We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timber Framed Building – Beware of Noise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Purley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Timber Framed Building – Beware of Noise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 3 week tour of the western US. We were in the East Wing on the second floor facing the pool. There are 4 floors to this Wing. Unfortunately the view from our room, which appeared to be the only room in this Wing that had a partial obstruction, which was of the roof of the rear main entrance door and also a large tree.

The décor in the room was slightly tired and because it is a timber framed building/floor we did experience huge problems with people and children in the room above us. One night, a child in the room above obviously could not sleep and we had presumably the parent walking to and fro in the room between 1am and 3am and then they were up again at 6am! They had a disturbed night’s sleep and so did we! We were also near the elevator and did hear the pinging of the elevator bell quite frequently.

The hotel is about a 1 hour drive to the Valley and as the speed limit is 45mph with no overtaking it can be a slow journey especially if you are stuck behind someone driving slowly! Unfortunately when we were in Yosemite, there was a major forest fire about 35 miles away and the smoke and haze did spoil some of the scenery especially looking from Glacier Point. The hotel being located about 2 miles outside the South Park entrance is certainly quieter than those in the valley village, where we stayed in a Lodge in 1999. We could not park in the valley village this time because it was packed!

We did eat two evening meals in the Sierra restaurant which we found, including a bottle of wine to be slightly on the expensive side. Susan Joy was our server on both occasions and we found her to be very efficient and friendly. However the food was very good. We found the breakfast buffets in the same restaurant also to be very good. We did order the packed lunch on one day ($13.95 each) and these were great. Book it with your evening meal to get a 10% discount.

All the staff generally were friendly. There is free Wi-Fi in the room but this did drop out occasionally and was slightly slow especially early evening. The parking lots did seem to get full quickly and you may have to park a distance away from you room. The outside pool was a reasonable size although it was a bit noisy with children. Sun loungers were a bit limited.

However, apart from noise from the room above, there was nothing too bad and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room if you are a light sleeper, although the number of rooms is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    988
    443
    175
    96
See reviews for
958
1,004
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was there for a conference and we were a very large group, but the staff were very friendly and accommodated our almost every needs. The rooms are spacious and very nice, with great air conditioning/ heating systems. The outdoor pool seemed very nice although I never got to use it, and there were many families with kids. The only complaint I would have is that the hotel keys suddenly stop working quite frequently, so I had to go down to the lobby twice in three days to change my hotel key, as did a few of my colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at Tenaya in the last week of March, 2013. It's taken me a while to generate my thoughts for this review as my experience was rather mixed. We traveled with another couple and spent our days in Yosemite for the most part.

Location
Outside of Yosemite, one cannot get much closer than Tenaya. It seems like a long way to travel, but as availability goes, this location is really a great one. Prepare to enjoy views and vistas and winding roads. :)

Rooms/Noise
The rooms were tidy enough but have some signs of heavy use/wear that a bit of paint touch-up and a little extra scrubbing would help address. Walls are thin, and shared-doors between rooms are particular thin spots and allow one to sing along with the not-very-loud radio in an adjoining room if desired. On our last evening there, the AC unit experienced an electrical problem in the room of the couple that was traveling with us, and the burned smell from it caused them to shut it off and be a bit too warm the rest of the night, and left a lingering scent on their belongings that made them eager for departure. Our friends did notify management but did not request a room change as it was late and we were leaving early the following morning.

Dining
There are three restaurants on the property, and we ventured to all three during our stay. The fine dining establishment is a bit behind in style and technique, with menu options and food prep more classic 80s - 90s than modern haute cuisine. Service was friendly. The bar was fine, though one of our party had a glass of Macallan 18 on two separate evenings. One evening it was amazing, the second evening it didn't taste like the right stuff. We made inquiries and were assured it was the right pour...but we'd just had the stuff the evening before, and our party all agreed that something was off in the second pour. We enjoyed the family restaurant buffet breakfast possibly most (though there are no children in our party). as the service was lovely.

Insulted at the Spa
We also went to the spa while we were there. Our spa/massage appointment was near the end of our stay, and I wasn't aware (via publicity materials or the room book or through the concierge) that we could partake of the spa area as guests even without massages booked. I would have taken advantage of this more if I'd had any idea. For the massage session, we booked as two couples having couples massages. Our party was first. Now I know many areas are not as socially progressive as others, so having a couple that is two women not be seated in the 'couples waiting area' where there is a loveseat should not have surprised me. But maybe it hurt my feelings a little bit not to be offered the option of using that seating area. Instead, we were shown on our spa tour to the 'women's waiting area' where there are individual chairs. There is fruited water and nuts to snack on while waiting and the area was clean and inviting.

Our massages were performed by a male and a female, and the female masseuse worked on my back. I was quite surprised and very taken aback when she commented 'you have a short little neck.' There hadn't been conversation happening, and I think she was surprised that she'd spoken aloud, but I already felt unwelcome and, naturally during spa services, vulnerable, and that sense of discomfort is the strongest lingering memory I have of Tenaya lodge.

