We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my family stayed here as part of our California road trip and must say it was excellent.

We stayed in one of the cottages which is about 5mins walk to the main hotel.
The cottages are great, very spacious and peaceful away from the bustle of the main hotel.

Tenaya lodge is ideal for visiting Yosemite. It'll take you around a hour to drive to the valley floor which we didn't mind, the scenery is amazing!! It also around 20mins from Oakhusrt where there are some great alternatives to eat if you don't want to eat in the hotel.

One of the evening we did the Summerdale BBQ and had a great night, my son especially loved it.

We will definitely be returning!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    966
    436
    172
    94
See reviews for
922
982
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience here although we only stayed one night. Room was beautiful and spacious . Dinner in the restaurant was actually great food . All the amenities of a resort . Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed five nights at Tenaya lodge in September for a wedding. The wedding ceremony was held offsite and the reception and dancing were back at the resort. It took place on the Terrace (a big beautiful outdoor space) and it was a lovely dinner with a big dance floor. We moved to the ballroom at 10PM and got to party and dance and drink all night, it was fabulous.

The staff, for the most part, were very helpful and enthusiastic, but for what we paid it wasn't really worth it. The food is not very good and VERY overpriced, you're better off stopping at Vons on the way in and getting snacks, water and alcohol to sustain you. We ordered room service several times and had to call down for items that were missing (spoons for coffee, extra set ups, salt + pepper, etc.) Drink the free coffee in the room instead of ordering from the deli downstairs, it's the same stuff as in the restaurants.

Showers would go from hot to cold unexpectedly. The rooms aren't very big and feel pretty dated.

The pool was nice and while I didn't get any spa treatments, you can use the steam room and the sauna whenever you like and relax in the lounge.

If you want to splurge and spend money on a hotel in Yosemite, it's best to go somewhere inside the park. Otherwise there were some cute inns and cabins along the way. If you do stay at Tenaya there are lots of discounts available at places in and around the park (20% off at Bass lake, 15% off gift shops at hotels inside the park, etc.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your review, CAV1234. While we’re glad to hear you had a lovely experience at the wedding and enjoyed our staff, it’s disappointing to learn that you felt as though your stay did not provide sufficient value. We work hard to provide the value and service commensurate with our AAA Four Diamond designation. Thank you for the feedback and for sharing the tips about discounts to area attractions available through Tenaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed there over the Labor Day week. I gave a deposit on the room prior to coming which was fare, but if I had walked up and asked for a room, it would have been about $100 less. If you want to book a room there, CALL THE HOTEL. The online reservations is through some type of third party that books other hotels in the area. The rates were different charges for each day - which I can understand, but this range between using a third party ( that you do not know is a third party) and contacting the hotel direct is a significant difference. When I checked out of the I asked someone to call me so I could discuss and I have never heard back from them - for first time guests, they really take advantage of their potential guests.

I would not stay there again.

also, if you sit outside in the morning the birds are horrible and if you get up to get some more food the birds will be eating what you left on your plate - I seemed to fight the birds during the whole meal

I won't be back

Room Tip: call the hotel directly not the number on a web site - it is third party - I feel like I was taken a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, Bubba0 86. We’re sorry you experienced some difficulty with the reservation process and with relaying the information to Tenaya Lodge staff. We regret that an enjoyable stay was affected by these frustrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Let me preface this by saying what you pay for a room will have a significant bearing on perceived value at the Tenaya Lodge. We got a phenomenal rate during September so it makes a stay at a resort hotel like the Tenaya seem a better value for what you get.

The resort is just that. It's a resort with all the amenities. You are greeted by the bellman right when you drive up and they are friendly, welcoming and know the banter to set your stay off right. Especially after a long drive. Mind you they are pretty persistent about offering to deliver your luggage after checking in. It's a free service but they probably get a good portion of their wage from tips. Go own...set your stay off right and let them take your luggage.

Sitting at the outdoor patio at Jackalopes looking out across the pool surrounded by trees is very relaxing especially over an evening refreshment. You know you are at a higher end resort. The pool area has two hot tubs, a main "beach style" pool and a water park style small pool area for kids. There are many lounge chairs. Cabanas are also for rent. During September we never had a problem finding a lounge chair but it must be crazy during high season.

Our king room was clean, spacious and well appointed however the bed was average. It was a plain box spring, plain mattress king bed, no pillow top/Euro style. Not noticeably uncomfortable but every movement was felt. The Tenaya would probably benefit from upgrading the beds. Especially for some of the higher room prices that can be paid.

The lodge has a charmingly goofy layout. Our room was in a wing that we always went outside to get from our room to the main lodge and we finally had to ask the front desk if there was an interior route. Indeed there is and it's one of those down the hall, past the rabbit hole, over the indoor pool and down the beanstalk routes. Simple after doing it once but it was a source of laugher and amusement for us trying to find it. It's lodge-style so expect the odd taxidermy stuffed animal or elk/deer head or antler chandelier.

