We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, tired, under staffed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced, tired, under staffed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff are very helpful however there are not enough of them hence you have to wait for any meals from 15-45 mins. It becomes really annoying especially as breakfast is supposed to be a buffet!!!
Rooms are tired as I believe the management are. The management are running the hotel to suit themselves and not their guests, so their poor staff are stressed with many people complaining about the wait for entry and then waiting again for toast!!!!!
The Manager would not speak to guests even though she was asked for three times. She allowed her staff to deal with guests the best way they could. This hotel needs a refurb of both management and building

Room Tip: Make sure you are not overlooking hotel staff car park and that was supposed to be a superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate your comments, v65k. We are sorry to hear you felt your requests were not met and your room was not to your liking. The team at Tenaya Lodge is committed to providing the best guest experience possible, and with our AAA Four Diamond rating we take feedback like this very seriously. We hope you will consider us for a return trip, and thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    970
    436
    172
    95
See reviews for
927
987
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and were well soundproofed. We were right near the elevator and ice, and didn't hear a thing outside our door. The grounds are nicely kept, and the staff was gracious and very helpful. The restaurants are a tad overpriced, but the food is excellent, especially in the high end restaurant (whose name escapes me atm).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with 3 kids, from arrival in the car park we were welcomed and made to feel comfortable to check in, through to the pool, bar & dinning.
The place has a great feel about it.
Gladly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my family stayed here as part of our California road trip and must say it was excellent.

We stayed in one of the cottages which is about 5mins walk to the main hotel.
The cottages are great, very spacious and peaceful away from the bustle of the main hotel.

Tenaya lodge is ideal for visiting Yosemite. It'll take you around a hour to drive to the valley floor which we didn't mind, the scenery is amazing!! It also around 20mins from Oakhusrt where there are some great alternatives to eat if you don't want to eat in the hotel.

One of the evening we did the Summerdale BBQ and had a great night, my son especially loved it.

We will definitely be returning!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience here although we only stayed one night. Room was beautiful and spacious . Dinner in the restaurant was actually great food . All the amenities of a resort . Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed five nights at Tenaya lodge in September for a wedding. The wedding ceremony was held offsite and the reception and dancing were back at the resort. It took place on the Terrace (a big beautiful outdoor space) and it was a lovely dinner with a big dance floor. We moved to the ballroom at 10PM and got to party and dance and drink all night, it was fabulous.

The staff, for the most part, were very helpful and enthusiastic, but for what we paid it wasn't really worth it. The food is not very good and VERY overpriced, you're better off stopping at Vons on the way in and getting snacks, water and alcohol to sustain you. We ordered room service several times and had to call down for items that were missing (spoons for coffee, extra set ups, salt + pepper, etc.) Drink the free coffee in the room instead of ordering from the deli downstairs, it's the same stuff as in the restaurants.

Showers would go from hot to cold unexpectedly. The rooms aren't very big and feel pretty dated.

The pool was nice and while I didn't get any spa treatments, you can use the steam room and the sauna whenever you like and relax in the lounge.

If you want to splurge and spend money on a hotel in Yosemite, it's best to go somewhere inside the park. Otherwise there were some cute inns and cabins along the way. If you do stay at Tenaya there are lots of discounts available at places in and around the park (20% off at Bass lake, 15% off gift shops at hotels inside the park, etc.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your review, CAV1234. While we’re glad to hear you had a lovely experience at the wedding and enjoyed our staff, it’s disappointing to learn that you felt as though your stay did not provide sufficient value. We work hard to provide the value and service commensurate with our AAA Four Diamond designation. Thank you for the feedback and for sharing the tips about discounts to area attractions available through Tenaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed there over the Labor Day week. I gave a deposit on the room prior to coming which was fare, but if I had walked up and asked for a room, it would have been about $100 less. If you want to book a room there, CALL THE HOTEL. The online reservations is through some type of third party that books other hotels in the area. The rates were different charges for each day - which I can understand, but this range between using a third party ( that you do not know is a third party) and contacting the hotel direct is a significant difference. When I checked out of the I asked someone to call me so I could discuss and I have never heard back from them - for first time guests, they really take advantage of their potential guests.

I would not stay there again.

also, if you sit outside in the morning the birds are horrible and if you get up to get some more food the birds will be eating what you left on your plate - I seemed to fight the birds during the whole meal

I won't be back

Room Tip: call the hotel directly not the number on a web site - it is third party - I feel like I was taken a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, Bubba0 86. We’re sorry you experienced some difficulty with the reservation process and with relaying the information to Tenaya Lodge staff. We regret that an enjoyable stay was affected by these frustrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.