We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased with the property, but there is a wierd way they price the rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Save Saved
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Pleased with the property, but there is a wierd way they price the rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed there over the Labor Day week. I gave a deposit on the room prior to coming which was fare, but if I had walked up and asked for a room, it would have been about $100 less. If you want to book a room there, CALL THE HOTEL. The online reservations is through some type of third party that books other hotels in the area. The rates were different charges for each day - which I can understand, but this range between using a third party ( that you do not know is a third party) and contacting the hotel direct is a significant difference. When I checked out of the I asked someone to call me so I could discuss and I have never heard back from them - for first time guests, they really take advantage of their potential guests.

I would not stay there again.

also, if you sit outside in the morning the birds are horrible and if you get up to get some more food the birds will be eating what you left on your plate - I seemed to fight the birds during the whole meal

I won't be back

Room Tip: call the hotel directly not the number on a web site - it is third party - I feel like I was taken a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, Bubba0 86. We’re sorry you experienced some difficulty with the reservation process and with relaying the information to Tenaya Lodge staff. We regret that an enjoyable stay was affected by these frustrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    705
    840
    399
    161
    92
See reviews for
830
842
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Let me preface this by saying what you pay for a room will have a significant bearing on perceived value at the Tenaya Lodge. We got a phenomenal rate during September so it makes a stay at a resort hotel like the Tenaya seem a better value for what you get.

The resort is just that. It's a resort with all the amenities. You are greeted by the bellman right when you drive up and they are friendly, welcoming and know the banter to set your stay off right. Especially after a long drive. Mind you they are pretty persistent about offering to deliver your luggage after checking in. It's a free service but they probably get a good portion of their wage from tips. Go own...set your stay off right and let them take your luggage.

Sitting at the outdoor patio at Jackalopes looking out across the pool surrounded by trees is very relaxing especially over an evening refreshment. You know you are at a higher end resort. The pool area has two hot tubs, a main "beach style" pool and a water park style small pool area for kids. There are many lounge chairs. Cabanas are also for rent. During September we never had a problem finding a lounge chair but it must be crazy during high season.

Our king room was clean, spacious and well appointed however the bed was average. It was a plain box spring, plain mattress king bed, no pillow top/Euro style. Not noticeably uncomfortable but every movement was felt. The Tenaya would probably benefit from upgrading the beds. Especially for some of the higher room prices that can be paid.

The lodge has a charmingly goofy layout. Our room was in a wing that we always went outside to get from our room to the main lodge and we finally had to ask the front desk if there was an interior route. Indeed there is and it's one of those down the hall, past the rabbit hole, over the indoor pool and down the beanstalk routes. Simple after doing it once but it was a source of laugher and amusement for us trying to find it. It's lodge-style so expect the odd taxidermy stuffed animal or elk/deer head or antler chandelier.

You are also paying resort prices for food. It's not shockingly expensive but it's definitely more than in the town of Oakhurst which is a 20-25 minute drive each way. The question is after driving an hour each way in and out of Yosemite do you want another 20-25 minute drive each way into Oakhurst? What's your time worth? And it's a winding road. Not the best choice if you don't have a designated driver if you partake in a couple of wobbly pops.

We did eat at Embers one night in celebration of our wedding anniversary. It was a treat to ourselves and the price was as expected for a fine dining restaurant. It's great that you can be casual with style of dress. No suit and tie required. Last thing you want to be is "stuffy" in Yosemite National Park (YNP) The steaks were extremely good. The service was attentive, friendly and we never felt hurried. We were paying more for a fine dining experience and the staff let us enjoy it at our pace. I'll make a couple of observations and it's up to you to decide if that's your "thing" or not. You sit in these very high back velour chairs that tower at least a foot above your head. Very "Adams Family". The very good Caesar salad and the impressive show of their version of flaming Bananas Foster, they call it Bananas Diablo, is rolled up on trollies to your table and made in front of you. It's impressive and part of the experience but I felt it a bit dated. Think dark steakhouse of the late 70's. I think Embers would be missing something in its ambience if the tableside prep of the Caesar salad and Bananas Diablo were taken away but it still seems a bit kitchy to me. Especially when the cart is wheeled over on squeaky wheels. It seems a bit Mafioso. Overall Embers is a good choice. You'll pay more for fine dining but that's what you are there for and you will enjoy it.

If you get a very good room rate like we did you will probably really love the Tenaya Lodge. The accommodations in Oakhurst are less expensive but now that we know about the Tenaya it would be hard to stay in those. But again...it all depends on what you pay. The more you pay the higher your expectations will be. If we were paying full rack rate ($350-$450+) this review may have been more critical.

As a note about Yosemite National Park. Pretty well from anywhere except at the signature lodges within the park you'll have a lengthy drive to Glacier Point or the valley floor. Do yourself and others a favor and take your time on the roads. The majority of times most drivers were speeding (Posted at 35 MPH but they were going at 45-55 MPH) on windy, narrow roads with no shoulders and some drop-offs. Other drivers were tailgating to "encourage" drivers to pull into turnouts to let them pass. Most will find the drive uneventful but for those mildly afraid of heights the speeding and tailgating won't be appreciated. Why in such a hurry? No one wants to arrive in YNP as a big bundle of nerves. Is there a reason to drive the YNP roads like a rally driver? Just my humble opinion.

