We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Good Amenities, but not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Save Saved
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Amenities, but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Pros: on site laundry, good food, bar at poolside, pools for kids, activities for kids, 2 miles from south entrance to park, 4 miles total to Mariposa Grove (giant sequoias). Friendly staff. Neat outdoor fire at restaurants. Summerdale Barbecue experience was a highlight, live entertainment, good for kids and adults alike.
Cons: Flies and birds on patio seating, pools kind of small, food expensive, but to be expected at a vacation resort. Kids climbing wall was randomly in the parking lot. Some wear and tear overall on the place, it wasn't as sparkly as I hoped it would be.
Overall this was a good place for being 2 miles from the entrance, good stuff for the kids, and good food. I just had in mind it would be a little more dazzling since the website is pretty slick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Skipper18, Thanks for writing about your family’s trip to the Lodge. We are always happy to hear that families enjoy the multitude of activities on the premises, but apologize that certain parts of your stay fell short of your expectations. We strive for satisfaction, and look forward to seeing you again at Tenaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    654
    805
    378
    150
    85
See reviews for
737
818
20
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently stayed here on a trip to Yosemite National Park. It is a wonderful hotel with all the amenities of a four star resort. They have a spa, fitness center, pools and several restaurants. The breakfast buffet was included with our room rate. It offered a lot of choices. The service in the restaurant was very attentive. Our room was very clean and spacious. This is a very family friendly hotel. This is our 5th stay at this hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights. Apart from the Ahwahnee (which is actually in the Park) this is probably the best hotel in the Yosemite area - but it is some 40 miles from the actual Yosemite valley. That's the best part of an hour's drive, depending on traffic. The hotel aims to provide everything: spa, fitness centre, indoor and outdoor pools (former is a bit chilly!) several restaurants including a fine dining option, pleasant grounds, Business Centre offering free internet access. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, equipped with everything you might want including safe, fridge, hairdrier, tea/coffee making facilities and iron/ironing board. Staff are helpful and friendly. Not surprisingly, it's a bit pricey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here with a family of five. Room was cramped and very dark and expensive for what it was. Food was also expensive and the waiters and waitresses were inexperienced and poorly trained for their jobs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Helen N., Thank you for writing to share your feedback on your stay. We are sorry that you did not feel that you experienced the best that our staff has to offer. As a AAA Four Diamond resort, everyone here takes pride in delivering great service and satisfying our guests. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a few days as part of a very memorable round trip starting in San Francisco, exploring Yosemite and Sequoia National Parks, then taking the Big Sur coastline back to San Francisco. This stop was thoroughly enjoyed by the entire family. The hotel has a number of very good restaurants with nice ambiance. The grounds are beautiful. Our room was clean and contemporary - yes, there are fancier hotel rooms and perhaps the rooms are "4-star" rather than 5, but our overall experience was still excellent. We really enjoyed sitting on the outdoor patio late in the evening by the fire, for dessert and drinks. The outdoor pool was very inviting but busy, as one would expect during a heat wave.

One experience I would highly recommend for families, is the "Summerdale" cookout (pics attached). We were really impressed with the effort to make this a real experience for our kids. There were staff people assisting kids with archery practice, panning for gold, and a fire with s'mores. I could listen to the banjo player for hours - he is a talented musician and story teller who clearly loves what he does. All of the staff were very friendly. The food selection - lots of BBQ choices, salads and peach cobbler - was perfect for this setting.

As much as I enjoyed the hotel, the staff and level of service was most striking. They were all courteous, efficient, and most importantly genuinely friendly, which made our stay really enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wonderful stay at Tenaya. Stayed in winter before kids and had another wonderful trip with kids. Used the kids camp and kids adventure club. Kids were able to do fishing and archery and other activities in the kids camp room. They loved it and we were able to have a nice hike and dinner alone. Hiking to waterfall in national forest off the parking lot. Ask concierge for map. One odd thing is there is one check in for 3 restaurants. Looks like many people waiting but spread across all 3 restuarants we actually never waited more then a few minutes. Pool at main hotel was great with bar open during day. Food was great. Try the dessert coffee in Embers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to drop us a line on your stay, ilovecincy! We are glad that you have enjoyed your multi-season visits to the lodge, as we find that each season brings new and exciting ways to enjoy the park and lodge! The kids camp is a favorite with families, and we are so happy to hear that a wonderful time was had by both parents and children alike. Thanks again for stopping by to share your thoughts, we hope to be of service again on your next trip to Yosemite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is probably about the best you can do in the Yosemite area. Anywhere else it would be a very average and overpriced hotel. Here in Yosemite, it is the nicest we saw. The room was comfortable but very average. The first morning we were awakened at 6 am by the sound of thundering feet running up and down the halls on the floor above us. The soundproofing is terrible and it actually seems to be louder than it should with the echo and reverberation. Very unsettling. Then after being out all day seeing the wonderous sights, we returned to find our room had not been visited by housekeeping. We were out from 11 to 5, so I can't understand how they didn't get to us. For these prices, we should have had housekeeping and fresh towels.
The next issue was a lack of dining options that are either good or reasonable. The hotels restaurants were probably the best around, but way overpriced for the average food we got.
Finally, while Yosemite is breathtaking, be aware that when staying here you will have an hour drive to see the valley or glacier point overlooking the valley. No big deal, just makes for a long day. So, to sum up, decent accommodations, but overpriced and service is lacking, with lots of kids and noise!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Woundedbear, Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us. We apologize that some aspects of your stay didn’t meet your expectations. Many guests have found that the trip to the valley floor is an excellent way to view the breathtaking Yosemite scenery. We’re glad you enjoyed your time and the sights in Yosemite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Otel so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.