had to re-route around the park due to the rim fire.. We had a standard room with 2 double beds. The rooms are large and comfortable. There was a frig in our room, but no microwave. I will say the nightly rate was more expensive than we prefer to pay ($238 w/tax), but when the options are few and the location is remote, this is to be expected. We ate at the Jackalope Bar and Grill which had good food - not great - and a decent selection of beers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience, Lahord 59. Glad to hear everything was to your liking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umatilla, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Next to the ahwanee hotel this is the next best place as far as amenities and comfort. There is not much to choose from as far as hotels near the park. Teneya lodge is 2 miles from south gate. Wawona hotel 2 miles in the park from s. Gate enterance. Teneya staff were very helpful. The lodge is a very high traffic hotel as the other 2 are as well. Many weddings at this hotel bring even more crowds. This is a family hotel with lots and lots of children. Offering diaper shorts for the pool and a sign that says do not enter pool if you have diarrea...not very romantic. I think we would stay at the wawona hotel next time. It has the best location for the price , a nice breakfast area and a suttle pick up on site.. It doesn't have a jaccuzi but the teneya jaccuzi was dirty and crowded so we didn't use it anyway.

Room Tip: #381 overlooks the outdoor pool area. Nice view and near elevator to access pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, tweal. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Jacuzzi but glad that you enjoyed the staff and your overall Tenaya experience! We hope to see you at the Lodge again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited the hotel for a firm retreat. The hotel was quiet, clean and had decent, though not spectacular service. As you are in a remote location, be prepared to have meals here. The food is pretty good and moves to excellent at the Embers. The range of offerings in the other restaurants is pretty much identical and not very imaginative, but adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, LOMike. We're sorry to hear you didn't feel the service was spectacular but are pleased you enjoyed your experience at Embers and had a comfortable stay. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This lodge is perfectly located close to Yosemite's entrance to Mariposa Grove, the hotel seems to be divided into cottages( not visited) and main hotel, we stayed in room 134, beautiful view,cozy, remember this a lodge with a lot of wood into the construction so do not expect marble, attention was excellent and room turn over appropriate, the shower is a little tricky but the have instructions on how to use it. Three restaurants, with food for all palates, two pools one outdoor and one indoor, the view from this hotel is spectacular, they hava complimentary valet but the have plenty self parking spots. Will repeat

Room Tip: Use the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for four nights and the staff during our stay were the best we've ever had. We had people smoking under our room window, they switched our room, we didn't like the view from that room, they switched our room, no questions asked. We wanted to sit outside by the fire at dinner, they sat us there, it ended up being too cold, they moved us inside by the fire without any rude looks or excuses. The concierge helped with any info we needed and the bartender at Jackalopes was great. Rooms were clean, beds were only doubles and kind of small. The only downside is every restaurant was really expensive! There's not really much nearby either which doesn't leave much choice but to eat and drink at the lodge restaurants and bar.

Room Tip: One room we moved from was facing a parking lot which was noisy in the early morning with people lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at Tenaya Lodge for one night on our recent road trip honeymoon. We had originally been booked for a standard room in the lodge but it appeared on arrival that there had been a problem with our booking. The front desk staff were fantastic, they immediately reassured us that they would deal with the problem and profusely apologised. We were upgraded to our very own cabin in the woods and they delivered champagne, fruit and chocolates to our room as an apology.

The lodge building itself was stunning and we would have been happy to stay there as per our original booking. We were given directions for our cabin which was a 2 min drive from the main site but they provide a very clear map.

The cabin was fantastic. Self contained with a kitchen, huge fireplace, huge bed and spacious bathroom. It was very clean and well finished and we were very impressed. It was actually a shame we were only staying one night.

We would definitely recommend it and would stay again. However, it is still a fairly long way from the main Yosemite National Park so if you want views of the various famous landmarks you may want to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.