We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faux Posh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Faux Posh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Tenaya and we were very disappointed. The quality is not comparable to the price. Our room was dirty and the quality of the food was not worth the price charged. If you are staying at Yosemite, I recommend staying at the park if at all possible. Even the tents are a more authentic experience.

Room Tip: Stay inside the park if possible. The layout is confusing and you need a map to find most rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and we’re sorry you did not feel that you received good value during your experience at Tenaya Lodge. We have earned the prestigious Four Diamond designation based on the rigorous standards of AAA and guest satisfaction is of the utmost priority to us. We hope that any issue you may have had with your room was brought to management’s attention during your stay and that it was met with a satisfactory outcome. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    946
    432
    172
    94
See reviews for
900
966
28
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My new husband and I stayed at Tenaya lodge hotel during our 3 week road trip up the West Coast of America for our honeymoon. Neither of us could fault this hotel, it was our favourite during our whole trip away. Yosemite blew us away, it was the most stunning place either of us have every experienced, and to stay in such a beautiful hotel was the icing on the cake. We were greeted on arrival by Kayla on front desk, she was adorable! So very helpful and for a small fee allowed us the most fantastic upgrade as we were on our honeymoon. On the second night after a long day traking up and down hills we were totally exhausted, only to come home and find a bottle of champagne with lots of fresh fruit chilling in our room. Just what we needed after a hectic day. Nothing could beat jumping into the whirlpool bath with a glass of champers! We would love to go back and stay at this hotel in Yosemite, it was out of this world. We ate one night in one of the restaurants and the staff were so courteous and we were served good food.
The rooms were very peaceful with great air conditioning. 5* hotel it definately gets our rating!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and convenient to Yosemite, however the cabins are not quit as shown. We were expecting having a private cabin and when we arrived we had two other neighbors. Their web sight shows it as what appears to be a single unit . The walk to the main hotel where all the restaurants and mots amenities are located, is not very convenient and if you have a problem with walking up hill (we did not) this is not for you. The restaurants are just ok and a bit pricy.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that has one unit if that is what you want, or stay in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at a cottage room upstairs unit. the unit was very nice. Initially we had one right next to Pizza place and changed our location to a better location upon request. The front desk gave Us a different location. We took advantage of using fishing tackle, flashlight hike, hot tubs, bar.
Except for a little expensive, this was a excellent alternative for Yosemite..has more than Wawona Hotel.
Location is very close to Yosemite and Wawona area, short drive. Staff very good, bar staff very good. Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a very large hotel & complex, lots of staff, we had at least 4 people serving us dinner. Our room was comfortable, clean, with the strange combination of having the washbasin outside the bath & toilet. (Is that an American thing ?)
Why is it if you are only staying one night on a prebooked tour you are given the worst room ? Ours was overlooking the roofs of the dining area & ventilation shafts, - well I suppose someone has to have them.
If you were staying there for a longer time there seemed lots to do, plenty of information was on hand to help decide which were the most interesting for you.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Tenaya Lodge was a wonderful and relaxing spot just minutes from the entrance of Yosemite. We stayed two nights and wished it was for longer. The hotel reminded us of the Wilderness Lodge in Disneyworld. Everyone who worked there had a smile on thier face and were willing to help with anything. They upgraded our room to a suite since one was available at no extra charge which was heavenly! The outdoor and indoor pools were great for the kids! We booked a flashlight tour at the hotel that took us through the woods on a 2 hour adventure the first night we were there, which was one of our favorite things. Our guide, Hailey pointed out many different trees, animals, and told the hisory of the area. She also shared stories of her growing up in the area. We all LOVED this! The next day we took the Discover Yosemite tour which was an all day bus tour and our guide, Glenn, was wonderful! The kids loved the all you can eat snacks and drinks throughout the day and we loved hearing all about Yosemite and being led to all of the must see sights of the park. This was a great way to see Yosemite in a day. I wish we had had more time to go through some of the museums and shops, but next time, we will plan an extra day for this.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade in your room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Been thinking about going to Yosemite for some years ...finally got there.
Tenaya Lodge was the perfect place to be for tours and leisure time.
We had beautiful rooms....great food and fantastic service.
This is one beautiful property...rustic furnishings and that Lodge feel that we love.
MaryEllen, our concerige, was the best! Helped us figure out where, when, who!!!
Johanna, the Host of the Embers Restaurant was a joy..the food and service was topnotch
but we felt the other restaurant (??Name??) had more ambiance.
Jackalope Grill/Bar was fun for drinks and they always let us sit in there with our breakfast sandwiches and coffee......purchased at the Deli next door in the lobby. The greatest breakfast sandwiches in the world!!!!
Go..stay...relax....and enjoy.

Room Tip: We had requested top floor and away from elevators...place was full when we were there but we had n...
See more room tips
Green Features: Always on board with a green environment. Always impressed to see any hotel follow these guidlines.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Great feedback, thanks so much for sharing! Happy you finally made it to Yosemite and that Tenaya Lodge was able to enhance your experience. The restaurant you are referring to is Sierra Restaurant. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Mary Ellen and Johanna. Thanks again, and we look forward to serving you another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.