You are also paying resort prices for food. It's not shockingly expensive but it's definitely more than in the town of Oakhurst which is a 20-25 minute drive each way. The question is after driving an hour each way in and out of Yosemite do you want another 20-25 minute drive each way into Oakhurst? What's your time worth? And it's a winding road. Not the best choice if you don't have a designated driver if you partake in a couple of wobbly pops.

We did eat at Embers one night in celebration of our wedding anniversary. It was a treat to ourselves and the price was as expected for a fine dining restaurant. It's great that you can be casual with style of dress. No suit and tie required. Last thing you want to be is "stuffy" in Yosemite National Park (YNP) The steaks were extremely good. The service was attentive, friendly and we never felt hurried. We were paying more for a fine dining experience and the staff let us enjoy it at our pace. I'll make a couple of observations and it's up to you to decide if that's your "thing" or not. You sit in these very high back velour chairs that tower at least a foot above your head. Very "Adams Family". The very good Caesar salad and the impressive show of their version of flaming Bananas Foster, they call it Bananas Diablo, is rolled up on trollies to your table and made in front of you. It's impressive and part of the experience but I felt it a bit dated. Think dark steakhouse of the late 70's. I think Embers would be missing something in its ambience if the tableside prep of the Caesar salad and Bananas Diablo were taken away but it still seems a bit kitchy to me. Especially when the cart is wheeled over on squeaky wheels. It seems a bit Mafioso. Overall Embers is a good choice. You'll pay more for fine dining but that's what you are there for and you will enjoy it.

If you get a very good room rate like we did you will probably really love the Tenaya Lodge. The accommodations in Oakhurst are less expensive but now that we know about the Tenaya it would be hard to stay in those. But again...it all depends on what you pay. The more you pay the higher your expectations will be. If we were paying full rack rate ($350-$450+) this review may have been more critical.

As a note about Yosemite National Park. Pretty well from anywhere except at the signature lodges within the park you'll have a lengthy drive to Glacier Point or the valley floor. Do yourself and others a favor and take your time on the roads. The majority of times most drivers were speeding (Posted at 35 MPH but they were going at 45-55 MPH) on windy, narrow roads with no shoulders and some drop-offs. Other drivers were tailgating to "encourage" drivers to pull into turnouts to let them pass. Most will find the drive uneventful but for those mildly afraid of heights the speeding and tailgating won't be appreciated. Why in such a hurry? No one wants to arrive in YNP as a big bundle of nerves. Is there a reason to drive the YNP roads like a rally driver? Just my humble opinion.

Enjoy your stay at Tenaya Lodge. We did.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of "stuff" with you. Ask for a room on the second floor (which is groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

we stayed in Tenaya Lodge in September, visiting park. I think its way overpriced for what it offers. On positive side, I found most of hotel's employees quite helpful and accommodating. Other than that- rooms sizes and amenities are substandard for this price range. One would think they at least provide bottled water (complimentary or not) for people being on high altitudes, hydration should be encouraging. Couple of restaurants-nothing special and priced in high range. I also found information about hotel proximity to the park being misleading, at least, if one not familiar with the area: it is close to the park entrance, doesn't tell you it can be an hour drive to the valley, where all major hikes and sight seeings located (there are plenty of accommodation choices out there too). It is near sequoia park though, that is right at the park entrance. Hotel also has access to very dusty, long road, they call "trail", someone might choose to run/bike there. Pool area is quite clean but pool bar had always being closed and service was very slow. Wi Fi was only working every other day, no complimentary movie channels. Truthfully, we had much better experience at Holiday Inn, that was our next stop in Sonoma.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Iglana, thank you for your thoughtful comments. It’s disappointing to read that you didn’t feel you received sufficient value during your stay with us, but we appreciate your complimentary feedback on our staff. Everyone at Tenaya Lodge takes pride in delivering an excellent guest experience, so that’s very nice to for us to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A very hard review to write. To be very honest the room was lovely and comfortable and the Lodge very nice. My wife and I stayed in a King Spa suite in early September, 2013 for three nights. Whilst our stay was comfortable there were a number of issues that left a very bad taste in our mouths and spoilt what should have been a wonderful stay. We accidentally left a very expensive item in our room at checkout. We contacted the Lodge within 5 hours of checkout, on arrival at our next destination. No assistance whatsoever was given to recover the item. Staff promised to call us back but didn't. Emails sent by me have remained unanswered. Not good enough for accommodation of this standard. Other niggling issues also spoilt our trip to Yosemite. My advice, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Paul, we are so sorry to hear that an otherwise enjoyable stay for you and your wife was marred by this unfortunate situation. Please call us at (559) 683-6555 and request a word with Mindy Eichman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.