Enjoy your stay at Tenaya Lodge. We did.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of "stuff" with you. Ask for a room on the second floor (which is groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

we stayed in Tenaya Lodge in September, visiting park. I think its way overpriced for what it offers. On positive side, I found most of hotel's employees quite helpful and accommodating. Other than that- rooms sizes and amenities are substandard for this price range. One would think they at least provide bottled water (complimentary or not) for people being on high altitudes, hydration should be encouraging. Couple of restaurants-nothing special and priced in high range. I also found information about hotel proximity to the park being misleading, at least, if one not familiar with the area: it is close to the park entrance, doesn't tell you it can be an hour drive to the valley, where all major hikes and sight seeings located (there are plenty of accommodation choices out there too). It is near sequoia park though, that is right at the park entrance. Hotel also has access to very dusty, long road, they call "trail", someone might choose to run/bike there. Pool area is quite clean but pool bar had always being closed and service was very slow. Wi Fi was only working every other day, no complimentary movie channels. Truthfully, we had much better experience at Holiday Inn, that was our next stop in Sonoma.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Iglana, thank you for your thoughtful comments. It’s disappointing to read that you didn’t feel you received sufficient value during your stay with us, but we appreciate your complimentary feedback on our staff. Everyone at Tenaya Lodge takes pride in delivering an excellent guest experience, so that’s very nice to for us to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A very hard review to write. To be very honest the room was lovely and comfortable and the Lodge very nice. My wife and I stayed in a King Spa suite in early September, 2013 for three nights. Whilst our stay was comfortable there were a number of issues that left a very bad taste in our mouths and spoilt what should have been a wonderful stay. We accidentally left a very expensive item in our room at checkout. We contacted the Lodge within 5 hours of checkout, on arrival at our next destination. No assistance whatsoever was given to recover the item. Staff promised to call us back but didn't. Emails sent by me have remained unanswered. Not good enough for accommodation of this standard. Other niggling issues also spoilt our trip to Yosemite. My advice, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Paul, we are so sorry to hear that an otherwise enjoyable stay for you and your wife was marred by this unfortunate situation. Please call us at (559) 683-6555 and request a word with Mindy Eichman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had high expectations for a resort hotel in the over $300 category. The room decor was nice but not completely clean. The oak arm rests on a leisure chair were sticky until we washed them off with soap and water. The biggest disadvantage to us was that Wi-Fi was not available--at least during our visit--to finalize our vacation plans for the next day. The location and environment around the hotel is excellent with it's close proximity to Mariposa Grove but the other negatives made our stay below par. We had dinner at the Sierra Restaurant onsite and it was adequate but nothing special. Would not recommend to someone looking for a good value.

Green Features: Environmentally friendly practices appeared to be comparable to other large hotels in the area.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, Afrentzel. Tenaya Lodge has very high standards for room comfort and cleanliness, and we regret that you found the chair in need of washing. We do our very best to keep a consistent Wi-Fi connection from our remote location, and are sorry to hear your plans were impacted. We do have a business center with free wired Internet and a printer that is open 24/7 and available to check into flights and book boarding passes at no additional cost. We’re sorry you were not directed to this amenity. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel this week as part of a quick visit to Yosemite- hotel is nice for the area and relatively well located but away from the town (not far by car) so you will be captive audience for their restaurants which are average at best: three different ones but mostly serving the same thing and beware about the healthy options in their menu: fried in butter- so ask before you order.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Xavier. We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed with the resort’s meal options. We do our best to provide an array of options to our guests, and to make sure the menu has items of interest to a broad range of palates. Rest assured your comments have been heard. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here with friends in July this year, our friend had put both rooms on his credit card and when we arrived I arranged for my room to be charged to me and refunded to his card. We then had late lunch as our rooms were not ready at 3pm, we each used our credit cards for all extra food ect, on arriving home in Australia,checked credit card and they had charged me for both rooms plus another amount of $115, when I queried it they refunded the room in American dollars as I was an Aussie I was out of pocket $50 for exchange rates ect they rectified that and said the $115 was a charge for incidentals and would be credited,it was not and now they are telling me it would be food charges for the other couple as they had my card on file, now they are saying they can't credit me as they don't know there no this has been going in for 6weeks what incompetent office staff. I think I will let the bank handle this, warning don't give them a credit card!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for a day trip too expensive here $500 aus a nite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Ali1950, we would like to thank you for taking the time to detail the payment issue you experienced during your stay and over the six weeks following. We sincerely apologize that the situation was still not resolved after six weeks. Having earned the prestigious Four Diamond designation based on the rigorous standards of AAA, providing excellent customer service is of the utmost importance to us. It is upsetting to read about your feedback. If there has not been a satisfactory resolution to the issue, please call the lodge at (559) 683-6555 and ask to speak with Mindy Eichman for help. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.