Other activities at the lodge
We were there in late March, and many activities were not yet up and running as the season was early. We stretched a little and found some silly but fun things to join in. We did join an archery session, which was fun. Our session leader was supportive and positive. We also made candy sushi, which was hilarious and entertaining. Spa support staff was strong. The servers at the grab-and-go coffee bar were especially awesome. That place was very busy in the morning and they were always warm, friendly, and helpful. And the espresso was excellent, so that was a great thing to finish our experience.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with another couple, request ahead if you'd like rooms near each other; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Parabasis, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your visit and share your thoughts with us. We take pride in maintaining a retreat experience in Yosemite. We are sorry to hear that your visit to the spa did not meet your expectations, and we have drawn your comments to our spa manager’s attention. We appreciate the accolades on our staff, as we continually strive to maintain a dedicated and inviting team. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at The Tenaya for 2 nights and enjoyed it a lot. The main bar area was great and the staff very Friendly. We stayed in the main building and had no complaints about the room, it was clean, tidy and all that you need for a short stay. We took booked and went to the Summer BBQ which I would advise is a MUST. It was such fun (the walk back to the lodge after is a bit Hard as it is all uphill).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

There we no spaces left at accommodation within Yosemite so we booked at Tenaya Lodge during peak season in early July. Rooms are quite expensive but the experience was excellent. The staff, from housekeeping to valet parking to reception and concierge, were all very cheerful and friendly which to me demonstrated very high quality staff training. The rooms were very comfortable and there were three different restaurants and a deli to choose from. On the 4th of July there was a special buffet by the pool. There were also Yosemite tours available directly from the hotel. There is a popular outdoor pool and another nice pool inside. An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Weaver555, Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments of Tenaya and our dedicated team of staff! We appreciate the accolades, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the lodge. Thanks again for sharing your feedback, and we hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Tenaya is an excellent hotel - several dining options, large clean rooms, indoor and outdoor pools, etc. Its an entity unto itself and the hotel does a great job of making activities available at or near the hotel - horseback riding at Yosemite Trails (a must do, btw), Sugar Train rides down the road, flashlight hikes hosted by the staff, and a few cool nature / waterfall hikes you can do right from the hotel. The Sequoia Grove is just inside the south gate of the park, as is Wawona (which is worth a stop but not a day). Its a two mile drive to the south gate, and from here you can drive up to Glacier Point (highly recommended, about one hour drive) or into Yosemite Valley (about 50 minutes from the hotel). All worthwhile and very pleasant drives.
In my opinion, the only "negative" about the Tenaya is the cost of food at all the restaurants ($25 breakfast buffet for adults, $9 for kids is not awful but it would be great to have a grab and go option where you can feed the whole family for $20) and the fact that options are limited in Fish Camp. Driving 20 minutes south to Oakhurst will get you a few more options including BBQ but its a 20 minute drive up and down a windy mountain road...driving 35 minutes to Bass Lake gets you Duceys and a few other places as well. All in all - we liked our stay but next time we will try to spend 2 nights in Yosemite Valley at the Yosemite Lodge (think Best Western for $150-200 a night) and then 2 nights at Tenaya. A five day trip is just about right to get in a few good hikes and some quiet time as well. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The hotel only has three floors but ask to be located away from the indoor pool for noise purposes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a lovely hotel - loads to do and really excellent for kids. i have to mention Mark on the front desk who went out of his way to be helpful. We arrived on july 2nd, without a booking, and we were desperate to leave the revolting accommodation that we had booked into (pines resort bass lake). Mark could not have been nicer or more helpful, he spent a considerable amount of time trying to move things around in a hotel that was full (it was July 4th week) and managed to get us five nights there just by actually bothering to make the effort to do so. (we had tried the ahwahnee earlier in the day and the girl at the front desk said "we're full for tonight and tomorrow and i cant see any further ahead than that, you'll have to ring the reservations line". Seriously, can you imagine a front of house hotel staff member being THAT unhelpful and lazy! We did have to move rooms twice at Tenaya but that was not a hassle and the hotel also made this a completely painless experience. Also Mark made it very clear that we would have to do this (we were so desperate to get out of our other accommodation we would have happily moved room every night!) so we knew it would happen. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world and Mark, for me, was stand out in terms of his helpfulness and willingness to go that extra mile and just provide excellent customer service.

Rooms very nice we tried a standard room with two queens which was perfectly nice and we were able to have a rollaway in there too. We also tried a cottage room (probably my least favourite) and a suite which was really lovely - huge big room with table and sofa bed and we were able to have a rollaway in there too.
pool area very nice and great for kids, two hot tubs one adult only and the other allowing kids. also there was an indoor pool which we didn't use.
We only ate in Sierra as we could never get a table at jackalopes but i thought food at Sierra was very very good. And it was healthy. We also tried the breakfast buffet in Sierra which was average i would say. Service inside Sierra was very good however.
There is also an excellent little shop in the hotel serving snacks, breakfasty things etc which i would really recommend.
all in all this was a great hotel which we stayed in simply by chance and Marks willingness to find us a room during one of the busiest weeks of the year. And we will most definitely come back here many many times in the future and I would not hesitate to recommend this as THE hotel for people visting Yosemite to stay in. Absolutely brilliant for kids, with plenty of activities. We also tried the archery which the kids really enjoyed.

Room Tip: We stayed in three different types of rooms here in various locations and all were extremely quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.